Skip to content

Whole Foods Finds

14/10/2010

While hanging out in Whole Foods a couple of weeks ago waiting to go into Boston, I decided to wander the aisles.  This does not take much decision making since I love randomly wandering the aisles at grocery stores and especially Whole Foods.  Heck, Hunni and I do this for date nights some days.  Remember I told you grocery shopping is like therapy to me 🙂

On this trip I wasn’t looking for anything in particular but a few things I’d seen on blogs popped into view and then hopped into my hard.  I had a few hours to kill so who wouldn’t want to sit, blog and try new stuff?

I stuck to things I would either consume right there or could make the 3 hour trip home.  I also made a little list of things to try later.  It was quite tropical outside for the end of September so a Bora Bora bar seemed appropriate.

IMG_4546Yes that is my laptop case.  I told you I was blogging and trying new stuff.  Anyway about the Bora Bora bar.  I don’t remember where I first saw these things…but I was looking a snack in the bar aisle and decided to try something new.  Maybe the fact that the weather was a mysterious 80 degrees at the end of September but the name and flavor roped me in.  Chocolate and hazelnuts…um yes!

Oh boy were there hazelnuts.  Huge full hazelnuts!

IMG_4551

Let’s not not forget the chocolate part.  Oh not chocolate, cocoa.  There was a nice layer along the bottom of the bar that infused every single bite.

IMG_4547

I devoured this bar very quickly…perhaps a bit to quickly.  IMG_4550

Some of it ended up on my white pants requiring the purchase of an instant stain stick and remove the spots in the grocery bathroom. Oh and the stain stick I used is a brand I forgot I’m allergic to leading a an itchy leg for about an hour.  Good thing this bar was worth it.  It was like the first candy bar I’ve had in ages.  I actually bought one to sneak into see The Social Network last night.  Did I say that?  I would never sneak in a candy bar and tea to the movies. 😉

The other thing I bought to try did not have the same effect.IMG_4716

Sorry to all you coconut water lovers.  This was a no go.  Katie suggested that us newbies try a fruit flavored one so I grabbed a mango flavor.  Something was off with this.  It tasted like cough syrup and chemicals.  After a few sips I had to chuck it.

Being a glutton for punishment I bought another flavored version and an original to compare.  Close your eyes and breathe and then take a sip.  Ready, steady go!IMG_4717

Uh oh.  Same flavor…same taste.IMG_4718

Well lets give this coconut water thing a second try.  Some original coconut water after riding the bike at the gym (not that I needed it for rehydration…it just made me feel more legit).  IMG_4720Notice the slow, timid sip.  However it wasn’t too bad.IMG_4721Not too good…but not to bad.  If I’m rehydrating after a long run or some crazy hot yoga session…perhaps.  For a regular drink when I hit up the salad bar…not a chance.

I guess some things are worth the purchase and some aren’t.  Never know until you try.  At least I found a new “candy bar” treat out of this excursion.

*Hello FTC, I bought this stuff with my hard earned debit card and these are my opinion.*

What is a new food you’ve tried lately?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/10/2010 10:25 AM

    That’s a good looking bar. Recently I discovered manna bread and love love love it.

  2. 14/10/2010 6:38 PM

    I just tried Amazing Grass cocoa drink powder yesterday. It’s still growing on me (how come chocolate wheat grass can’t taste like hershey’s syrup?). It’s so hard not to run out and buy all of the yummy looking food I see on everyone’s blogs–but I think that would kill my grocery budget for the month!

  3. 14/10/2010 7:02 PM

    You’re hilarious. I loved your little “disclaimer” at the bottom. ;p

  4. 14/10/2010 8:32 PM

    Okay, I’m completely with you on this one. The first brand of coconut water I do not care for either … but I am all for ONE coconut water. (Ha, coconut water is MUCH better sweetened).

  5. 14/10/2010 8:50 PM

    I have tried coconut water before and I did not like it at all. Maybe it was just the brand? I don’t know, but I think that it is one trend I am okay not being a part of.

  6. julie permalink
    15/10/2010 10:03 AM

    Hi Cynthia! A new product for you that i wanted to suggest is Mimiccreme (mimiccreme.com). It’s made by Green Rabbit in Albany & is gluten-free (it’s made from almonds & cashews). They have lots of recipes on their website, including ice cream! (Sorry if this sounds like an advertisement, but this is seriously good stuff, esp for people with food intolerances who want to eat cream sauces, etc…)

Leave a Reply

