Skip to content

Kitchen Diva

11/07/2010

After a week of eating pretty much bananas, toast and applesauce my appetite finally came back.  The only problem is that the heat was still in full force even with lovely rain I woke up to.  It lulled me back to sleep so I missed my Weight Watchers meeting (sorry Ann.  I’ll be there next week V8 in hand 😀 ) but food was still on my mind when I awoke.



Breakfast was a mess of what I could throw into a bowl as fast as possible and eat.  So there was some of Hunni’s brownie thing, a bit of greek yogurt, a smidge of almond butter and a bit of the crofters.  Tasted like some fancy dessert from some restaurant I definitely cannot afford.  And it was so yummy that there is no picture.  But trust me it was good and had lots of protein and fruit which are two things I’ve been missing this last week.



Hunni is out working all day so I thought I’d play happy home maker and actually cook something.  He’s been eating lots of tortilla pizzas, pasta and Subway this week because as much as I love the guy, he can’t cook.  He’s like the kid who claims we have no food in the house when really he means we have no food in the house he doesn’t have to cook.  So while I had the energy I figured I’d cook.



I donned the apron that Hunni begged to have put on our wedding registry so he could look professional.







Yes he wanted a fancy apron.  It usually hangs on the back of our bedroom door with my bathrobe.  So much for being a gourmet chef.



I had a few recipes in mind since I had some stuff in the fridge I needed to use up.  First up was Kristin‘s Asian Style Grilled Tofu.  I made a marinade with these ingredients….

Had to go find the ginger.



  • 2 Tbsp Water
  • 2 Tbsp Soy Sauce
  • 1/4 tsp ginger powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp agave
  • Red Pepper Flakes to taste



They make a cool pattern as I mixed them together.  I had to stop myself from playing with it so that the tofu could marinade.

Patterns like quilt fabric to me.

I sliced a block of drained into 6 and then tried to get rid of as much water as possible.  I wasn’t very green by using lots of paper towels since all our kitchen towels are in the wash after a juice spill a few days…Hunni claims it was Leo’s fault.



The tofu was marinated 5 minutes on each side before placing it on George 🙂  It got great grill marks and pretty caramelized from the agave.

Ready to be used this week.

Then came the fun of using it.  Hunni was expecting lunch when he came home so I made him a grilled cheese with a secret ingredient 🙂  He ate it up without a second thought.  He actually liked the extra taste.

With the last of the Sun Chips.

I decided to use mine in a wrap with some spring mix and a bit o’ cheese.  George loves these wraps and makes almost one a day.  And I loved it too.  Just chewy enough from the tofu and cheesy enough from the cheddar.

Oooey Goooey

I decided it would be best to make dinner while I had the energy so I made my variation of Brandi‘s Wheat Berry Salad.  To be perfectly honest with you I hardly ever follow a recipe.  I look at them for ideas and then tweak and alter to fit my ingredients and our family taste.  So our salad turned out to be a Barley Summer Salad with Goat Cheese.



  • 1.5 cup Barley cooked in 3 cups water (I wish I had used some veggie broth in sub for the water)
  • 2 yellow squashes halved and sliced
  • 1 green squash halved and sliced
  • 1 large tomato diced (or one can diced tomatoes drained)
  • 2 cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 ounces chevre goat cheese


  1. Cook barley in the water while preparing other ingredients.
  2. Add squash, tomato and beans to pan on low heat with olive oil.  Heat but do not brown.
  3. After barley is cooked, drain and add balsamic vinegar.
  4. Transfer vegetables to barley pot and add goat cheese.
  5. Allow to cool before serving.

Yummy colors.

I allowed it cool all afternoon before dinner.  It was just chewy enough with the barley and the cream of cheese and bit of the vinegar.  So good and I have extra for lunches. edit: We didn’t end up eating it.  I decided I wanted waffles and put George to work.  We’ll eat this tomorrow for dinner after a crazy work day.



I had a little bit of energy left in me so I decided to make dessert.  You see I normally buy extra firm tofu and I accidentally bought some silken tofu lite sometime in the last few weeks.  The only problem with this is that Hunni is terrified of any sort of dessert made with tofu.  He is petrified that it won’t taste good and that he’ll never want to eat that dessert again.  But he was gone for the day so I could be as sneaky as I want 😀



I found a recipe on the Nasoya website and of course I modified it for my own needs.

Peanut Butter Pie


  • 1 block lite silken tofu
  • 3/4 cup Peanut Butter (I used creamy but you could use crunchy)
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp salt



I threw it all in the blender and churn, churn, churn.

Buzz, buzz.

The original recipe suggested a pre-baked pie shell to make it a real pie.  I don’t really like the crust on any dessert so I skipped it and just added it to my pie/Quiche pan.  And then stuck the concoction in the freezer. But not before I licked the spatula 🙂  What fun is dessert making if you can’t lick something.  And I didn’t have to share.

I had the whole thing to myself.

Several hours later I snuck a taste.  Heavenly.  Tastes just like a pie my college friend’s mom made for a bunch of us at Easter.  We ate it while playing Rummy at 2Am…and for breakfast…and for dessert.  Maybe this is why I gained a good bit of weight in college.  Hunni seemed to enjoy it for dessert today too.  And no one needed to tell him there was tofu in it 🙂

Just perfect.

Hunni's serving.

While I recovered some of my energy on the couch after cooking, I found some other awesome recipes to make this week so we have stuff on hand.  I’m sure tonight I have a bit more energy to make one more dish.  I’m thinking something with soba noodles and spinach.  Soba tastes great cold.



And since Hunni doesn’t wear his apron for cooking…he can wear it for cleaning up all the dishes I made cooking for him.

Hunni's clean up.

I’m sure he’ll just be happy to eat real food again 😀



Do you sneak ingredients into meals?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. ann rennie permalink
    11/07/2010 6:39 AM

    GREAT LOOKING RECIPES GLAD YOU ARE FEELING BETTER AND MISSING THE MEETING BECAUSE YOU SLEPT LATE IS OK I DID MISS YOU BUT I AM SURE YOU NEEDED THE REST WITH HOW YOU HAVE BEEN FEELING SEE YOU NEXT WEEK

  2. 11/07/2010 7:31 PM

    I want a “brownie thingy” for breakfast! And mmm, that PB pie looks DELISH!

    • 11/07/2010 7:57 PM

      It’s his rendition of a vita brownie 🙂

      The PB pie is delicious…I just had some for dessert 🙂

  3. Brandi permalink
    11/07/2010 8:57 PM

    The recipes look great! And I made some barley today, too 🙂 I love it!

  4. 11/07/2010 9:40 PM

    Yum! I’m glad your appetite is back and you made such great looking food. I do sneak healthy food into recipes. I chop up zucchini super fine and put it in spaghetti sauce!

    • 11/07/2010 9:43 PM

      I’m glad my appetite is back to. It was like missing an old friend.

      I learned to be a sneaky chef from my mom. She used to trick us all the time 🙂

  5. actorsdiet permalink
    11/07/2010 10:58 PM

    i’ve been wanting to make a version of that pb/tofu pie for a while now but have been waiting for a pie crust. but what am i waiting for?!? you’re a genius!!!

  6. 12/07/2010 10:18 AM

    I am a little skiddish when it comes to tofu, but that peanut butter pie sounds so good!!!

    Oh, and don’t feel bad… I own a Charm City Cakes apron that is hung on the back of my bedroom door too…

    • 12/07/2010 11:30 AM

      Tofu used to scare me and now I LOVE it. I actually spend part of yesterday searching for new recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

