Skip to content

Ready, Set, Brew

27/10/2010

It’s no secret I have a love affair with coffee shops.  It’s a pretty pricey habit.  I can’t help it…I am not a good coffee maker…and I needed a new coffeemaker Open-mouthed smile

Finally I broke down and bought one instead of struggling with our old one…chipped decanter, stained hot plate and funny smell.  This was a crucial decision requiring almost an hour wandering up and down the aisle debating price, function and the cuteness factor.  Yes I wanted a cute coffee maker.  So sue me.  I went with an old standard, Mr. Coffee.

IMG_5322

Pretty, shiny and black…Black is a girl’s best friend.  I’ve been drinking leftover coffee from a meeting so I haven’t had a chance to use it yet.

But today I was out and didn’t have my coffee.  I was dead tired but didn’t want to order coffee.  I tried drinking plenty of black tea to no avail.  So I had to get in some heavy reading…

IMG_5325

I actually love users manuals.  While Hunni just wings it, I devour manuals to learn all the ins and outs.  Comes in handy when things break and I have to play Handy-woman Smile Notice Hunni spilled coffee on it before he threw it in the manuals drawer.

I opened the manual and began to read…

IMG_5326

I was so tired for a second I forgot this was in Spanish.  I could read it and it didn’t even register (I was a Spanish teacher for 2 years…Yo necesito café).  To make it a bit quicker – so I could get to bed – I flipped to the English section.

A bunch of button pushing later I got the darn thing to stop flashing 12:00 at me and set it for delayed brew at 7:31am.

IMG_5323IMG_5329

You read that right…7:31.  I have a thing for odd numbers.  All my alarms are set for strange times.  Just a little quirk.

Presto!  All I needed was to add the grounds and water in order to wake up to fresh coffee in the morning.  Thank you Mr. Coffee for providing me a little chart of measurements.  Usually I employ the dump and go method.

IMG_5330

But then Mr. Coffee made me do math sans my caffeine fix because I did not want to measure out that many tablespoons.  Luckily I learned 3 tbsp equals 1/4 on Are You Smarter Than A Fifth Grader.

IMG_5332IMG_5341

I decided to go easy this first time and only make 4 cups.  If it bombs I’ll have to ask @THSintern for professional lessons.

IMG_5335

I pushed a few buttons and hoped for the best.  I’ll find out if it worked tomorrow.  Hopefully I’ll have coffee to fuel my AM workout. Smile

IMG_5342

Do you need coffee to fuel your day?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. 27/10/2010 8:35 AM

    I hate to correct you, but 1/4 c is actually 4 T… 😉

  2. Beth permalink
    27/10/2010 9:01 AM

    you should buy a coffee scoop, then measuring is super easy, one scoop for every two cups, you’re pretty much guaranteed to get a good pot of coffee. I like your coffee maker, it’s the spiffed up version of ours which I haven’t used in forever because we have a 4 cup pot….I think I should break out the big pot, then I can set the delay brew and not be late for church because I’m waiting for coffee.

    • 27/10/2010 8:25 PM

      I didn’t even know such a thing existed. Considering this is the first coffee pot I’ve purchased I might have to look into other coffee goodies.

  3. 27/10/2010 9:35 AM

    Coffee (lots of it) makes the world go around. (at least mine) 😉

  4. 27/10/2010 9:37 AM

    I love your site, this is my first time visiting! I suspect I am actually one of the only humans in the universe who doesn’t drink coffee or any caffeinated beverage in the morning! Ice cold water does the trick every time;)

    • 27/10/2010 8:24 PM

      I didn’t start drinking it until seminary. Now my doctor actually recommended a cup a day 🙂

  5. 27/10/2010 10:39 AM

    I am the same way with odd numbers! I actually wrote about it in my half recap- how I have to set the alarm to odd numbers, how happy I was that my race bib was an odd number 😀

    • 27/10/2010 10:41 AM

      I loved that part of your recap. But I like evens with food things. 2 peas or M&M’s at a time. It’s my OCD 🙂

  6. 27/10/2010 11:49 AM

    this is a cute post 🙂 I also look for CUTE coffeemakers… I guess because there are so many that are not… and you made me laugh reading in spanish for a while… sounds like something I would do when tired.

    I have a numbers thing also… when I am outside running (never inside on my treadmill…) I count my steps. 🙂

  7. Cindy permalink
    27/10/2010 5:12 PM

    I started reading your blog because we had the same name 🙂 Now I have decided that all Cynthia’s are just cool people who love coffee, do OCD number things and are just basically nice people. Thanks for making me smile each day reading your blog!

    • 27/10/2010 11:24 PM

      I don’t know many other Cynthia’s. But I agree we are pretty cool 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  8. 27/10/2010 6:24 PM

    Hooray for new coffee makers! I definitely need coffee to fuel my day. I average about 8 cups at home and then maybe another cup if I’m out and about. Don’t judge me. 😉

    • 27/10/2010 8:25 PM

      I couldn’t handle that much but you have a little one to keep up with so no judgement here 🙂

  9. 27/10/2010 8:26 PM

    Haha, I had to laugh when you set your timer for 7:31 … for some odd reason, I am the same way. For example … getting up at 5:30 will just not do, but 5:32? Yes, that works. I do this all the time and hadn’t even thought about it until you mentioned it. We’re weird! ha, but in an awesome way.

    • 27/10/2010 8:44 PM

      It makes it so much more fun. Life is too boring for round numbers all the time. Unless it’s with money 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Coffee Killed + Goals | It All Changes
  2. Picture of the Week – Sunday Set-ups « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

