Skip to content

CDNY Blend Meet-ups

30/07/2010

I’ve been living in my own little corner of the blogging world in the Berkshires of Massachusetts thinking I was alone in this endeavour.  I only knew a few other bloggers as friends but I had met them before they had become bloggers. And we all love blogging just for the creative release of getting all the crazy, silly, inane ideas running around our heads out onto paper the internet.  But none of us really knew how to improve our blogs too much or in the case of my friend Sarah she knew way too much and made my head explode every time she talked about some new tip or trick that she had found to make blogging even better.



But then I met the girls of CDNY Eat, Drink, Blog.  Their first get together was held at Then Heather Said’s Apartment on a weekend I had to work (heck what weekend don’t I work as a pastor) so I didn’t get the chance to meet all the girls and taste some of Savvy Julie’s legendary scones.  I drooled over all the pictures on each of the girls recaps of their fun afternoon.



But God must have smiled at me because Becca and Heather were talking about getting together again for another meet-up last Friday at a cute coffee shop in Scotia.  I used to live 10 minutes from there so I knew the town and my friend’s sister owns the store.  What better reason to go…oh and of course to meet two bloggers I love reading everyday.  Yes I’m one of those people who can’t sleep unless my Google Reader is empty.



So last Friday Becca, Heather and I met at Expresso Therapy in Scotia for a mini-version of the CDNY Eat Drink Blog.

The lovelies.

There was definitely some blogging going on, lots of coffee (check out Becca’s blog for a funny experience with almost killing her blog with coffee) and a bit of eating with some super sweet cookies that Expresso Therapy is known for.



But we also had a funny guest to our meet up.  And he decided to tell us about his friend Johnnny Walker Red…

Crazy man signing in the coffee shop

Check out Becca’s You Tube post for just how crazy it was.  I had to hold back giggles the entire time because it was just so odd and we were the only audience there…except his half asleep fiancee.



But I got some great ideas on blogging and how to improve mine.  Honestly I needed three more lattes to keep up with all the info but I have a file on my computer of all the things we talked about and I’m working on the slowly but surely.  Darn day job gets in the way 🙂  These ladies were so helpful.  And besides the coffee shop was totally cute.  I can’t believe I hadn’t been before even though my friend Beth had been working there.  Check out these cute pictures.





Okay so maybe that was just our little corner of the shop where we set up blogging central 101 but it was so cozy and Jesse (the owner) made us feel completely comfortable throughout the entire thing.  And I won’t even get into the crazy twitter conversations we were having thought the night.  Just one of the best girl’s nights I’ve had in a while and it centered all around blogging.  Yeah!



Then some how by the grace of God I was able to meet up with not only Becca and Heather again this Monday but also Jen and Lauren.  The photo below for this meet up I pirated from Jen (with her permission of course) I didn’t have my camera because it was roasting my limo van.



This time we met up at the Muddy Cup in Schenectady to give ourselves a bit more space to spread out.  I had no idea this place existed the entire time I was in Schenectady on internship which would have been a big help with getting out of the office to get work done (kind of like today while I’m hiding out at the library) :-).  But we spend from 6.30pm until about 10pm talking about many different facets of blogging and seeing how others have done it and asking what we look for in blogs.  My blog to-do list grew another 10 feet by the end of this meeting.  But I made some crucial decisions that will mean I have to stay inside and avoid the natural vitamin D for a bit and keep taking my supplements as I update and modify my blog.   I’m so happy to have met these ladies who share a great passion of mine.

CDNY Blends!

I feel so much more competent as a blogger and I’m still learning as well as making some good friends.  Heather promises to blow my mind as soon as my new personal laptop arrives and I can get all the cool toys she has for her blog. I’m anxious and scared all at the same time. We all even have a trip in the works to take them to my Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s in my limo van as soon as we can work it into all our schedules. This should be a feat of magic 🙂  It is so amazing how this community bands together from near and far.



BTW I have an announcement.  I was prompted by Rosey Rebecca to make the hop, skip and jump to NYC next Thursday to see Caitlin for her appearance on the Today Show to promote her long-awaited Operation Beautiful Book.  So if you are going to be there send me an email or tweet.  I’ll be there with my big Operation Beautiful sign to remind me of the first time I saw one in NYC.  I’m so excited!



Have you ever met up with other bloggers?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. 30/07/2010 7:57 AM

    I’ve only met a couple of bloggers and it was fun! You feel like you have something in common right away. I’m glad you got to spend time together. It sounds like a blast!

    • 30/07/2010 11:43 AM

      That’s exactly it. There was no “uh what do we talk about” feeling.

      Who have you met?

  2. 30/07/2010 8:06 AM

    That sounds like fun! I’ve never met up with other bloggers, but my blog is not professional or even that good. I don’t have much time to put maintenance into it. When I write up an entry, I take less than 10 minutes to do it. Can’t wait to see what’s in store….

    • 30/07/2010 11:42 AM

      It’s okay Jenny! I enjoy your stories of all varieties and admire what you are doing.

  3. 30/07/2010 8:53 AM

    how fun! I wish there were more bloggers in my neck of the woods.

    TOTALLY wish I could go to NYC next week, but that’s too far for me. Have fun!

  4. actorsdiet permalink
    30/07/2010 1:01 PM

    i love blogger meetups! i am actually planning one in l.a. right now…

    • 30/07/2010 1:06 PM

      With all the great food you eat I’m sure you’ll have a great spread and get in some awesome talk.

  5. 30/07/2010 1:36 PM

    sounds like you had fun

Trackbacks

  1. Where Did the Time Go? | It All Changes
  2. Kale Chip Fun + Goals | It All Changes
  3. Announcements | It All Changes
  4. Things are a Changing Around Here | It All Changes
  5. Picking (but not your nose) | It All Changes
  6. Coffee 911 | It All Changes
  7. Just Like Clark… | It All Changes
  8. Ready, Set, Brew | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

