Skip to content

Journey On

31/07/2010

I struggled with the ups and downs of weight loss.  I felt I had to choose to “do the right thing” instead of “what I wanted.”  As I shoveled chips by the handful I nearly gave up.  Did I want this life?  Was this for me?



I looked at the empty bag of chips and cried as I hugged my aching stomach.  I was unhappy and didn’t know which way to go?  Misery awaited in either direction; what I was giving up or giving into.  Both made me sick.



My journey needed a redirection and fast.  This wasn’t about weight loss; this was about me.  Quickly I listed the reason I wanted to be healthy and how they would make me happy.  This is my Healthy Living Journey.



  1. To be healthy! Plain and simple.  I wasn’t and I wanted it.
  2. To prevent the illnesses of my family. Heart disease, diabetes, depression, and high cholesterol; all related to unhealthy living.
  3. To care for my family. Hunni, Peanut and Leo and any children God gives us.  I desire to care for them and I need to be healthy to do so.
  4. Prevent further injury. Spinal fusion, torn ligaments, and muscle strains galore.  Caring for my total self will minimize the risk of spending my life in pain.
  5. Stabilize my bipolar disorder. Eating and exercising help with bipolar maintenance but Healthy living is more than that.  Good sleep patterns, reducing stress and anxiety, minimizing alcohol and stimulants like caffeine and living on a schedule all contribute to overall health.
  6. Energy! Healthy living provides energy to do my job, love my family and just be me.  It helps to recharge my batteries instead of draining them.
  7. To be in control. Binge eating, restriction, over exercising, self-mutilation were all symptoms that I was out of control.  They were all an attempt to gain control the control I was swiftly losing.  Healthy Living put that control back in my hands and mine alone.
  8. Strength! Mental, physical, emotional strength!  They are all connected in me and to my healthy lifestyle choices.  I am strong!
  9. To ENJOY LIFE! I was miserable…absolutely miserable.  I didn’t eat out without knowing the point values; I couldn’t have fun until I had my 60 minutes workout; No snacks; no sweets; no fun!  Instead of living I was barely surviving.  I needed a change in order to live.



I typed the list and added pictures to remind me it was about living, not about trudging through. One copy is posted next to my desk for the rough days at work and one in my kitchen when I want to punish myself with food.

Happy Healthy Living Journey!

This is my life and I want to live it!  My decisions make me happy for the long-term and no berating myself when I’m not perfect.  My list reminds me this is not a diet or a fad…this is my journey; My Healthy Living Journey.



What are your reasons for healthy living?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 31/07/2010 12:01 PM

    absolutely – the less power these “set backs” have on you the more you are living the life you want.

  2. 31/07/2010 4:37 PM

    For so long I thought I had to be perfect — I was either ON the diet or completely OFF the plan. There was no moderation — I either avoided junk or all I ate was junk. You mentioned something about point values — were you a weight watcher? I was, and I continue to struggle to eat certain foods because of their “high point value” — instead of eating them moderately for their high nutritional value!

    My reasons for healthy living: for myself, to live longer and better, for my husband, for any children we may have, for my family, to take care of the body God gave me.

    I’m so glad I found your blog!

    • 31/07/2010 5:43 PM

      I still am a weight watcher but I’ve learned to balance foods and eat healthy instead of just eating for points values. I love food and I want to enjoy it. Weight watchers actually helped me find a balance between the diet and lifestyle

      I associate good for me high point foods with an investment piece of clothing. Avocado will benefit me in the long run while ice cream won’t. I’ll take the avocado.

  3. 31/07/2010 6:24 PM

    You rock, Cynthia! It’s all going to start to change, RIGHT NOW. You’ve got the reins to your own life, your own direction. You go, girl!

    • 31/07/2010 7:25 PM

      Thanks Sophia. I wrote that list a little bit ago and it changed everything. My life isn’t the same.

  4. 31/07/2010 8:11 PM

    It is so great you’ve been staying positive and upbeat! Keep on keeping on. You can do this! Little steps add up to out of this world results. We can do this! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Chipotle Remix | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

