Skip to content

Potato & Pea Coconut Curry

29/10/2010

My crock pot has been my best friend for many years…even before marriage and busy work days.  So much fun to throw a meal in at 7am and then walk in the door at 5pm to wonderful delicious smells.  In the early days it was full of some sort of meat with a few veggies and spices for flavor.

That doesn’t work so well as a vegetarian.  I didn’t know how to cook much without meat in my favorite appliance.  This relegated my crock pot to a steel-cut oatmeal and dump-it-all-in chili cooker.

With the cold weather rolling in and the busy days approaching I have really missed the ease of crock pot cooking.  My friend Google helped find several cookbooks devoted solely to vegetarian crock pot cooking.  Some recipes were even VEGAN! Enter super excited Cynthia. Open-mouthed smile

IMG_4186

I checked them out of the library to give them a try.  Quite frankly I think Hunni would have given me a “look” if I walked in with another cookbook.  I have so many I don’t even use.

I poured over each book like a romance novel.  Oooooing and ahhhing at the appropriate spots and salivating at the wonderful vegetarian love displayed across the pages.

I finally made my first recipe choice because I had all ingredients but one…Thai Curry Paste.  Curry and slow cookers = lots of fun for me.  Enter…

Potato & Pea Coconut Curry

Adapted from Vegetarian Slow Cooker

IMG_5225

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 2 medium onions, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1 tbsp ginger root, grated
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 2 pounds new potatoes, quartered
  • 1 tbsp, Thai red curry paste
  • 1 cup lite coconut milk
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • Cilantro for garnish if desired

***Note: Check the ingredients of your Thai curry paste if vegetarian.  Some contain shrimp or anchovies.***

  1. Heat oil in medium skillet over medium heat.  Add onions and stir for 3 minutes until softened.  Add garlic, ginger, and pepper.  Continue to cook and stir for 1 minute.                                                                                                                                    IMG_5227IMG_5230
  2. Add broth and bring to boil for 5 minutes. IMG_5231
  3. Transfer mixture to slow cooker.  Add both types of potatoes and stir. IMG_5235
  4. Cook covered on low for 6-8 hours on low or 3-4 hours on high. During this time go on a walk with the dogs, go to work or just lounge around.  I chose the dogs of course.  IMG_5236
  5. At end combine curry paste and 1/4 cup of coconut milk in bowl and stir to combine.  Add remaining coconut milk.  Add mixture and peas to slow cooker and cook on high for another 15 minutes. IMG_5240For me the smell test was important.  Hunni is super sensitive to heat so the nose knows.                                                                                                                                                                              IMG_5237IMG_5238
  6. Finish cooking time and serve.  Admire the pretty colors, almost too good to eat…almost SmileIMG_5245Garnish with cilantro if desired. I did not so desire this time.  It was a nice spice.  Although I wish I had added more red curry paste.  But that might have burned Hunni considering this little symbol on the bottle.IMG_5242

What is your favorite crock pot dish?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 29/10/2010 8:50 AM

    That looks really yummy – more stew-like than I expected. Will have to check it out.

    One of my fav crock pot dishes is countrystyle pork ribs with apples, onions and sauerkraut. Sounds weird but tastes fantastic.

  2. 29/10/2010 9:46 AM

    you are so cute 🙂 your posts are fun.

    I LOVE to read cookbooks like romance novels !

    • 29/10/2010 9:49 AM

      Thanks Bettie 🙂 Cookbooks are so much fun to read and enjoy the ideas of ingredients and combinations.

Leave a Reply

