Skip to content

Bag Lady + Goals

09/08/2010

Just call me a bag lady.  I’ve been obsessed since a friend bought me a Cotton On bag on study abroad in Australia.  It was my lunch bag as I started my Healthy Living Journey.  I stuffed in Tupperware for my breakfast, snacks and lunch…even dinner if I had a long day ahead.  Other teachers poked fun at my “lunch bag.”  It was the first US reusable bag although I’d used many during my European childhood.

The obsession has exploded.  I keep a large collection of reusable shopping bags in my van.  Then there are the others for everything else.

Gym bags should be fun.  The pink is the sweat-my-butt-off-at-the-gym bag.  The brown and blue is smelly-chlorine-pool bag.

No bag collection is complete without the classic LL Bean bag used mostly as my portable blogging office.

I know, I know.  I need a protective sleeve for my computer.  I’ll get a cool polka dot one when I get my new computer…until then I’m in the danger zone.

*Confession: The photo is staged.  I was using the camera that goes in the pink case.  I was listening to Pandora on my computer so that is Hunni’s.  Honestly the bag never looks that clean…often a sweatshirt and my purse are shoved in…but you get the idea.*

Speaking of my purse…I do own one or several.  This orange one is my favorite.

However 9 times out of 10 this is my purse…

It hold much more than my cute mock-crock.  At any given point I’ll have 2 water bottles, my phone, two wallets (personal and work), multiple pens, notebooks, and all the chapsticks I’ve lost.  I bet Trader Joe’s didn’t know they made purses 🙂

Thursday at TODAY I got a new fun bag.  Sabrina gave me this one…

It's her business card.

Her blog name and URL really stand out on the red.  This won’t get lost like a traditional business card…Great idea!  It’s my favorite new book bag.

Literally!

This week is vacation so my bags are packed and ready to go.  No packing just a suitcase…I’m the bag lady.

My bags are packed and I'm ready to go!

Last Week’s Goal:

  • Finish Guest Posts. My major guest posts are done and I have a few more ideas in the works.  I worked hard and this week I’ll be working more while Hunni naps 🙂
  • Operation Beautiful Cheerleaders. I prepared the perfect sign on Wednesday and traveled to NYC with Becca on Thursday.  After Caitlin rocked TODAY we explored the city for the afternoon of fun.  I would consider it an Operation Beautiful Success.
  • Bust out the big report. Uh oh!  No go!  Monday was crazy and so was the rest of the week.  I’m on vacation this week but I’ll have time to get it done and sent off in time.  It’s my fault but it was totally worth it.
  • Be Jane Fonda and Dara Torres. Boot Camp Steve shot this idea to bits.  After feeling great on Monday after PT it all went downhill. I couldn’t move…my legs were so tight.  No more exercise allowed until after vacation.  There will be lots of walking and stretching but no hiking or anything.  😦
  • Grocery Shop! I did a few mini shopping trips but no big trip.  I forgot about upcoming vacation when I set this goal.  We will do some shopping for vacation because we are staying with friends who don’t cook (ie they eat McDonald’s and Pizza most days).  I’m bringing some of our staples like whole wheat pasta and oatmeal. We’ll pick up the rest in Connecticut.This Week’s Goals:
  • Rest and Relax. We’re visiting friends this week before they move to Pennsylvania.  While they are working we’ll go walking, sleep in (Hunni) and blog (me).  There is that pesky report…if I get it done tomorrow AM I’ll really be really relaxed.
  • Read! I love to read but I’ve been so busy between work, blogging and trips lately I havent’ read a page.  My book bag is going with me and I’m taking time each day to read…this should be relaxing.
  • Explore fun little towns. Our friends live in a cute little town Emily showed me a bit of a few weeks back while visiting.  Now I want to explore with Hunni since it is one of our favorite things 🙂
  • Keep up with blogging. I want to share some of our experiences with ya’ll as well as some of the wonderful recipes I’ve been making lately.  I’ve been hiding them in my camera and they are almost ready for their début.  Watch out they are fierce!
8 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/08/2010 10:28 AM

    Loooove all your bags. In all my decluttering I had to get rid of most of mine and I miss them! I love to carry books and things in them. And I really like Sabrina’s! That’s such a good idea for a blog.

    • 09/08/2010 3:27 PM

      Thanks! The best thing I like about them is that they are all easily folded that I can just throw them in one small tote when I move. But you are moving to NZ so that might make it a bit harder 🙂

      Sabrina’s is an ingenious idea. I want to use it someday.

  2. 09/08/2010 4:24 PM

    Love all your bags! I can totally relate to what you’re saying!

    • 09/08/2010 4:34 PM

      Thanks Jess. I love them too. If I see a cute one I can use for something I snap it up 🙂

  3. 09/08/2010 6:23 PM

    This was a really timely post for me. I just went through my bags earlier in the week while cleaning my closet and trying to decide what to take to the charity shop. I have a ton, but I couldn’t stand to part with any of them! They’re each unique and useful in their own way.

    Your post also inspired me to start using my reusable grocery totes again, starting with the grocery today. I forgot how much more convenient they were because they hold so much more than a grocery bag which means fewer trips into the house.

    • 10/08/2010 8:44 AM

      Aww thanks Katie. Hunni has asked in the past why I have so many and then I remind him of all we used them for and he is very happy to keep them around.

      You are so right about them holding more groceries and we use the to transport things at other times so they serve a dual purpose 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Scale Left Behind | It All Changes
  2. I Believe I Can Fly | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

