Skip to content

Beat the Oven Clock–Halloween Patriot Pizza

31/10/2010

Halloween usually leads to me being an old lady.  As a teen I wore my band uniform trick-or-treating with a pillow case to collect more loot.  College had the random Halloween dressed as 80’s girls – full of blue eye shadow and side pony tails.  Since then I haven’t really dressed up.

I transformed into an old lady giving out candy on her porch or hiding inside watching Charlie Brown and the Great Pumpkin while kids banged on my door.

Honestly this year was going to be the latter.  I live in the apartment on my church – Hunni and I are the pastors – besides Halloween is a Sunday this year.  A double whammy!

Then Rachel Wilkerson offered up an awesome cooking challenge – Project Tasteless.

project tasteless

The first challenge just didn’t fit my schedule but you should go check out the funny entries.  This second challenge however was a much easier fit.

The challenge is that your pizza recipe must be inspired by your Halloween costume.

Pizza was already on the menu but I had no Halloween costume. Uh does looking at them in the store count and I could buy a frozen pizza? Probably not.  So I had to come up with something…something worthy of a fun challenge like this.

Then I forgot about it for a bit.  Uh, oh.  That leaves costumes coming from my closet and drawers.  EEK!exploding drawers

I had an epiphany…I have something Halloween-ish.  Enter my costume Smile

IMG_5446

I’m sure it is obvious what I am.  Yep…I’m the die-hard Patriots fan – college edition.  No parties here…just Tom Brady, Halloween PJ pants, and my well-loved Patriots T-shirt.  Just add a snuggie and oh yeah Pizza Smile

Lazy Halloween Football Day Pizza

Football day meals are random and odd so I can pay attention to the game and scores.  This pizza was a conglomeration of ingredients I had in my pantry to throw together just before my boys came on.

  • Whole Wheat Pitas
  • Bean Dip
  • Frozen veggies
  • Cheese – I used vegan Monterey Jack

Our typical quickie -get your mind out of the gutter- pizza has a tortilla base.  Uh no tortillas.  Rethink and find….

IMG_5289IMG_5290

Perfect!  They’ll be sturdier so I can load up the toppings.

Now for pizza sauce.  Would you believe that in this entire pantry I don’t have a single jar of tomato sauce?

IMG_5313

So I grabbed this and dusted it off.

IMG_5296

I was a bit worried about the ingredients list.  The words “all natural” don’t mean a darn thing.  I have to give Frito Lay credit…the list doesn’t look too bad.

IMG_5293

At least I actually recognize the things on the list.  No idea how it got in my pantry but it was finally useful. Smile

IMG_5300

Next up…TOPPINGS!!! No cheese and pepperoni boring pizza for me.  Typical toppings procedure…Open fridge and freezer and grab something random.

IMG_5301

Random enough for ya? Ramps I forgot I even had and some mélange a trois peppers.  Winking smile Quick steam in the microwave so they aren’t frozen solid.

Add to the pizzas, but quickly remember Hunni doesn’t love random veggies, i.e.. ramps.  Most are migrated to my pizza.

IMG_5307

Can’t forget the cheese.  My friend Melissa loves this vegan cheese and made me buy some.  Why not? Besides it came in flavors other than my typical Daiya cheddar and mozzarella.

IMG_5303

Cheese Tetris was fun but also necessary to hide the veggies from Hunni.  Good thing I mastered my skills as a dork in college Smile

IMG_5309

I was playing beat the pre-heat clock and got them in just as the oven beeped.  After 15 minutes the cheese wasn’t even thinking about melting.  That darn packaged lied! I prayed the broiler would provide some meltage and thank you God, it did.

IMG_5316

From start to finish this meal took 25 minutes.  Then I was back on the couch to watch my game.

Halloween was just another Sunday in the It All Changes House.  Football, comfy clothes, pizza and the couch.  At least my Halloween PJ bottoms got one last wear for a fun challenge…Thanks Rachel.

Next week I’ll have to plan better for dinner or tell Hunni to cook…which means we’ll have more tortilla pizzas Open-mouthed smile

Do you dress up for Halloween?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 31/10/2010 10:52 AM

    cute post ! 😀

    those pizzas look GOOD – (I love the Tetris)… yep, you HAVE to broil to melt that cheese… but then it is pretty AWESOME !

    Happy Sunday !

    • 31/10/2010 12:18 PM

      Thanks. 🙂

      Now that I know I’m actually excited to use it again since I need other flavors for some upcoming recipes.

  2. actorsdiet permalink
    31/10/2010 9:15 PM

    you’re right that frito lay dip really doesn’t look so bad!

  3. 31/10/2010 11:05 PM

    I’m glad that broiler got the cheese under control!

  4. jennas1978 permalink
    02/11/2010 11:12 AM

    I haven’t dressed up since I was about 12, and I’m okay with that. I love handing out candy. 🙂 At our townhouse, people used to drive to our community, because it was 400 townhouses with minimal walking. One year I gave out 7+ bags of candy.

    Now I have a kid. My pumpkin was a pumpkin for her first Halloween. 🙂

    • 02/11/2010 11:45 AM

      I used to love to give out candy. But no one thinks to knock on a church door :0(

      I love your pumpkin being a pumpkin 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Project Tasteless Challenge #2 Winner!
  2. Macaroon Monday–Pizza Dough | It All Changes
  3. Halloween Christmas? « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

