Skip to content

Stocking Season

20/10/2010

All summer I live like this.  Carefree and bare legs.IMG_4927

Skirts or dresses, with cute little flats.  Occasionally I throw in a pair of shorts or jeans when the rain clouds roll in…but my standard uniform is a skirt and flats, even my work summer uniform Smile

But when the fall chill hits I’m not ready to trade in my skirts and flats.  It isn’t the right time for boots, sweaters and jeans either.  I want to pretend that snow isn’t coming so soon.  Instead I extend my summer wardrobe with tights.

IMG_4920

Tights are so much better than panty hose.  I should know.  I have to wear them with my official uniform and I’m lucky if I can get them on without a rip let alone a second time.  I’ve even tried the expensive pairs that required a promise of my first born…no go.  Pantyhose is just cruel and unusual punishment, requiring lots of money out of my pocket, and plenty of swear words running through my head as I try to get one pair on.  But tights are so much more fun.  IMG_4919

Some of my tights have been around for years..my favorite pair I’ve had for almost 4 years.  No rips, no runs, no problem.  They’re old friends I enjoy digging out of the attic every September when the cool winds roll in.  They make the best fashion accessory coming in so many colors and patterns.

IMG_4923

Tights can turn a cute summer dress into a fun fall outfit.  Or I can take my basic solid dress and spice it up with some patterns.

IMG_4907IMG_3970

I can even have some fun with a few pairs that look like the tights of my childhood but somehow make my outfits look so sophisticated.

IMG_4908IMG_4909

I really do love my tights.  So much so that I can’t stop exploring the tights section of any store I enter.  My tights addiction is like Hunni’s need to read every greeting card in Target.

IMG_4300IMG_4301

Just looking at these makes me giddy with ideas of what to pair them with.  I can’t wipe the smile off my stocking feet face.

IMG_4917

I might have the beginning of a small problem.  When visiting Boston I saw these in Newberry Comics.  I don’t know if they would be completely appropriate.   IMG_5041

Hunni had to pull me away from them by threatening I would have to get it tattooed on my legs.  Cool then I could be like MizFit!  I think I need to start preparing for Christmas stockings instead of buying even more tights 🙂

How do you extend your wardrobe?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. actorsdiet permalink
    20/10/2010 7:53 PM

    i need to buy tights! thanks for the reminder!

  2. 20/10/2010 9:56 PM

    Those tights are adorable!! I want!!

  3. 20/10/2010 10:20 PM

    awwww loved this fashion post!!!

    i don’t own any.. but LOVE LOVE LOVE how they look!

  4. 21/10/2010 7:35 PM

    I LOVE stockings !! 😀

    I have the same argyle socks…

    this place is dangerous, but has unique and fun stuff :

    http://www.sockdreams.com/

    🙂

Trackbacks

  1. If Everyone Jumped Off a Bridge « It All Changes
  2. How Do You Wear Winter Boots? | Legally Fit
  3. Where Have All the Pants Gone? « It All Changes
  4. Stretch Your Wardrobe « It All Changes
  5. I’ve Got Style, I’ve Got Grace « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

