Skip to content

Grilled Banana Sandwiches

12/08/2010

One of the many things blogging has taught me is a love for real, whole foods.  No more packaged crap although it does pop up occasionally…just the less crappy versions.  I learned basic foods I thought were boring can be marvelous creations with a little bit of flair and pizzaz.  Yes I just used the word pizzaz. 😀

My list of recipes seen on blogs keeps growing as I frantically cross things off.  Blogger recipes give me great ideas but then I have to be creative.  Although something looks great in a picture often the ingredients will not mesh with my IBS stomach.  I spend a good bit of time plotting and planning my recreations.

Last year during Healthy Living Summit Tina took a bunch of bloggers to a place called Mike and Patty’s in Boston.  The sandwich looked divine except the ingredient list.  Sugar and butter can often be my nemesis. When Tina posted her How-To I knew I had my problems solved.  To the kitchen I went.

I intended to use my local honey but it was near empty.  So I scraped out the last bits with a piece banana.

Waste not want not 🙂

Cynthia’s Grilled Banana Sandwich (Inspired by Mike and Patty’s and Tina’s)

Makes 2 sandwiches

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp agave syrup
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp unsalted butter
  • 4 slices bread of choice
  • 2 bananas, sliced
  • 2 tbsp Almond Butter of choice
  • Olive oil spray

Combine first 4 ingredients to make a slurry.  It will look strange but taste wonderful.  Then set it aside.

Slice two bananas into 1/2 inch rounds or on the diagonal.  Be sure to pick the bananas with the cutest stickers.

Heat a large saute pan on medium heat.  Spray with olive oil mister and melt butter.

Once melted add banana slices to brown and soften.  Flip half-way through to get the crust on both sides.  They need a while which gives you time for the other steps.

A few got extra-crispy.

Meanwhile spread slurry mixture evenly on one side of each of the 4 pieces of bread.

No exact sciences or measures.  Just pour it on and slather to cover.  Add them to another preheated and oil misted pan.  Be careful not to cook to long or you’ll have burnt toast.

To hide the burnt toast On Hunni’s sandwich I added some Almond Butter.  Nothing better than nut butters and bananas right?  I added some time mine too because it tasted so darn good.

When your toast and bananas are done…Assemble.  If you are like me you’ll cut them on the diagonal which makes all sandwiches taste better.  Mom knew best.

My masterpiece!

Since no dinner is complete without dessert (yes we ate these for dinner)…I dove into the freezer to find some more fruit.

DINNER!

I have no idea if the creation did the Patty and Mike’s version justice but it worked in our house and will probably be dinner tomorrow again after looking through the pictures 🙂

Do you remake dishes you’ve had in restaurants?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/08/2010 10:23 AM

    These look DELICIOUS! I’ve also been on a ‘if it’s packaged, I don’t eat it’ kick (with exceptions, of course, especially with my penchant for eating out!).

    Lately I’ve felt like adding olive oil to anything sweet gives it a weird flavor and have switched to canola oil (for only sweet stuff, anything savory or breads, etc. still get olive oil). Have you not found that?

    Oh, and congrats on your weight loss!

    • 12/08/2010 10:27 AM

      I lived in Spain for a semester where they used nothing but olive oil so I’m used to it. I like the fruity flavor of the olives.

      Thanks for the congrats!

Trackbacks

  1. When Dinner Escapes You | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

