Skip to content

Richard Came to Visit

23/10/2010

As a kid I was a daddy’s girl but Momma and I had our girl time doing stuff like walking 5K’s through the German countryside, eating spaghetti ice cream, shopping for jelly sandals long before they were popular in the USA and hanging out with Richard.

Who’s Richard?  I’m so glad you asked (or that my fingers typed it Open-mouthed smile).  Richard is Richard Simmons of course.  You know the guy who runs around in shorts that are inappropriate for a man of any age unless running a marathon and let’s not even talk about the bedazzled tank tops.  But Richard, Momma and I had plenty of quality time as a child.

No, we didn’t know him personally nor did he ever visit us…but he was on our TV several times a week.  Momma had an exercise VHS she loved and I’m pretty sure she tapped off something else.

I distinctly remember closing the big curtains of our picture window in one of our houses then sweating it out with Richard…doing the tootsie roll in front of our picture window would not have been cool.

Today though VHS tapes are so passé and no matter how much my mother loved this tape it was dying slowly…I think she used it one too many times.  A year or two ago she sent Richard away.  And he came back in this…

IMG_5251

Did you know Richard lives in this cute little envelope? Nah, Momma had her VHS duplicated onto a DVD and made me a copy for Christmas.  Probably one of the most thoughtful Christmas presents ever.  Such fond memories.

Unfortunately the DVD is in a flat case and fell behind our DVD collection sometime ago and I forgot about it.  When Hunni was helping me finish up our home gym I suddenly remembered this DVD and dug it out.

I forgot how cheesy yet ooey gooey fun this video is.  I mean look at little Richard encouraging people to stop stuffing their faces and go work out.

IMG_5252IMG_5253

I’d move my butt because a little Richard Simmons jumping on the table as I enjoyed my veggie burger is scary. Smile

It gets better…awesome 80’s set full of strobe lights, carpet and fun moves like neck rolls.  And why are they wearing polo shirts?

IMG_5254

The outfits were pretty spectacular.  I get a wedgie while running if I wear the wrong underwear…I can’t imagine wearing this.

IMG_5257

*Note to self: Do the workouts but don’t wear the clothes…unless it’s Halloween.  Then it is perfectly okay to be Jane Fonda for the day.**

Oh did I mention that she is also on the DVD?  Smile

IMG_5259

I’m a sucker for this DVD, for sentimental reasons more than anything.  I can picture Momma working out with me.  Oh and Richard kicked my butt.  I guess shorty shorts make it easier to kick Smile

IMG_5263

What is your favorite old-school workout?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 23/10/2010 3:10 PM

    I loved this post! My mom and I used to do a Jane Fonda video together when I was a kid. She also worked out to this program called “Body Electric”. She’d make me work out with her using can goods as our weights. It was awesome. My favorite workout, though, was a Paula Abdul (awesome popstar Paula, not is-she-on-drugs American Idol Paula) workout. It was my favorite because it was dance based. I tried it the other day, and it completely kicked my butt. So much fun to be a kid again!

    • 23/10/2010 5:49 PM

      Thanks. Jane Fonda at the end is hilarious but she is a beast. I’m going to let her kick my butt tonight 🙂

  2. 23/10/2010 7:06 PM

    This post is too funny! My stepsister and I used to do “Sweatin to the Oldies 2” ALL THE TIME. It was pretty entertaining 😀

    • 23/10/2010 8:20 PM

      Thanks. I remember other Richard videos as a kid as well. Can’t deny the music is pretty fun 🙂

  3. 27/10/2010 4:21 PM

    Too funny! I remember my mom did the old-school workout, “The Firm.” I think Jane Fonda was in it? It still exists in a more modernized format today and I’m sure my mom has the new dvds along with the old tapes.

Trackbacks

  1. Guest Post: Can the Holidays Be Healthy? — Savvy Eats
  2. Mat & More – Review « It All Changes
  3. Exercise Essentials « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

