Skip to content

Code Red, White and Blue

20/09/2010

Last year on vacation we visited a pretty house…a pretty White House.

white house

This year for vacation we decided to visit Pennsylvania and see where democracy started. 

IMG_4240

We explored the traditional stuff and then decided to stop in Reading Terminal Market before heading home.  We’d been walking for a bit and needed something to drink…

IMG_4260IMG_4261

and some sweet treats for the ride home.

IMG_4200IMG_4262

There was a bit of a protest going on outside the market and I ran walked the opposite direction.  After a nasty experience with a protest in NYC a few years back and I’m not to keen on repeating it.  Hunni however was extremely interested.  He saw people running and shouting and decided to check it out.  I was having none of it. 

Turns out it was a good screaming not bad.  A special visitor decided to pop into Philly for a quick hello.

IMG_4247IMG_4248

Yes that is who you think it is.  It really is President Barack Obama.  Hunni was thisclose to touching him as the president reached out to shake a man’s hand.  Lots of fuzzy pictures later (Hunni’s quote: “The dude moves fast!”) we had a great story to tell.  We made a million phone calls on the ride home.

Oh yeah and I got my coffee.  I had to ask a nice secret service man if I could go the opposite direction of the president and through a barricade to get my latte. 

IMG_4253

What can I say…I needed caffeine.  The agent was very nice and the back of the president’s head was lovely 🙂

IMG_4252

Not a bad day in Philly.  I’ll recap the rest of the fun later this week 😀

Now off to see if I can catch what is was about on the news! IMG_4259Have you ever seen the president up close?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. jennas1978 permalink
    20/09/2010 6:06 PM

    They just covered in on ABC. 🙂

  2. 20/09/2010 6:09 PM

    oooh So Very Exciting. I have never seen a president in person… Bill Clinton came to Jason’s school years ago… 🙂

  3. Dan R permalink
    20/09/2010 6:31 PM

    I haven’t been that close to the President. But I did shake former NY Gov. George Pataki’s hand at a county fair and met former Rep. Amo Houghton in D.C. (Both while they were still in their respective positions.)

  4. 20/09/2010 8:00 PM

    OMG! You saw Obama! I’m a million times jealous!

    He came to my gym that I worked at during the campaign, but I didn’t get to be there. 😦

    • 20/09/2010 10:05 PM

      Yeah it was pretty crazy and cool and awesome. I was in awe at him just being there. 🙂

  5. actorsdiet permalink
    20/09/2010 8:55 PM

    cool! when i went to my 10 year college reunion obama was the commencement speaker and we saw him there, but not nearly as close as you got!

    • 20/09/2010 11:08 PM

      Wow having him as the commencement speaker is pretty awesome. I didn’t go to a big school so we don’t get big names like that.

  6. 20/09/2010 9:24 PM

    I have actually gotten to see Obama a couple of times before he became president. I saw him with Oprah once. And then the other time I saw him speak at a really small venue and got to shake his hand and get his autograph. He’s way attractive in person. haha

  7. 21/09/2010 12:39 AM

    Whoa! How cool!

    Definitely a story to tell the kids and grandkids someday, right? 🙂

    • 21/09/2010 12:48 AM

      Definitely! Blogs are great for that so I can actually show them the pics some day too 🙂

  8. 21/09/2010 9:55 AM

    ooh, so exciting!

  9. Chelle permalink
    21/09/2010 1:14 PM

    That is so cool!!

  10. 21/09/2010 4:46 PM

    SO cool! When I worked as a reporter, I got to interview a lot of politicians. I’ve never met a sitting prime minister, but I have interviewed two former ones, a handful of sitting cabinet members and all the other current federal party leaders. The best part that there was an agency who would pay me a 100 bucks a pop for raw tape of the interviews so they could transcribe them. Talking to federal politicians was a sweet bonus in more ways than one! 😉

  11. 22/09/2010 2:40 PM

    that’s near where I live 🙂

  12. 27/09/2010 9:59 PM

    I lived in DC for seven years, so I met/interviewed lots of politicians–Obama actually lived in my building when he first became a senator! He apparently worked out in our building gym, but this is before I worked out. I also went to President Bush’s second inauguration!

    • 29/09/2010 9:37 AM

      Wow that sounds amazing to be so close to them. You had an awesome experience and still do 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Multitasking Mishaps + Goals | It All Changes
  2. Philly Files « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

