Skip to content

What’s Syrup?

22/10/2010

Remember my misadventures in canning?  I don’t think I’ll forget that night.  Scratch that…Hunni will never let me forget.  We still haven’t replaced the paper towels I burned the heck out of while the strawberry raspberry lavender syrup bubbled away on the stove.  I guess I have a habit of burning things while canning…right Chelle?

Oh did I say Strawberry Raspberry Lavender Syrup? You wouldn’t want to know anything about that would you?  Not in the least.  I forgot all about it until I was taking photos of my canning shelf for Julie’s Simple Things and spied the label.  How could I forget about such wonderful combination?

I made waffles to sample the syrup, that truth be told was supposed to be jam but I forgot the pectin. Who cares…it makes wonderful waffle/pancake topping!

IMG_5218

Look at the berry bits and the bright color.  I want more waffles just looking at this picture.  So I didn’t waste all my syrup in one night, I covered the second waffle in straight up maple syrup and some lime curd.

IMG_5215

I inhaled every bite…and dropped a bit on the couch.

IMG_5219IMG_5222

Okay I think I’ve tortured you enough.  Now for the recipe.

Strawberry Raspberry Lavender Syrup

  • 4 pints fresh strawberries
  • 4 pints fresh raspberries
  • 1/4 cup dried lavender for cooking
  • 3 cups sugar (I used beet of course)
  1. Secure lavender in cheese cloth.  IMG_3845
  2. Combine strawberries, raspberries and 1/2 cup of sugar into a large bowl.  Add lavender and cover with the mixture.  Allow this to refrigerate for at least 2 hours, overnight is better. IMG_3847
  3. After refrigeration, remove lavender sachet and add fruit mixture to a large pot.  I don’t recommend reusing this lavender sachet but the leftover lavender makes my sock drawer smell wonderful.
  4. Slowly bring the fruit mixture boil over medium heat. Then slowly add remainder of sugar, stirring and mashing.
  5. Straining to remove seeds is an option.  I like the crunch so I left them in.  If you want it is best to use cheese cloth in a strainer over a bowl.
  6. At this point you can add pectin to make it into jam.  Or enjoy the wonderful syrup by canning or freezing. **Note if you strained the syrup you need to reheat it before canning.**

You know I canned the syrup for later.  I’m picturing many pancakes, fun banana soft serve and yogurt messes in my future.  Happy mistakes are wonderful ways to experiment with new flavors.IMG_3862

What happy accidents have you had in the kitchen?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 22/10/2010 8:47 AM

    We’re going to have to have a fire safety intervention with you 🙂

    • 22/10/2010 10:06 AM

      I think Smokey needs to teach me some lessons 🙂 I’ve been better since I burned your hot pad.

  2. 22/10/2010 11:07 AM

    hee hee… cute post 🙂

    I started a cardboard box on fire yesterday – I set it on the stove that I thought was already cool.

    OOPS !

    HAPPY WEEKEND !!

    • 22/10/2010 11:55 AM

      Thanks! I don’t ever intend on setting things on fire. But I’m a messy chef. Thank goodness Hunni cleans up.

  3. 22/10/2010 5:58 PM

    My fire accidents tend to happen to the food when I don’t pay attention like I should. Oh oh.

    • 22/10/2010 6:43 PM

      Surprisingly I never burn the food…or at least not that often. That’s Hunni’s job 🙂

  4. 23/10/2010 11:41 PM

    Yum, it sounds delicious!! 🙂

  5. 06/02/2011 6:44 AM

    That pic of you eating doesn’t show you in your best light I’m sure but it’s making me smile and I can feel your personality coming through the posts TY for making me smile lol

Trackbacks

  1. Seasons Change and So Do I « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

