Skip to content

In Your Shoes

27/07/2010

I am a perpetual student.  I went from High School straight to college and then started working on my Masters in Education and now I’m starting to pursue my Masters of Divinity.  But I got the unique experience of being the teacher through all that study.  I taught High School Foreign language for two years.  And suddenly I was on the other side…the dark side.  The side where every student thinks you are 40 even if I had just graduated college at 22, live under my desk and never go shopping so they were shocked when they saw me at the grocery store, and couldn’t possible have any friends or even a boy friend.  Such a strange position to be in considering I had once seen my 9th grade English teacher in the grocery store and was shocked that she shopped for groceries and in jeans no less.



As I sit here and write a blog post everyday I have no idea what you think of them.  I love the comments and having friends tell me how much they like certain things but I don’t ever really get to experience your side of the post.  Sure I read other blogs but I’m experiencing them and how they are and how they touch me in different ways.  But I don’t really know how you experience me through my writing.  And honestly I write things that touch me or make me think and have no idea if you think or feel anything even remotely similar.



But Saturday I had the opportunity to sit in your shoes.  My Weight Watchers Leader Ann has become an avid reader of my blog.  I love the big hugs she gives me and tells me how much she enjoys the posts.  This is great motivation to me that someone is getting something out of what I’m writing.  But this Saturday was truly unique.  She asked to use my I WILL post in her meeting.  At first I was hesitant but then I realized it’s been read by at least 100 people already what is a few more on an early Saturday Weight Watchers meeting.  Besides I write these to be read.



But as I sat in my seat and listened to Ann read my list of things I WILL do and honestly meant, I wrote them I was tearing up.  I didn’t realize even how powerful the words I wrote would be to me to hear them out loud.  To see them from the other side.  Not as words I had written but as words that had been written by someone trying to live a healthy lifestyle in the positive and not the negative self talk that Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point talks about so eloquently.  It is such a struggle to tell myself the I WILL instead of the I WILL NOT (which I honestly wrote the day before when I was struggling).



Hearing my own words as if I hadn’t written them but as if someone had written them for me had a profound effect on how I view my own Weight Loss Journey and Healthy Living Lifestyle.  This is something for me to be proud of.  Proud of the fact that I’m sticking with it even with the ups and downs and proud of the fact that I can be so open and share it with you all so that it may help you in even the remotest of ways.  Words are powerful things and I should go back and read some of my old posts out loud to hear them in my own head instead of just as words on a page.



So funny to sit on the other side of the fence.  To be in your shoes the reader and see that blogging for me isn’t just for me anymore.  I benefit so much from this community and I’m so proud to be able to give back to this community through who I am and be proud of what I write.  So thank you Ann for letting me see ME from your perspective.



As bloggers do you think about how your post will affect your reader?  If you don’t blog what keeps you coming back to a blog?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 27/07/2010 11:13 AM

    It is really amazing to read your own words later on. We seem to write things and never take them in the way someone else does. I know when I’ve read things I wrote a while ago (even years ago), I’m surprised by my own words and feelings and have learned so much from it.

  2. ann rennie permalink
    27/07/2010 1:41 PM

    Ok I sat here and read this and got tears in my eyes. We never know how something we do or say or write will affect another person. I apreciate that you let me shair your posts with other people. Thanks Blessings Ann

    • 27/07/2010 1:59 PM

      Thank you Ann. It was nice to see it through other people’s eyes.

  3. Jenna permalink
    27/07/2010 4:23 PM

    *like*

Leave a Reply

