Skip to content

I WENT TO THE GYM!!!

05/10/2010

Yes this needs ALL CAPS and three explanation points (!!!).  I’ve been making excuse after excuse after excuse about why I can’t work out.

  • I’m still healing my leg.
  • I only want to run.
  • I don’t like biking at the gym.
  • The pool is cold at night.
  • I don’t have time.
  • There is too much to read on blogs.
  • My stomach hurts me more lately.
  • I am already in my PJ’s.

Oh yeah, on that last one.  My little bunny PJ’s were calling my name the second I came home from work.  Sooooo cool outside and so comfy in the PJ’s.  We’re cheap thrifty and refuse to turn on the heat yet when we have flannel sheets, snuggies, hoodies and bunny PJ’s.

IMG_4791

Then there was catching up on everything I didn’t read while actually working yesterday.  So I sat on the couch and made excuses about why I couldn’t go to the gym.

So I sent a message to my friend and asked her to kick my butt to the gym.  I confessed my lack of desire to do anything recently.  I needed some external motivation until I could get my internal motivation back.

She kicked my but into high gear.  I think the words, “GO GO GO GO GO!” were uttered.  Okay, I got up and left my bunny friend on the bed.

IMG_4790

I put on my workout gear and almost sat back on the couch.  Work out gear is comfy for relaxing and reading blogs.  Those words “GO GO GO GO GO!” resonated in my head again.  I put on one more crucial piece of workout gear and headed to the gym.  I was ready to fight my desire to stay at home.

IMG_4779

I was fighting with myself to get my butt to the gym and then to stay.  Lucky for me the Patriots make a great distraction while riding the bike to nowhere.  I might have been the nutty sports fan who thrust her fists into the air on the awesome interception and yelled at the TV during back plays.  I’m “that girl” at the gym.  The one the guys look at funny while they watch reruns of Family Guy.  Don’t get between me and my football, boys.

Thirty minutes on the bike to nowhere plus a cool down and then a good 15 minute stretch session reminded me of something.  I have never regretted a workout.  I would have regretted sitting on the couch in my bunny PJ’s all night.  I didn’t regret going to the gym and felt better after than I did before.

Then my bunny PJ’s and I were reunited as I sat back on the couch with the puppers and read blogs.  The workout was a nice interruption in a busy night 🙂  IMG_4793

What motivates you to the gym?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/10/2010 9:44 AM

    Congrats on getting motivated to go to the gym! Sometimes that is a struggle, especially when PJ’s are calling your name. Believe me, I know. I agree that I have never regretted a workout, only not doing one. Usually, that’s what motivates me: the thought that I will feel like crap if I don’t move my lazy butt. 🙂

  2. 05/10/2010 11:05 AM

    Like you, I always feel better after a workout – energized but relaxed, satisfied, and always in better spirits. I try to hang on to the post workout feeling as a motivator for my next run or program. This has helped me to get some sort of activity in 6-7 days a week on a regular basis.

    Good for you for getting back to the gym!

    • 05/10/2010 12:37 PM

      I was a consistent in working out prior to my injury in April. Since then it was all down hill and I’m back to couch potato mode. Trying to get my mojo back 🙂

  3. 05/10/2010 12:14 PM

    Winter is looming, that means trips to the gym are inevitable. Distractions like football games and glossy magazines make it bearable for me. But it’s TOUGH! I had the hardest time dragging myself to the gym, bc I’d rather be out on the pavement. To answer your questions, what motivates me? Not much 🙂

    • 05/10/2010 2:25 PM

      I love working out outside when I have time. The gym is not my favorite. Thank God for Football and books. They keep me going on the machines to nowhere. 🙂

  4. ann rennie permalink
    05/10/2010 6:17 PM

    I am trying very hard to loose a few more pounds and I know for sure it works better when I swim and use my in pool resistance weights. I am feeling much better since I seem to have gotten rid of this cold so I am back in the pool. an hour a day just for me. sooooo selfish of me, not at all I am worth it. I can eat more if I get my self in better shape and an hour is worth about 9 points. I also feel better when I exercise and I sleep better too. So you keep it up I am proud of you. Blessings Ann

    • 05/10/2010 6:20 PM

      Aww thanks Ann. The workouts make me feel better and are me time. I love just being alone doing something for ME!

  5. 05/10/2010 9:39 PM

    i want bunny pj’s so bad!

  6. 05/10/2010 11:46 PM

    you are SO CUTE with your bunny pajama. 🙂

    this is a great post… YAAAY for getting to the gym – and yes, I’ve never regretted a workout! 🙂

    • 06/10/2010 10:32 AM

      I begged and begged for these PJ’s last year even though I wouldn’t buy them myself. Now I can’t get enough of them.

Trackbacks

  1. Grocery Therapy + Goals | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

