Skip to content

Apple Conserves

24/09/2010

Ever since I began my obsession with canning it has become my mission to introduce others to this wonderful joy.  So far I’ve been taught by Chelle, enjoyed the 24, 24, 24 Canning Party with Julie, Emma, Mae, and Heather and have taught my women’s group + Emily.  Told you I was on a mission.  Vacation was the perfect excuse to teach Momma.

Momma actually enjoys my stories as I learn about my new hobby and saying lots of “oh my, oh dear” when I tell her things like my misadventures or getting facials from hot steam when I open the lid to the canner.  Having her read the blog and talking weekly by phone is like she is there with me.  She even suggests combinations of things to make.

I packed some of my goodies to for her to enjoy but they accidentally got left on the kitchen counter in a rush to leave.  Good thing they are canned so she can have them at Christmas when she comes to visit 😀

We had to do something with our half a bushel of apples from Linvilla Orchards so I quickly looked up so fun recipes I could accomplish in one day.  It was an intense assembly line process to get it all done.

I could show you the apple butter that took way too long to cook but was totally worth it.  Or the apple pie-in-a-jar that I’m not to sure will turn out right since the measurements were way off.  But that would be boring and no fun.  Instead I want to share Apple Conserves.

Yes I said conserves…not preserves, jam or jelly.  Ball Canning defines this as:

Conserves are jams made from a mixture of fruits. They usually contain citrus fruit, nuts, and raisins.

I like canning things I can’t necessarily buy in the grocery store and I’ve definitely never seen a jar of conserves in my local Stop & Shop.  Momma and I thought this was great because we had all the ingredients on hand.

And away we go…Apple Conserves!

Bubbling away in the pot.

  • 6 cups chopped apples
  • 2/3 cup chopped dried fruit (I used apricots)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 3.5 cups sugar (I used beet sugar)
  • 1 packet powdered pectin

*Note these are adjusted measurements based on my tastes.  I don’t like sweet jams.*

  1. Core and dice apples to equal 6 cups.  You don’t need to skin them for conserves.
  2. Chop dried apricots or any other dried fruit you choose.
  3. Add apples and apricots to pot with water and lemon juice.  Cook until apples are softened.
  4. Add powdered pectin and stir until dissolved.
  5. Slowly add sugar until sweetened to your liking.  When you think it is sweet enough add a bit more (I learned this trick from Chelle).  For Momma and me it was about 3.5 cups.
  6. Continue to stir and reduce until apples are completely softened and conserves are your desired consistency.
  7. Turn off heat and stir in almonds.
  8. Taste test!!!! Best stuff ever.

I’m okay with teaching canning in person but on the blogosphere I’ll leave it to those with a bit more experience.  You can follow the instructions on Savvy Eats or Little House on the Great Flats or in any basic canning book.  It’s easy trust me!

This recipe is so good that after Momma and I made the first batch with my beet sugar we made a second batch with cane sugar for her with a different mix.

I can’t wait to break into this stuff.  I’m trying to follow Julie’s rule of not eating stuff until it is out of season but this may be hard and I’ll just have to make some more.  At least I’m going apple picking this weekend 🙂

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/09/2010 2:02 PM

    Id really love to dive into canning but I wouldnt even know where to begin! I need to do some research.

    • 24/09/2010 9:21 PM

      The best way is to have someone show you. But Ball Canning has great info and so does @savvyjulie.

  2. 24/09/2010 2:27 PM

    I have never heard of conserves. All good things though!

  3. 24/09/2010 4:09 PM

    I’m imagining how great those apple conserves must smell as they’re cooking down. Can we bottle it and make a candle scent out of it??

    In all seriousness, I would love to try making these and other preserves / conserves. Thanks for sharing the canning links.

    • 24/09/2010 9:20 PM

      They smelled amazing. I had to run out to my van and I could smell them from the porch.

  4. 24/09/2010 9:55 PM

    Hmm, I’ve never heard of conserves either! Are they essentially the same as preserves?

    • 24/09/2010 9:57 PM

      Preserves are all fresh ingredients just in chunks. Conserves have dried fruit and nuts in them. That’s the basic difference.

  5. 25/09/2010 12:23 AM

    This sounds oddly exciting! I definitely can’t do any canning of my own in my dorm kitchen right now, but it is fun to read about yours! I had no idea that’s what conserves were. It sounds tasty!

    Happy weekend my dear! 🙂

    • 25/09/2010 9:03 PM

      Yeah it is a lot of stuff to take over the dorm kitchen for. But when you can definitely make them 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Guest Post: The Local Me « Little House on the Great Flats
  2. Seasons Change and So Do I « It All Changes
  3. Roasted Butternut Apple Soup « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

