Skip to content

College Food Fun

01/09/2010

In college my diet consisted of Velveeta Shell & Cheese, Snickers Ice Cream bars and IBC Root Beer by the case.  Thanks Momma for your free BJ’s membership.  I didn’t have to eat in the dining hall everyday 😀 Let’s just agree that this might have something to do with the four years of weight gain and misery.

If you look in my fridge right now you’d think I was still stuck in college mode.

IMG_3723

When Hunni and I complained we had nothing to eat this week…we weren’t kidding.  I randomly wandered the grocery store picking up enough stuff to last until vacation.

IMG_3724

I think I can survive amidst the many trips for work and fun, fun, fun until then!

A week ago Hunni and I had lots of fun pretending to go back-to-school.  Being good “college students” we scoped out the food, of course.  If this kind of food had existed in my little college town I might have ventured outside the blue box.

First stop was Tunnel City Coffee for brunch.  Sleeping in left us hangry.

IMG_3526

Coffee, cookies and fruit cups, oh my!

IMG_3516 IMG_3517 IMG_3518

Hunni channeled his inner child by having a cookie for breakfast. IMG_3520

I opted for a latte and fruit and yogurt parfait.  Who doesn’t love foam art on their coffee?  Another thing to love is the home-made granola to add to the last little bit of yogurt.

IMG_3522 IMG_3523

After a morning exploring the beautiful campus buildings and a bit of shopping we worked up quite an appetite.  The place to be for lunch at Williams College is definitely Pappa Charlie’s Deli on Spring Street.

IMG_3607

You need to know how to order in this place.  The options are endless and the staff is quick.

IMG_3600IMG_3601IMG_3603

Kind of like Starbucks.  Instead of my Grande Solo Soy Latte with one pump of Pumpkin Spice (is it fall already?)…I had to know how to order my Olympia Dukakis.  Feta, avocado, lettuce, tomato, and sprouts on a pita hold the house dressing in case you should visit 🙂IMG_3617

Hunni went a stranger route…Dr. Strange Pork to be exact.

IMG_3604IMG_3605

We eat on Spring Street A LOT for crazy cuisine and great vegetarian fare thanks to the college kids.  Mary Tyler Moore once visited Pappa Charlie’s deli and corrected the menu item named for her.

IMG_3602

We left home for our back-t0-school date but we live in a college town too.  Guess I can pretend I never grew up after all?  Our favorite place in town is a cute little coffee shop called Brewhaha.  You know you order coffee too often when the barista sees me or Hunni coming and make my coffee before we order.  Might want to try saving money and make more coffee at home.

In addition my morning coffee it is a great place for lunch meetings…or just escaping the office.  Their unique and often organic options don’t make me sick!  Such a plus in my book.

IMG_3503 IMG_3504

Hunni always orders the pancake the size of his head plate with lots of real Massachusetts maple syrup.

IMG_3505

I shake it up a bit often ordering from Vegans Take Over the World section.  For breakfast the other day I ordered a veggie sausage bagel reminiscent of random road trips in college.

IMG_3506

My small little community offers awesome college food for those of us with Peter Pan Syndrome.  Food is so much more fun when I look past the Subway on every corner around here and enjoy the local inexpensive tastiness that the Berkshires have to offer.

What kind of food did you eat in college?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/09/2010 10:34 PM

    That does look like a complicated menu…but a yummy one! In college I ate a lot of pasta from the dining hall my freshman year. Then the other years I ate a lot of my mom’s meals because I lived at home.

  2. 01/09/2010 10:43 PM

    In college I ate a lot of salads. It’s when I first started getting healthy and salad was my best friend.

    • 02/09/2010 10:12 AM

      I went the salad route occasionally but ruined them with loads of cheese, tons of dressing and anything else I could add on top. 🙂 Good for you for making the healthy choices.

  3. 02/09/2010 5:54 PM

    College was not a very healthy time for me. It wasn’t so much what I ate, but how much I ate.

    Breakfast was almost always a sausage, egg and cheese sammie on a buttery croissant with hash browns and a bowl of cereal.

    My typical lunch was 2 hot entrees, a deli sandwich, a cup of soup, a loaded-up salad and a cookie or muffin for dessert.

    Dinner was usually two helpings of pasta with some sort of creamy sauce, a loaded-up salad w/ fatty dressing and soft serve with tons of toppings.

    No surprise that I gained the freshman 30 and then 10-15lbs. each year after that.

Leave a Reply

