Skip to content

Fix It Myself

15/07/2010

Back on Memorial Day Hunni and I hit up the outlets and got some great deals.  The only problem is that one of those great deals came with a tiny flaw.  The jeans I got at Eddie Bauer were on super discount because they were missing a button.

It's Gone!

At least it’s not missing because I popped it off.  That’s something I can’t say for another pair of pants in my drawer 🙂  But the deal was so good for such great quality jeans I knew I could fix this minor detail.



You know all those extra buttons they give you when you buy a shirt or jacket or something…well I kind of hoard them.  I mean what happens if the button were to every pop off.  My grandma had tins and tins full of them in all shapes and sizes.  So I dug out my bag of larger specimens…

So many to choose from.

There were some pretty cool ones like a plaid one from an awesome jacket I have and the cool pearlized white one you see in there.  But I had to have the perfect one.  By that I mean one that would actually fit through the already existing hole 🙂  Enter stage left…

Not to big...not to small.

Sure it may look boring but it is going to be covered up by my shirt 9/10…or at least I hope it will be.  If not I need longer shirts.



Several million stitches in random order….ugh that’s not possible but you know what I mean…and It was attached.  I made sure to leave enough slack so that I could actually put them on (that’s what the pins are for).  But they looked pretty authentic when I finished.

Tada!

Best of all they fit!  They fit my hiney but they also fit my waist and stayed on 🙂  Perfect.  And they didn’t cost an extra cent.  So my great deal was perfect and gave me a bit of fun for an afternoon as I got to mend and sew like Momma does.

Peekabo I see a belly button.

Sometimes I get so focused on having things done for me.  I like eating out because someone else prepares the meals, I think the idea of plastic surgery is fascinating because it doesn’t require a gym membership, I envy athletes who seem to run so effortlessly.  But I need to realize that life is not going to be handed to me.  I need to make conscious decisions about what I eat and how I work out.  I need to make decisions on how I spend my money.  I need to be able to fix things for myself sometimes instead of relying on others to do it for me.  I’m in charge of where I go from here and I need to work on it myself.



Do you ever fix things yourself?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 15/07/2010 2:09 PM

    Hi Cynthia,

    Glad you were able to make that button fix on those pair of jeans, and glad to hear that the fit was what you were looking for. We also have a large range of jeans with buttons that might save you the work next time round. 🙂

    Best,
    Paolo

    Eddie Bauer

    • 16/07/2010 10:42 AM

      There were plenty there too. But I like the challenge…and they were a great deal 🙂

  2. 15/07/2010 7:59 PM

    Only if I have to, meaning if I’m in a hurry YES, otherwise I will pay my daughter to do it….she loves to sew.

  3. 15/07/2010 9:30 PM

    I usually ask my mom to do my sowing, lol. I used to do it, but I guess the novelty wore off!

    Jenn

  4. 15/07/2010 10:11 PM

    I definitely am a fixer type person. I love baking/cooking certain things because it always adds something to the taste to know that I made that bread or yogurt myself. I also certainly enjoy someone else doing the work of cooking for me. We are definitely in a decade though when “if it’s broke, throw it away” instead of fixing it… But let me tell you, my hot showers feel so awesome right now after I figured out how to fix the water heater instead of paying someone else to do it.
    Wow… that makes me sound really like “I can do anything” which is so not true. I enjoy doing things myself, but I also definitely will pay for not having to do the work (assuming I can afford it) when I don’t feel like it.

    • 16/07/2010 10:38 AM

      No I know what you mean. That sense of accomplishment makes it feel/taste better. I love home made baked goods more because of the work that goes into them and they don’t make me sick.

  5. 16/07/2010 9:37 AM

    I fix stuff all the time. It’s just my sis and I at our apartment, no man. So I have fixed our toilet, our shower, and numerous other things.

    I have an awesome pink tool kit that comes in handy! 🙂

    • 16/07/2010 10:37 AM

      I saw a pink tool kit I want because I’m mrs. fix-it in this house too..and I have Hunni 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. My Measuring Stick | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

