Skip to content

Frankie Says “Relax”

17/07/2010

Ever since Hunni and I instituted Friday as no work day we’ve also kind of made it date day.  But the problem with this is we always feel pressured to DO something.  Go to the movies, go biking, eat out, something…anything.  We go round and round discussing what we want to do for the day.  This is great when we actually have an idea of what to do but this heat wave has our brains fried to mush.  So this week we had no ideas.


Enter RELAX DAY!



What a wonderful concept.  Do nothing all day but relax.  We’ve been so tired with nutty schedules oh and tons of heat sapping our energy that a day to just do what ever we wanted even if that means nothing was awesome.  Hunni had his idea of a relax day that involved lots of sleeping.  I won’t waste your time with another picture of him asleep but it was cute to watch Peanut and Leo snuggle up to him and think “This is a great idea Daddy.  We do it all day.”



I on the other hand wanted to just wander around town all day with no real plan.  The only thing I really had planned with a torture PT session with Boot Camp Steve.  Today really wasn’t that bad because he and I both figured out that my treatment is going to be a lot slower than we had both hoped but pain is not a good thing.  I loved leaving with no pain…perfect!  I must clarify that Boot camp Steve doesn’t purposely cause me pain.  It just hurts like heck to do the traditional exercises to treat my injury.  We are changing plans now.



Then the rest of the day involved swimming in the pool with my new pink swim cap since I split my cool blue one.  Oh and I added my compression sleeve that the Sports Medicine doc suggested and it was a big help.  The pool was so cool and refreshing…until I stepped out of the Y into the oven again.



I decided to take up residence in the library for a few.  My cool library has free wi-fi, an awesome place to sit in cool chairs and most importantly Air Conditioning!  I was there for almost 3 hours.  I cleared out my Google Reader, brainstormed new blog ideas and people watched.  This is the best thing ever.  Especially in my town which is a bit eccentric.  There were the normal older gentlemen who came in just to read the paper, the people who were just trying to escape the heat, the people who do a bit of the puzzle everyday and of course the people picking out their movies for the weekend.  I’m an eavesdropper sometimes and the conversations were interesting.  I loved it!



I picked up a few movies myself and now Hunni and I are watching Running with Scissor which is just messed up!  But it is interesting and strange and keeps Hunni and I going, “What is going on?”  That’s relaxing I guess.



And as soon as this nuttiness goes off I’m going to go mimic Hunni’s idea of relaxing day and go to the Air Conditioned bedroom to lay down and read my book.  I may even fall asleep early.  I hope Peanut and Leo decide to join me.



What is your idea of a relaxing day?


4 Comments leave one →
  1. 17/07/2010 5:18 PM

    A relaxing day is with no plans and to go with the flow.

    • 17/07/2010 9:35 PM

      I love that idea! I don’t do that often so having the chance to do so is wonderful.

  2. 18/07/2010 9:46 AM

    A full day of reading is my idea of relaxing.

    I really like your idea for date day. My husband and I always have offers to watch the baby from friends and family. When we do take them up on it, we feel obligated to actually do something. This usually turns into going to lunch or dinner and then going to the grocery store. How romantic, right? We don’t like seeing movies in theaters and there’s not much else to do within a 30 minute radius of home. Maybe we should consider just allowing ourself a day to sit outside in the lawn chairs and just enjoy being together.

    • 18/07/2010 12:47 PM

      It is great to just walk around town. We also like to hang out at the library…yep we’re dorks 🙂

Leave a Reply

