Skip to content

Just Like Clark…

01/10/2010

Kent that is.

clark(source)

By day I’m a mild mannered pastor/Salvation Army Officer….aw who are we kidding I’m not mild mannered at all, but I am a pastor 🙂

IMG_4538

By night I’m a healthy living blogger.  I enjoy coffee shops, eating at new restaurants and long walks on the beach in the woods.  🙂

IMG_4545

Yesterday was a true test of my Clark Kent/Superman abilities.  I saw a time on the clock that I rarely see…

IMG_4524

Yeah I really didn’t handle it too well.  I don’t function well before dawn. IMG_4530

Yes those are sunglasses on my head.  I told you I don’t function well before dawn.  I normally drive in the sun.

I had two meetings in Boston yesterday.  The first started at 9.30am! That’s all well and good if you live in BOSTON…but I live on the opposite half of Massachusetts…basically New York.  My only saving grace was coffee! IMG_4532

That coffee doesn’t count for my October Coffee Challenge because it was still September.  Good thing too because this was only one of three 🙂

I was so happy attending two long meetings…don’t I look happy?

IMG_4534

Then it was time to do my quick change from Clark Cynthia to Superman Healthy Living Blogger.  Clark may use a phone booth but I wanted a more healthy living approach.  Here is my phone booth…

IMG_4542

By the way who’s seen a phone booth lately besides in London?  Perhaps a Tardis 🙂

After my quick change I sat Whole Foods blogging and eating before heading into Boston.  Oh yeah and I had my second coffee of the day.  Almond Milk Lattes are awesome!!!! (that one didn’t count either 😀 )

IMG_4543IMG_4553

Normally after these meetings I turn around and drive home after grabbing a Whole Foods lunch…but yesterday was special.  I was going support a great blend (and her awesome husband) to help raise money for a cause near and dear to my heart.

IMG_4574

My van requires special parking so I had a great walk through Boston on my way to the fundraiser.  I want to live closer to Boston just to enjoy downtown and all the cute shops.

IMG_4556IMG_4560IMG_4559

Tina and Mal hosted their TNT fundraiser at the awesome Cafeteria Restaurant on Newbury Street.        IMG_4561I’ve been on Newbury street so many times (mostly to try places Tina has suggested) but had never been to Cafeteria.  The decor was so unique I couldn’t stop taking pictures of it.

IMG_4572IMG_4576IMG_4573

The spectacular food didn’t hurt either.  What’s not to love about cheese, brushetta and pizza.  Who can resist fabulous food?  Certainly not this girl.

IMG_4570IMG_4577IMG_4579

The donation for the party also came with 5 tickets to win some awesome prizes.  Choices choices.  Everything from chocolate to shoes to a flip camera.

IMG_4571IMG_4582IMG_4575

I placed all 5 of mine in the chance to win a night at the Colonnade Hotel for a nice date in Boston with Hunni.

IMG_4575

Sadly I didn’t win…seems lots of people had the same idea I did 🙂

My camera died half way through the night but I managed to get a nice picture with Tina.  IMG_4581

She’s a sweetheart and I was so happy to spend the night meeting her friends and other bloggers/blog readers (HI!) in the Big City.

The best part was supporting such a great cause.  TNT and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society help so many people struggling with these diseases.  I don’t know anyone who hasn’t been affected by cancer in one way or another.  Supporting such a cause is one way I can do my part.

My role as both a Pastor and Healthy Living Blogger takes me so many places and allow me to do unique things.  I’ll have to remember to thank my boss for rescheduling those meetings so I could attend the fundraiser.  Congrats and Good Luck Tina and Mal on your Marathon!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/10/2010 9:52 PM

    Looks like it was a great fundraiser with Tina and Mal and the food looked phenomenal. Even better it’s for a very worthy cause. Thanks for letting us take part in the experience through your pics. Ciao

  2. 02/10/2010 12:01 AM

    Hehe, I love how you flip hats from pastor to healthy living blogger throughout the day! I am slowly getting more into my “healthy living blogger” phase of things so I am still getting used to the whole taking pictures of everything I do/eat in public.

    I’m working on it though!

    • 02/10/2010 12:07 AM

      Thanks. The picture thing is the hardest to do…especially in work mode. I often think of great ideas for posts while at work but don’t have time to stop and take a picture during all the nutzo.

Trackbacks

  1. Escaping | It All Changes
  2. Whole Foods Finds | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

