Skip to content

Grilled Fruit Quesadilla

24/08/2010

I teased you yesterday…sorry.  You’ll be glad you showed up today…I promise.  Just trust me.  You can trust this face, can’t you?

IMG_3239 Recipes grow out of thin air when I want a sweet treat and have a peach and banana about to kick the bucket.  This creation hit the spot!

You will need:

(Otherwise known as grab what you have in the kitchen)

  • 1 spotted banana — spots are sweet kisses 🙂
  • 1 peach
  • Whatever remains in your almond butter jar.  I’m serious…add as much as you want!
  • 2 Whole wheat tortillas
  • Cinnamon!

IMG_3626

Slice banana and peach gently as they fall apart.  This only applies if you leave the fruit in the bowl until they almost attract flies. Guilty as charged.

IMG_3628

Add cinnamon liberally because everyone needs a little spice in their life.

Meanwhile heat up George.

IMG_3627

Grill the heck out of the peaches until the juice runs away.  Remove the peaches before they get the same idea and then drink the juice from the tray. (Sorry no picture because I was trying to chase the runaway juice)

Stare longingly into the bottom of your almond butter jar and wish you had Vermont PB to add.

IMG_3629

Darn stuff taunts my every visit to the co-op.

IMG_3561

Scrape every last speck of Almond Butter on tortilla and pray.  Add grilled peaches and banana slices with more cinnamon for the extra bite.

IMG_3631

Top with second tortilla and add to George.  He’ll leave nice grill marks to let you know he’s done.  Do NOT clean grill after peaches because the extra peach-iness make it that much better.

IMG_3632Devour!  Oh stop first to take a picture for the blog, then devour!

IMG_3634

Sweet treat for the sugar-impaired.  Don’t know why I didn’t do this sooner.

What is your favorite sweet treat?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/08/2010 1:59 PM

    So this is what you were speaking of the other night! I actually just made dessert quesadillas last night. But mine are a bit more lethal. 😉

    • 24/08/2010 2:25 PM

      I have to be careful with lethal because sugar is my nemesis. But these were delicious!

  2. 24/08/2010 2:22 PM

    YUM! My kids would love those and so would I! I have a chocolate sweet tooth so I’m more of a chocolate cookie/brownie girl.

    • 24/08/2010 3:08 PM

      They are so good. I’ve become really creative with sweet things since my diagnosis. Even Hunni, Peanut and Leo were sniffing in my direction 🙂

  3. 24/08/2010 6:03 PM

    That’s awesome! I love the grilled fruit idea… and a quesadilla too? YUM.

    • 24/08/2010 6:26 PM

      Grilled fruit is the love of my life right now…next to Hunni of course 🙂 Try Pineapple!

  4. 25/08/2010 9:50 AM

    yum, yum, yum! I love grilled peaches.

Trackbacks

  1. Relishments » Highlights: Peaches

Leave a Reply

