Skip to content

Savour It!

22/07/2010

I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again…I have a love affair with the Whole Foods Salad Bar.  It might just possibly be my favorite “restaurant” to eat at.  And I enjoy every bite…usually…tofu fries are gross.  And sometimes I even share the experience with Hunni. 🙂



But the only problem is that I start with the HUGE bowl the size of one of my mixing bowls and then just add whatever looks good to me at the time.  Let’s face it…it all looks good.  Marinated mushrooms, roasted beets, orzo salad, grains I’ve never even heard of, tofu of every flavor, and a ton of dressings that don’t hurt my stomach one bit.  What’s not to love.



But the salad bar is by weight…and everything adds up…to a lot.  I think the lowest I paid for my “salads” at Whole Foods was $16.  Heck not bad considering that would be about what I would pay for an entree at a restaurant anyway, right?  Some days are worse…I’ve had it up into the $20+ range when I added lots of roasted sweet potatoes and a few eggs.



But today I did something I’ve never done…I got it in under $10!  No really.  Here’s the receipt for proof.

Under by almost $2!

I did this by using a plate and sampling only the things I really wanted.  I got small “gobbetts” of the fun stuff I wanted and wished I could make at home.  In fact I’m going to attempt some soon enough because Whole Foods is nice enough to tell me what is in all of the dishes so I can make sure I don’t get sick.



I tend to look at the fact that it is all “healthy” and think that I can and should eat as much of it as I want instead of thinking logically about all portion control things I use at almost any other than when wandering the WF salad bar. I tend to want it all and a vegan pastry to go along with it instead of enjoying a little bit of it. My plate usually looks like the plate at Thanksgiving or a 4th of July BBQ instead of using the small plates and bowls I use at home for portion control. There really must be some mind numbing thing that happens when I walk through those magical doors. My healthy eating knowledge goes out the window and my eat it all mentality comes back with a little justification because it is healthy.



But today with my smaller plate and little servings I sat at a table and savored each bite. This was a big change from the feeling I usually have of trying to shovel down the last bits of lettuce I always throw in the bottom of the bowl to make it a real salad.  I kind of force myself to eat the last bites since already dressed salads do not taste good later.



I kind of like how I felt after eating my meal today.  I had plenty of veggies on the plate, some new things to try to I was satisfied afterward.  Not stuffed…not uncomfortable…not wishing I didn’t have an hour ride home (that’s how far away my nearest one is). Today I was just happy to enjoy the food and not suffer the consequences of enjoying it too much.  I think I’ll have to keep this up.



Do you tend to overdo it on “healthy food” or savour it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 22/07/2010 10:31 AM

    I have never tried the salad bar at Whole Foods…I’ve heard great things about it though!

  2. 22/07/2010 10:00 PM

    We don’t have a whole foods here – so sad. I try to be “good” with food – but I am certainly not perfect.

    • 22/07/2010 10:16 PM

      It is so sad. I’m terrified that the next place they move us won’t have one. I need it for some of the substitutes I eat for my digestion.

Leave a Reply

