Skip to content

Eat the Rainbow

10/08/2010

Fruity, yummy, colorful Skittles.  But they are loaded with sugar.  One of my favorite candies is now my nemesis.  With every commercial with open mouths receiving rainbows of skittles I miss their sweet goodness.

Instead of dwelling on the lack of skittles in my mouth, I sought a way to taste my own rainbow.  Enter the salad bar.

Ruby Tuesday was my favorite chain restaurant pre weight loss for their Chicken Sonora Pasta.  Cheesey, spicy, beany goodness!  I devoured the entire bowl on every visit.  Uh not so good for my digestive goodness.  Post weight loss I avoided Ruby Tuesdays for a long time.  Then it dawned on me…they have an all-you-can-eat salad bar.  Let’s be honest its no Whole Foods Salad bar but at least they don’t charge me by the pound.  My wallet appreciates the change of pace.

Date night was my chance to taste the Ruby Tuesday Salad Bar rainbow.  The options were almost endless and I could make several trips.  Veggies, veggies and more veggies.

Just a sampling.

For some reason salad bar salads just taste better.  Ingredients I could never dream of keeping at home leap on my plate as I drool until I can sink in my fork.  Craisins…of course.  Beets…Oh definitely.  Zucchini, peppers, mushrooms and so much more.  Please don’t forget the sprinkle of cheese…yes please.  Just in case you need a bit more flavor channel your inner Meg Ryan and get the dressing on the side.

I did not need it.

In these wonderful summer months rainbow salads are so easy to create at home with in season veggies.  Farmer’s market salads in mixing bowls are staples for at home lunches.  When cool weather sets in I’ll be back at the salad bar tasting the rainbow.

What is your favorite salad bar topping?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/08/2010 7:46 AM

    I used to always order the Sonora Chicken Pasta there, too. Now the salad bar makes my mouth water.

    I’m not sure if I could pick a favorite topping. The zucchini straws maybe? The edamame? Of course there’s always the cheese & croutons, but I try to go easy on those. 🙂

    • 10/08/2010 8:40 AM

      Hunni never has to ask twice if I want to go there when we are at the mall. The combinations are endless 🙂

  2. 10/08/2010 2:08 PM

    Hahaha, I FINALLY saw When Harry Met Sally recently.

  3. 10/08/2010 5:17 PM

    Is it weird that my favorite salad topping is beans? Beans, beans, beans. And recently bell peppers, which I’ve never liked until now!

    • 11/08/2010 2:32 PM

      Beans are not weird. I add kidney or black beans to every salad even at home. Great source of protein and uh fiber 🙂

  4. 10/08/2010 5:45 PM

    I love Ruby Tuesday’s salad bar! So big with such great things. And I agree. The only way salads I make taste good are from a salad bar. Otherwise they are the best when other people make them.

    • 11/08/2010 2:31 PM

      Yes when others make them they are good too. Otherwise I guess I don’t have enough toppings available.

  5. 13/08/2010 3:12 PM

    It’s embarrassing but I love croutons. LOL I could totally eat a handful of croutons like they were chips. 😉

    • 14/08/2010 11:18 AM

      Eating the foods you love is important. I don’t like stale bread or really crunchy things (soft teeth). But I love crunchy veggies 🙂

Leave a Reply

