Skip to content

Still Exposed?

12/10/2010

One year ago a simple American girl living in Australia wrote a post exposing herself not for her flaws but for the amazing things her body could do despite any perceived flaws she had about herself.  It spread like wildfire across the globe with many, many, many people joining in.

I read her post that first day and thought she was NUTS! Yes I used bold, capitals and underlined.  I really thought she was crazy.  Sure I read the words quickly but couldn’t get past the fact that she was standing there in her undies for the world to see.  I could never do that…Never Ever.  Until about a week later, ever 🙂

You see the more I thought about it the more I realized I was constantly criticizing my body for what it wasn’t instead of appreciating it for what it was.  I had scars and skin and ugh everywhere and I was ashamed.  I hid under loose clothes and workout gear every day.  I hated the beach and pool because my body didn’t look like the girls in bikini catalogs.  After 100 pounds lost I could never wear those…even in the privacy of my own home.

The more people who joined Mish in her Exposed movement the more my mindset changed from “They’re nuts!” to “Wow they’re brave.” Was I brave?  Could I expose myself and not be ashamed of my body for what it wasn’t and think of all the wonderful things my body WAS?

I took the picture and wrote the list.  I didn’t think I could actually put it up.  I tried to do fancy Photoshop on the picture and chopped the heck out of it.  That solved it.  I couldn’t do this.

But why not?  What was I ashamed of?  I had nothing to be ashamed of.  I’m me and I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished even with the perceived imperfections.

So I posted my Exposed Post on 22 October 2009 (bad Photoshop picture and all) and held my breath.  I had no idea what the comments would be but I was proud of myself for even doing it.  For thanking my body for what it has done.  The response was so uplifting but more importantly I was proud of myself.

Now a year later I can’t even begin to tell you how this one little post has helped me.  On the days I hate the mirror I can look back at this post and realize I am much more than a reflection.  On the days I think I WILL NOT I am more inspired to think of what I WILL.  And on the days I beat myself up for gaining weight with an injury I’m proud that I’m struggling though not giving up.

I’m exposed on this blog in more ways than one.  Being exposed isn’t just about exposing my body for what it looks like and being proud.  Being exposed is exposing my soul, struggles and all.  Thank you Mish for pushing me past where I thought I could go.  And to all of you Exposed participants I thought were crazy…heck I’m crazy too so I’m in wonderful company 🙂

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/10/2010 10:18 AM

    Well said. I hadn’t seen the Exposed posts (I’m new to the blog world) but I love it. Kudos to you for participating. On days where I’m hating my body, I try to put it in perspective and be grateful that I have a body that fully functions, but it doesn’t always work. Perhaps I should make a list of all the things my body can do. Thanks for the ideas–and continue celebrating your body!

    • 12/10/2010 10:39 AM

      Looking back at that list helps so much on the dates that I hate my body. Reminding myself that it could be much worse and my body does much more for me than I give it credit.

      make the list and include it somewhere you can see it as a great reminder.

  2. 12/10/2010 11:04 AM

    I remember when I started seeing the Exposed posts appearing on my favorite blogs. I was going “Almost naked on the internet? Yikes, what if someone who “knows” me found my picture! Egads!” in my head. Then, I seriously started wishing that I could be so brave. I’m not there yet, but I am finding those parts to love about my body. I’m glad the Exposed experience has helped you!

    • 12/10/2010 2:46 PM

      I worried about what people would see and what I was hiding. Then I realized what I had on was no worse than I see half the people at the beach in. And I’m proud of me.

      You can do it too. Wear short and a sports bra..or your bathing suit. But be proud of what you can do!

  3. jennas1978 permalink
    12/10/2010 11:36 AM

    I have a simultaneous love/hate relationship with my body. I hate the way it is now to look at, only 10 weeks PP…but I love that within it, I was able to create and sustain life, and now I’m nourishing that life. It’s amazing what our bodies can DO…not all about the looks. 🙂

    • 12/10/2010 1:21 PM

      AMEN Jenna! I am always so amazed at everything that my body has done and continues to do. I doesn’t look how I think it should but it does more than I ever thought possible 🙂

  4. 12/10/2010 12:15 PM

    The exposed movement is so powerful. I think Mish is awesome for doing it!!! I keep wanting to participate. Maybe the year anniversary will get my butt in gear and get the picture with the words set up.

    • 12/10/2010 2:44 PM

      You can totally do it Tina. Enjoying your body for what it is and can do (grow a small child) will show you how much more beautiful you are then what is on the outside.

  5. 12/10/2010 1:17 PM

    Cynthia,
    Love the CRAZY company!!

    And love what you have shared here – and what exposing yourself has meant for you over this past year. It truly is what’s inside of us that matters…and you shine beauty from deep within…

    • 12/10/2010 2:47 PM

      Thank you so much! It really is the inside and I need that reminder a lot. But I’m working on it day by day.

  6. 12/10/2010 8:59 PM

    I had the same reaction 🙂 But I kept going…well, if THEY could, why can’t I?

    Then, finally…with a brave face…I hit publish. And never once regretted it.

    • 13/10/2010 10:58 PM

      Exactly Katy! I held my breath as I pushed publish but I wouldn’t go back and change it. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. If Everyone Jumped Off a Bridge « It All Changes
  2. The List Of Exposed | Exposed Movement
  3. Exposed: One Year Later 12 October 2010 | Exposed Movement

Leave a Reply

