Skip to content

Polenta Remake

17/08/2010

My boring grain life of brown rice, couscous and barley became a whole new world when I discovered polenta.  Fun new food and combinations to explore.  Great upper arm workout while stirring and for rest days I buy the tube.  Can anything be more perfect?

Polenta was my vacation companion for quick vegetarian meals.  Much better option than my scale.  I present my Top Chef version of Polenta two ways.  😀

Polenta with Fire Roasted Tomatoes & “Cheese

  • 1 Tube Olive Oil & Basil
  • Olive oil spray
  • 1 Can Fire Roasted Tomatoes
  • 1 cup Daiya “cheese

1. Heat pan on medium-high heat and add olive oil spray.

2. Slice tube polenta in 10 – 1/2 slices.  Add to pan and brown for 8 minutes each side.

3.  Add canned fire roasted tomatoes slightly drained. Heat for 2 minutes.

3.5 Pre-heat broiler on low.  I love the blue flame…hot!

4. Top with cheese and place under broiler until crispy.  You’ll know its done when the “cheese” feels crispy.  Daiya doesn’t completely brown.

5.  Slice and serve.  Feeds 4…or one for me and the rest for Hunni 🙂

Dinner is served!

Up next is polenta remake.  Living in Whole Foods for a week (love free wi-fi) I made my own Roni challenge with new ingredients…to me.  Meet the grown up-local version.

Polenta with Heirloom Tomatoes & Aged Goat Cheese

  • 1 tube olive oil spiced polenta
  • 2 Heirloom Tomatoes
  • 1/4 pound Aged Goat Cheese

Repeat steps 1 and 2.

3.  Slice heirloom tomatoes and admire the colors.  Add to top of browned polenta.

4. Slice carefully chosen local cheese into wedges and arrange on top.

4.5 Taste the moon and gasp at the deliciousness…then add more to top of polenta!

5.  Brown and resist the urge to eat from pan before serving to guests.  Serves 4.

Pure perfection!

Polenta two ways was just perfect!  Who cares if I ate the same meal twice in one week…who’s going to stop me 🙂

What is the best new food you’ve found?


13 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    17/08/2010 1:00 PM

    these look fantastic! My grandma always served polenta with gravy (aka tomato sauce). These seem like nice plays on that peasant food. I have some polenta in the cabinet, AND will be picking some heirlooms this week(end). I’m going to have to try this.

    • 17/08/2010 2:38 PM

      I love quick easy food. The first was because I nothing in the house. Hunni begged me to make it again.

      I love the peasant food fact. So fun!

  2. 17/08/2010 1:50 PM

    That looks delicious! Thanks for that recipe 🙂 I’ll definitely be using it in the future.

  3. 17/08/2010 10:26 PM

    I love polenta! That recipe looks amazing!

  4. 17/08/2010 10:40 PM

    AH Cyprus Grove is my favorite!!! Have you ever had Humbolt Fog—mmmmm. This looks FANTASTIC!

    • 17/08/2010 11:15 PM

      It is great. I love a local one better but this was great! I will have to try the other one you mentioned 😉

  5. 18/08/2010 5:24 PM

    I didn’t know about Healthy Living blogs but I just got done sending the email! Thanks for mentioning it 🙂

  6. 18/08/2010 9:32 PM

    I can’t get myself to like polenta, but you sure make it look good!

    • 18/08/2010 10:02 PM

      For me it’s all in the seasoning. Plain polenta is not my friend. Add some spices or cheese it is perfect!

Trackbacks

  1. Things are a Changing Around Here | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

