Skip to content

Six More Weeks of…

30/10/2010

Winter? Oh wait it’s not February and Phil didn’t see his shadow.

phil

(source)

Maybe I did though.

shadow

(source)

Tuesday I had my follow-up with the Sports Medicine Doctor.  This was the big one.  He was supposed to clear me for running.  Today I was supposed to be finishing up week one of Couch to 5K because I’m not dumb enough to jump full force again.  My body is not ready for three miles at a time…yet.

Well, according to Dr. Doom I’m not ready to run at all for now.  The slight twinges in my calf while biking or walking or hiking aren’t a good sign.  My calf is still angry at me i.e. inflammation.  It’s improving but as fast as he’d like for this kind of injury.  When will my body react the way it’s supposed to…I guess it’s a rebel. Smile

The solution: Not much…yet.  No cortisone shot this time – although it might have scared my calf into submission Open-mouthed smile – and six more weeks of no running.  You’re killing me doc. I can work out as long as I limit the stress to my calf and still wear the lovely sleeve.

sleeve

If the twinges fade I’m okay’d to test the jogging waters.  I’m not so sure I’m up for that.  That got me in trouble last time.  So it’s back to the gym or home gym for biking, walking, yoga and elliptical-ing.

Normally I’d whine and complain.  I’m a runner and anything but running feels like a chore.  Do I have to? I avoid, excuse, quit or complain…anything to get out of working out.  It just isn’t enjoyable or productive.

Then I read about a study in Women’s Health or Shape or one of those other magazines I keep lying around that says people who call themselves athletes are more likely to enjoy working out.  So I’m going to do it…I’m calling myself an athlete for real.

Sure the elliptical may be boring as heck but it’s cross-training and rehab.  The bike to nowhere drives me nuts but at home I can watch Netflix or sing Glee at the top of my lungs.

Earns Netfilxglee

Looking at it this way, all the other exercises have a purpose.  They are making me better instead of annoying me.  I will plan, push, enjoy and anticipate these workouts the same way I would a great run…at least I’ll try my best.

Working out is just as much mental as it is physical.  Reminding myself that I’m an athlete will push me to be my best.  I will be at that Turkey Trot starting line…even if I’m walking it.

Do you call yourself an athlete?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 30/10/2010 8:42 AM

    So true. Working out is as much mental as it is physical. Great outlook on how to handle your workouts until you’re clear to run again. You’ve got a good plan.

    Not sure if I’d call myself an athlete but I do know I’m someone who likes to get out there and get active. And I appreciate and support that feeling.

  2. 30/10/2010 8:49 AM

    I’m not sure I’ll ever get to the point of calling myself that. I am a non-athlete who exercises daily. I hope you heal soon. Last spring I broke a bone and it was so frustrating waiting to be cleared to do certain things again.

    • 30/10/2010 11:18 AM

      That’s a good way to look at it. Thanks for the wishes. I say anyone who intentionally exercises with a purpose is an athlete. 🙂

  3. Chris Witruk permalink
    30/10/2010 11:59 AM

    I love your commitment to do the Turkey Trot, even if to walk it. I hope to see you there! In the meantime, I know you’ll take good care of yourself!
    Chris

    • 30/10/2010 12:04 PM

      Thank you. Hunni will be there with me again this year. He said he’d even walk with me if I need him 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Coffee Killed + Goals | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

