Skip to content

Exercise a-go-go

28/08/2010

I’m camping this weekend for a work conference which really means I’m staying in this room….

IMG_3716

in Air Conditioning.  Yeah, I know, that’s not real camping but I’m not a big fan of sleeping on the ground and going without a shower for more than a day.  I did plenty of that in college and prefer the hard mattress and flat pillows of the conference center for work. 🙂

Not only am I out-of-town , I’m on someone else’s schedule which has me completely out of my element.  Be here, do this, do that…so much fun ::snort::.  I make my own schedule and add in exercise when I want.  Such is the beauty of my job.  I may work 12 hours a day but I can take a break to hit the pool or gym for an hour.  Not this weekend. Instead I planned very carefully to get in any activity not outlined on the minute by minute schedule.

If you are new around this little corner of the blog world, I’m fairly injury prone and I’m injured as we “speak”.  This time it’s a calf tear after an exhilarating 10K race.  After trials with Physical Therapy I’m on strict orders to do no “formal” exercise until my follow up appointment with the Sports Medicine Doctor on Tuesday.  Knowing me they outlined this as no running, biking, hiking etc…but I can walk.  I double checked and it’s a-okay.  Lucky for me the location for this “camping” trip involves lots of walking.

These shoes are made for walking…

Rocking the pink.

an that’s just what they’ll do.  To limit the pain they’ll be joined by this pretty little sleeve that actually goes on my calf, not my arm. IMG_3717

New music downloaded to my iPod with my nifty new computer (my last downloads were two years ago!) and some yoga pants round out the ensemble for enjoying a nice walk around Camp Wonderland.  🙂  I purposely did not pack my running clothes, Heart Rate Monitor, and back brace.  Those three things signal running to my brain.  Without them I’ll walk my little heart out or at least until my calf gives up.

I may not be able to get in my traditional workouts due to injury but that’s been going on since April.  Instead I’ll move more and feel better.  Fresh air and beautiful scenery might even help with my insomnia.

I better run…uh walk…to my next meeting so that I can get the most out of this conference.

Do you exercise on work trips?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/08/2010 10:15 AM

    A calf tear?!?! That must have been extremely painful. I’m so sorry. Glad to hear that you can atleast walk and it sounds like you are using that up to its fullest. Enjoy the new scenary!

    • 28/08/2010 1:47 PM

      To describe the pain would require some words I don’t let into my vocabulary. But I am using the fact I can walk to its fullest. Thanks 🙂

  2. 28/08/2010 10:32 AM

    When I had a ‘real’ job I always tried to swim when I was on work trips. Of course, that was only possible with a swimming pool. Sometimes I had to treadmill in a mini-gym.
    Now I work on my own I walk, and when I am away do Pilates.

    • 28/08/2010 2:10 PM

      I love having the pools in the hotels too but feel bad when kids are swimming. I’ve done plenty of yoga in hotel rooms. I hate mini gyms at hotels though.

  3. 28/08/2010 10:17 PM

    i can’t do “real” camping. AC sounds nice!

Trackbacks

  1. Photo of the Weekend + Goals | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

