Skip to content

Letter to My Calf

29/09/2010

We had a great run on April 4th but haven’t run a step since.

Instead we spent the summer wearing shorts and doing lots of swimming and walking.

IMG_3440IMG_3726

Heck even some biking.  With the cool shades to enjoy. IMG_3793

Now that fall is settling in you are looking forward to things like tights and bunny footie PJ’s.

Fall typically means ratcheting down the longer runs and spending more time on the elliptical and stationary bike.  Sometimes a great workout videos at home joins the mix…but only sometimes.

v-step-003We have a problem this year. I’m not having it. Sure I want to wear the tights, considering I bought five new pairs on vacation, and the bunny PJs are a great substitute for a snuggie when Leo steals it.

leo snuggieHowever this no running bit is really draining me.  My favorite activity has been absent from my workout calendar for far too long. No more! The sport’s medicine doctor gave me the okay to run…soon.

I don’t need another cortisone shot…for now…and I’m cleared to increase my cardio. Yeah for more biking and swimming.  So calf, you and I are getting into gear starting…after the flu that decided to show up before I got my flu shot. You get a few more days of rest because the rest of my body needs it too.

So far 15 minutes of biking or swimming a few times a week was all I could handle.  Get ready for an increase each week…five minutes at a time, per doctor’s orders.  I want a thumbs up from the doctor next visit to start the Couch to 5k again instead of another needle in my leg.

So please do your part dear calf of mine so I will be at the starting line of my Turkey Trot.  If not we might have to resort to drastic measures.  Don’t ask me to explain because you’ll be scared…very scared.

You may have enjoyed your summer off without sweaty running tights…but welcome to the fall.  We’re getting back in gear and this winter will be awesome.

Love Cynthia 🙂

++++++++++++++++++++

Check out The Giggly Bits to see how I’m staying part of the 5%.  Cryptic, huh?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 29/09/2010 5:16 PM

    Way to tell your calf how things are going to go down. LOL

    Good luck with the running when you start.

  2. 29/09/2010 10:03 PM

    You tell that calf!! Good luck girlie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

