Skip to content

Fancy Bread Fun

10/10/2010

My silly best friend Melissa was in the neighborhood for just one day (neighborhood= within an hour instead of 4 🙂 ). Despite my lingering tiredness and fuzzy feeling, I grabbed a cup of hot tea and my water bottle and headed out to Whole Foods to meet for lunch.  After we ate we wandered the store and I only bought a few necessary things – Vegan Double Chocolate Macadamia nut cookies – since I’ll be there again on 23 October with the CDNY girls.

Normally I don’t have time to stop, take pictures and enjoy the little towns between here and there because Hunni is all about getting from one place to the other as quickly as possible.  Plus he wakes up when I stop the van while he snoozes in the passenger seat, so I can’t be sneaky about it.

Today I was solo, so I could stop as much as my little heart desired.  I plotted my stops on the drive up.  Number one on my list was…IMG_4878I’m admittedly not a bread person unless it’s in a recipe.  But local, handmade bread is an entirely different story.  Flavors that reach far beyond white, wheat, rye and cinnamon raisin.  Bread Euphoria has flavors like kalamata olive, sesame, whole wheat cranberry…and every day there’s a specialty or two.  IMG_4870Being Saturday they had Cherry Pecan and I wanted a loaf.  I made a note to go back on a Wednesday to get some potato cheddar just like my grandma would make hot from the oven.  I had my loaf sliced because my bread cutting skills lead to lots of smushed bread.  But we’ll get back to the bread in a minute.

Bread Euphoria isn’t just a bread bakery.  They also a full menu of bakery like lunch item including an awesome hummus sandwich on the olive bread that sounded tempting.IMG_4869

Well almost tempting.  My stomach and head were a bit off still and I thought better of the garlicky hummus.  I will be convincing Hunni to stop here for a lunch some day soon, I hope.  I’m sure I can convince him with one of these…

IMG_4873IMG_4871IMG_4872

They look almost too good to eat…almost!  Fun little cakes like a jack-o-lantern and Dracula for Halloween even.

My favorite is the leaf one because it looks so fall.  Such a beautiful design and flavor.  If you can’t read the sign it says Vanilla Bean Cheesecake with lemon curd, honey ginger poached pears and a graham cracker crust.  I’m drooling just thinking about it.  This is something that needs to be recreated in a me friendly version.  Yeah!  I have a new cooking experiment…now I just need to find a Saturday to taste test.  🙂

The decor is just as fabulous as the menu selections.  Who wouldn’t love to sit in here on a cool fall day?

IMG_4874IMG_4881

Cup of coffee and an awesome sandwich with a sweet treat on the side…perfect for viewing all the unique handmade pottery from the studio next door.

IMG_4880IMG_4866IMG_4867

Just remember to wear your shirt and shoes…pants are optional 😀 IMG_4877

Now back to the bread.  Did I mention it had Cherries and Pecans in it?!  Oh yes.  Pre-sliced for my still sensitive tummy consumption.

IMG_4929

I was a bit bold and added some Earth Balance and Vegan Lime Curd.   IMG_4932 Oh did I say Vegan Lime CurdYes I did! You can find the recipe in my guest post on Sweet Tooth Sweet Life today while Courtney lives it up for her friends’ wedding weekend.  There is also regular lemon curd that I canned for some Christmas gifts.  Are you getting some for Handmade Christmas 2010? IMG_4934Don’t mind the sick face…trust me it was good.:-)

Do you like plain bread or fun flavors?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/10/2010 8:42 AM

    Though I’ll eat almost any bread, I tend to favor the crunchier, rustic types. Mmm.

    I also like the occasional treat that’s less mainstream – like olive, pecan, sunflower seed loaves. That cherry pecan bread looks might yummy too. Glad you enjoyed it.

  2. 10/10/2010 1:29 PM

    this place looks ADORABLE! and that bread sounds (and looks) AMAZING!

  3. 10/10/2010 5:52 PM

    I love me some good bread! Is it close to WF and TJ for the big trip??? 😉
    PS I never had lemon or lime curd? I think I should make some!

  4. 10/10/2010 9:53 PM

    major LOL at the pants are optional sign 🙂 that cracked me up.

    that hummus sandwich on the olive bread does sound wonderful! you better go back and get one missy hehe. hope you feel better soon!

    • 10/10/2010 10:26 PM

      I giggled at that sign too when I walked in. Kind of a good sign because I was wearing a dress 😀

      I will be getting that sandwich ASAP! Probably next sunday on my way home from a conference.

  5. 10/10/2010 10:30 PM

    That’s a great time you had! Love the sign and I love bread.

  6. actorsdiet permalink
    10/10/2010 10:36 PM

    bread euphoria sounds awesome! i AM a bread person so i bet i’d be…euphoric!

    hope you’re feeling better….

    • 10/10/2010 11:30 PM

      Oh this bread is Euphoric 🙂 I might have to stop in for another loaf on my way out there later this week 🙂

Leave a Reply

