Skip to content

Back to School

29/08/2010

Call me crazy but I loved back-to-school as a kid.  While the rest of the kids lamented the end of summer, I was looking forward to shopping for new clothes, new school supplies and getting my schedule to compare with friends. Totally fun! 

I blame Momma.   Every summer she gave us enrichment work so we wouldn’t lose everything the teachers had crammed into our heads during the school year.  She couldn’t help it…her degree was in education and my brother and I were her star pupils.  It wasn’t until years later I saw how smart she really was when I taught middle/high school foreign language and spent the first two weeks of every year reviewing the things I taught last year.

But I digress.  I still love back-to-school even if I don’t actually go…uh…back-to-school.  I spend summers working in my office that seamlessly lead to fall but that doesn’t stop me from pretending to be a student. 😀

Hunni and I live near two college campuses and are mistaken for college students almost on a daily basis.  Why not take advantage of it and explore the campus as the new students move in?  I’m a geek…I’ll admit it.  So is Hunni though…we used our date day to wander around Williams College campus and pretend we were new students. 

The best part of college campuses in my not-so-humble opinion is the architecture of the buildings.  Williams does not disappoint in this arena.

 IMG_3564 IMG_3565 IMG_3566

The chapel has a tower that reminds me of the Giralda at the Cathedral in Sevilla, Spain.  The sight of it brings back great memories of my own college days studying and exploring Spain.  I love the details that make the Giralda and the Williams Chapel unique.

IMG_3563 IMG_3594 IMG_3578

Ivy screams old buildings and college campuses.  Maybe that’s why places like Yale and Harvard are the Ivy League.  The Administrative Building on Houghton College’s Campus (my alma mater…Go Highlanders!) was covered in ivy; until they said it was destroy the century old building and took it all down. 

IMG_3572IMG_3573IMG_3574

The beautifully odd angles and history of all the buildings inspired us to just sit back and relax.

IMG_3569

Nothing better than being a college student for the day.  Especially when this is your view relaxing on the quad.

IMG_3570The best part is we didn’t have to read any textbooks for homework 🙂

Do you like back to school?  Do you miss being a student?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 29/08/2010 9:30 PM

    I always loved going back to school. My favorite time of year. I absolutely miss being a student!

  2. 30/08/2010 3:04 AM

    I loved back to school time. And I do miss it!

    I plan on being there this time next year!!

    Also, that campus is beautiful!

  3. 30/08/2010 6:55 PM

    oh my GOD i miss school, but not the academic part of it. i just went to my ten year college reunion…two years ago…man it feels like yesterday still that i was a freshman!

  4. 30/08/2010 10:38 PM

    i always loved back to school time as a child too…and this year i AM going back to school. i’m starting grad school in 2 days! eek! it’s just like being back in junior high, my stomach is tied in a knot of excitement and nervousness. but unlike when i was 12 i don’t have anyone willing to take me shopping for cute new clothes. 😉

    • 30/08/2010 11:12 PM

      Take yourself! I love back to school so much I’m thinking about taking a class soon 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. College Food Fun | It All Changes
  2. “Real” Blogging Lessons | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

