Skip to content

Carnival Apple Squash

07/10/2010

Remember my trip to pick apples with my CDNY Blends?  I walked away with 18 pounds of apples and a few other things, like cider and two squashes.  One is a fairly normal butternut squash that will be turned into muffins for the winner on Rebecca’s bake sale.  I said fairly normal because this sucker is HUGE…I can make some for myself and have leftover squash for another meal, or more muffins. 😀

IMG_4846

Don’t believe me…look at how I had to carry it around the farm market…

IMG_4398

The other squash is one I’ve never heard of before.  Carnival Squash? I’m expecting clowns to jump out like the little VW Bug in a circus.  Instead it’s a distant cousin of the acorn squash.

IMG_4799

With a name like that it had to be a fun dish.  My old friend Google helped me find several recipes but I decided to go with Carnival Apple Squash Bake.  I threw in a few twists because, well, it’s me.

All I needed was:

IMG_4803

  • 1 Carnival Squash
  • 1 Apple, cored, peeled and diced (I used a Kendall and didn’t peel it)
  • 1 tbsp Earth Balance, melted
  • 2 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • Walnuts if desired
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Add about 1 inch of water into a glass baking dish to help cook squash.
  2. Slice squash in half and hollow out the insides.  I purposely made one bigger and one smaller for Hunni and I.  😉  IMG_4802
  3. Combine Earth Balance, maple syrup, lemon juice and cinnamon together in bowl and stir. IMG_4806
  4. Pour over chopped apple and coat. IMG_4807
  5. Pour mixture into each squash half.  Place into baking dish and into the oven.  IMG_4808Bake for 45 minutes until squash is soft, testing with a fork.
  6. Top with nuts if desired. I didn’t desire at the time.IMG_4832

This actually turned out fairly well.  The squash was nice and tender and melded well with the apple mixture as I dug into it with a spoon.  I would change a few things for the next time.

  • Make the apple chunks a bit bigger so they don’t get as crispy.
  • Start by roasting the squash for 10 minutes to soften up and then mix in apples so they flavors would meld more.  (I took the insides out and smooshed them on the plate for more mixage).   IMG_4841
  • Add the nuts.  I didn’t think I needed them and didn’t want to go to the store to buy them.  It lacked the crunch.

What unique produce have you tried lately?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/10/2010 8:38 AM

    I like the look of your carnival apple squash recipe. I have an acorn squash at home and apples from the farm that I may use to try this out. Thanks for sharing.

  2. 07/10/2010 8:35 PM

    I love this! My favorite thing about farmer’s markets is finding new things — I got my first delicata squash last week and this week, picked up a turnip or rutabaga (not sure which haha). Squash is my current seasonal fave.

    • 07/10/2010 9:50 PM

      I just had someone give me a delicata squash they grew. I am so intrigued. And I love the name because it sounds kinds of spanish 🙂

      • 08/10/2010 6:55 AM

        It’s delicious! Very similar to acorn squash so I cooked it the same way I would have cooked that.

  3. 07/10/2010 10:34 PM

    Yum! I have just started to love squash. I’ll have to be more adventurous!

Trackbacks

  1. Just A Simple Nickel + Goals « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

