Skip to content

Where Did the Time Go?

01/08/2010

Oh me, oh my…my little blog is all grown up.  I started this as a challenge with a few Weight Watchers friend last April.  Now its my favorite hobby and has grown to over 4000 hits in one month.  Thank you so much for reading my ramblings and nonsense mixed in with Healthy Living.  It’s been a fun ride and I’m not about to get off.

On New Year’s Eve I set some goals for 2010.  Not New Year’s Resolutions because no one ever keeps those, right?  It seems I like goals…weekly goals, 101 in 1001 days goals and exercise goals.  I even like to read other people’s goals…An addiction maybe?

Normally I check in regularly with my goals, but I haven’t reviewed my goals for 2010 since the end of February…the 28th to be exact.  The wonders of a blog…you can see everything.  Two-thirds of the way through, I think it’s time for a check up.

10 Things to Look Forward to in 2010

  • Run a 10K and a Half-Marathon. I finished the 10K and record time…you can set a record the first time you run a race.  Unfortunately I tore my calf in the process.  That K.O.’d my half-marathon plans.  Better luck next year.  I’m hoping to make it to the starting line of my local Turkey Trot…hopefully the finish line too.  Do you think I could still sneak into the Philly Half-Marathon Expo? 😉
  • Practice Yoga more regularly. The only yoga in It All Changes world are the stretches my PT has ordered given me.  I want to be a regular yogini but I hate DVD’s and the local studio isn’t so great.  Soon I’ll have my iPod back and download some podcasts.  Until then I’ll stick to the PT version.
  • Date nights! My favorite!  Blueberry picking, movies, outlet shopping…Fun times!  We’re not your traditional couple so we don’t go on your traditional dates.  Each time we cross something off our to-try list we add something to the bottom.
  • Make some good sugar-free desserts! Agave, schmave!  I keep a bottle on hand but I also have beet sugar, date sugar, local honey and bananas.  Desserts are a treat now instead of a punishment.  Bring on the recipes.
  • Allow myself some Pamper Me time. Pamper Me has taken on a whole new meaning.  Blogger meet up, girl time, and renewed love for reading have been keeping me busy and loving every minute.
  • Make some good couple friends. We have gone out to dinner with some couples and had fun.  We don’t do it often but it is fun.  Instead I’ve made some good girl friends when Hunni wants to be a hermit.
  • Take more pictures. Blogging has helped with this goal.  I go on photo binges.  Thanks to ThenHeatherSaid, I’ve taken one photo a day to make it a habit.
  • Eat more local and eco-friendly. Becoming a vegetarian helped with this…but that’s not why I’m a vegetarian.  I’m loving the farmer’s market for local food and eco-friendly choices.  Our budget is limiting sometimes but every little bit helps.
  • Live within our budget. Mvelopes wasn’t working for us.  It’s a great program but we didn’t have time to keep up with it.  We’ve changed up plans and are doing much better.  We had money for multiple vacations this year instead of the “close the office but still work” vacations we took last year.  And we have a mad money jar for a fun future trip.
  • Eat out less. My health/food issues required me to be more creative.  Cooking at home has introduced me to so many new flavors and recipes.  When we eat out we eat local and fresh.  It’s more expensive to eat out with my health so we do it less often.  I guess it is a blessing in disguise.

Not too bad.  It could be better, it could be worse.  Overall its the challenging myself that is important.  Otherwise I would just go through the motions.

How are you doing on your goals for 2010?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/08/2010 3:47 PM

    Sounds like you are doing great meeting your goals. I admit I didn’t write very specific goals this year, but I always feel behind.

    • 01/08/2010 3:54 PM

      If I hadn’t written specific ones I would just be flopping in the wind 🙂 Most years I say I’ll lose weight or exercise more and it is so vague. I used SMART goals this year.

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 Goals in Review « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

