Skip to content

Typos

07/07/2010

I’m a child of the spell check generation.  The only problem with that is spell check isn’t fail proof.  If I type in here and meant there it won’t catch it because here is a word.  So when I go back and read old posts I’m often frustrated that I have so many typos.  And I know it frustrates some of my friends who are sticklers for typographical errors.  Sorry ladies….I’m not trying to get on your nerves on purpose I promise…at least not in this instance 😀



But I’m so busy getting these posts out and trying to integrate blogging with my normal life that I don’t usually have time to type them up and then go back and edit.  You probably wouldn’t believe me if I told you I used to be a really good editor and didn’t often get marked off for mechanical errors in school…not even in my spanish grammar… because I was so meticulous at checking them.  But that was when I was a student and mechanical errors actually had consequences like a lower GPA.  I was all about the GPA in school.



Now I know I’ll end up with a few typos here and there in most things I type.  And usually it doesn’t matter because I’m the only one who will read them.  Of course when it is for professional things like letters to the public and work emails I double-check.  But for sermons that I’m the only one reading and fun stuff like my blog I tend to let things slide because I’m in a bit of a hurry.  Sorry just being honest that sometimes typos are going to happen…that’s life.



This goes with everything in my life.  I’m learning to be a bit more lenient with myself on my perfectionism.  When I first started my healthy journey I weighed and measured every morsel of food that went in my mouth for the exact calorie count and eventually points.  I worked out to the exact calorie or time limit I had given myself so I knew how much of a deficit I had.  I counted how many ounces of water I drank daily to make sure I was completely hydrated.  You get the picture.  I was obsessed with Weight Loss and how each individual factor was going to effect my WL GPA.



But now that I’m trying to make this a life long thing I’m a bit more relaxed.  Yes I still watch my portion size but I’m not measuring everything I put in my mouth.  Was that cheese slice 1 oz or 1.5oz. I don’t really know…but I do know that good estimation will suit me fine.  Did I drink 6 (reusable) bottles of water today or 7?  Heck it could have been 8 or 10 but my body is hydrated and I’m feeling good so the exact number doesn’t count.



Yes I still count Weight Watchers points but that is just a checks and balances thing for me.  I’m not obsessing if I’m one point over this day and 2 points under the next.  Heck there are days I’m 10 points over but they all balance out.  And with being sick this week I’m all over the map.  But I’m losing weight and it is working for me. When I hit the dreaded plateau I may have to be more exact but for now this fits my lifestyle.



Being super exact doesn’t fit my lifestyle just like proofreading every single piece of written work I compose doesn’t.  But living a healthy lifestyle is about finding out what works for you.  I appreciate the blog world for this exact reason…just being who you are.  Caitlin chooses to be vegetarian in a way that suits her goals for training and ethics.  Mama Pea raises two beautiful girls to be little spitfire just like she is on a vegan/vegetarian diet that looks super delicious/nutritious and makes me want to pretend to be a cool little kid in the PNW.  Brandi dreams and follows her heart with food and family that show she cares about herself and others.  Mish is finding her way to happiness and healthiness with all she goes through day in and day out…and she keeps growing.  And these women and so many more make me so proud to inhabit my own little corner of the blogosphere and be me.  Crazy me and all…I’m just me and I’m so happy to do it my way.



What is your style?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/07/2010 11:28 AM

    I love this post 🙂

    And I’m a lot like you! Not super exact with anything, but that’s what works for me.

  2. 07/07/2010 7:16 PM

    Aw, what a sweet post, Cynthia.
    I used to be obsessed with every nutritional tick and tack and counting calories and stuff…it only made me sicker! Now I’m trying to go with the flow, and just learn to trust my body that it CAN take care of me. So I let myself listen to my body, and eat what it wants. 🙂

    • 07/07/2010 7:31 PM

      Thanks Sophia. My body is teaching me what I need to eat. I’m trying to be a good student.

  3. 08/07/2010 9:59 AM

    Great post! I am detail oriented to a fault. I try to relax but it’s hard for me.

    • 08/07/2010 12:18 PM

      I love details but if I super focus on them all I freak out and can’t breathe so I’ve learned to make myself less anxious with limiting what I can focus on.

Trackbacks

  1. Quotable Quotes | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

