Skip to content

Listen to My Body + Goals

06/07/2010

Call it intuition, call it being self-aware, call it what you want but I tend to know when something is wrong with my body even before others do.  I knew something was wrong with my moods before they diagnosed me with Bipolar although I didn’t know what it was.  I knew there was something wrong with my digestive symptoms early on when I would get sick from eating even before I knew there was such as thing as IBS and that I could manage it.  And I knew that my back was more than just a muscle strain long before the doctor agreed to do an MRI and confirm that I had 3 herniated discs that would eventually require surgery to repair.



So I knew something was up with this past week soon after the doctor prescribed the prednisone for the inflammation in my left leg.  My stomach started to feel off…just off.  I wasn’t eating triggering foods for my IBS so I was confused.  But the nausea worsened and I started eating less to hopefully get rid of the icky feeling.  By Thursday I was full on sick.  The meal I showed you for 4th of July that I ate on Saturday was one of the only things I ate that day really in the midst of lots of sleeping to avoid the sick feeling.  But I didn’t stop the prednisone for some weird reason.  Sunday was the worst of it and I ended up in ER dehydrated and extremely sick.  Guess this was my way of extending my long weekend 🙂



For me the key is tuning into what to do when I get these intuitions.  If I had paid attention to how I felt in the first few days of taking the medication I might not have ended up in the ER from horrible side effects.  On this journey to health I’m learning to pay more attention to the cues my body is giving me.  I’ve had to learn what I can and can’t eat with my IBS, how to eat in moderation even with the stuff I can eat, how to give myself time off from working out when my body needs rest, and how to treat myself with the care I deserve.  It’s one of the hardest things to treat yourself with kindness when you are so used to pushing yourself.  So I’m working on treating myself better and this weekend was just another step in learning that I know myself better than I think.



Last Week’s Goals:



  • Quilting. oops.  Let’s just say the above sickness put a damper on my moods to do anything but sleep and work.  So the stuff is put away for the time being until I’m ready to work on it.  I think having it set up made me think I could just do it at anytime.  But now having to set it up means I’ll have to actually set aside time in my schedule to do it instead of thinking I’ll just pick it up at random.
  • Knee Doctor. I got an answer.  But unfortunately the solution was what made me sick this weekend.  So now I’m waiting to hear back from the doctor for the second try.  I’m hoping this gets me back in gear soon.  I don’t need any more detours.
  • Swimming. I got in a bunch of swimming this week before the worst of the ickies hit.  And as soon as I’m back to being me and not the dizzy chick I am on the couch right now I’ll be back in the pool.  Hopefully tomorrow but Thursday at the latest.  I’m still a fish for now.
  • Eat my menus. There wasn’t a lot of eating going on.  But I did eat at home most of the time.  There were some eating out instances but they are getting less and less.  I’m thinking we’ll place a ban on eating out soon (except for work) so that we’ll get back on track with eating at home.  I miss cooking all the time.
  • Planning. Some plans are in place.  But I’m glad I have a few months to get the details ironed out.  And this trip is even more important to me know because I was supposed to see one of my two great friends we’ll be visiting while she made a brief trip up my way for 4th of July weekend.  But I was in no condition to go anywhere.  So I’m more determined than ever to make this trip a fun one to see my girls (and their boys of course) 🙂



This Week’s Goals:



  • Work my schedule. I have so many great plans to do so many great things.  But my mind goes a million miles an hour in 20 different directions.  I keep lists of all the fun stuff I want to do but often times things get pushed aside.  So while I’m confined to the couch I’m going to work on my scheduling and try to put in times for all the wonderful things I want to do. When I have more concrete plans I do better than “I’ll just get around to it.”
  • Rest. My body gave me a clear sign this weekend that I need to sit back and relax.  I need to allow my body a chance to recoup from all the stuff that has been going on.  So I’m not looking to go out much (not that I normally do) or push myself too hard.  I just want to chill with the puppers in the apartment and air conditioning during this Heat Wave we have going on this week so that I’m back to me.
  • Plan quick and light meals. My biggest dilemma to eating in these past few weeks beside illness had been the heat and laziness.  I want things that feel quick and easy and the phone is often easier than anything that requires cooking.  So Hunni and I are pulling together a bunch of easy meals like salads topped with bean burgers and the like.  Stuff that doesn’t require planning and lots of prep.  Our next few weeks are so crazy therefore this is a necessity.
  • Slow and steady. I’m going to be the tortoise now.  I’m a fish sure but I want to be the tortoise too.  Some sort of hybrid will be fun.  I need to take things slow and steady.  Instead of expecting my body to heal miraculously quick like the hare I’m going to “try to be patient so that I can let it heal at its pace.  Sure I’d love to run some races this year but I’ll settle for being able to just workout in general.
  • Date Night! Our date nights this time of year generally revolve around physical activities… like hiking, biking and running…what were you thinking 😉  But obviously that isn’t happening.  Hunni still forgets and often asks if we are going hiking on our day off…uh no.  So instead we are planning dinner and a movie this week.  Old school dating date nights.  We’ll be back to our regular shenanigans soon enough but for now we have to think outside our box for date night ideas.



So back to rest and reading for the remainder of the day.  I’m looking forward to not feeling confined by my apartment.  But for now Hunni has assigned Peanut and Leo to watch over me and make sure I don’t do too much.  They are tough jailors but sweet so I’ll stay put …for  now.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/07/2010 3:42 PM

    I love that resting is a goal – something we all need to prioritize just like eating and working!

    • 06/07/2010 4:03 PM

      Thanks. That was a hard one to put on there. I’m always on the go but my body is really forcing me to do so this week.

  2. 06/07/2010 4:20 PM

    That is so good that you do something active for your dates! My hubby and I need to think about doing things like hiking etc., instead of always dinner and a movie, etc.

    • 06/07/2010 4:34 PM

      Yeah we like to do that kind of things. But now we’ll just relax until I’m healed up.

  3. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    06/07/2010 7:38 PM

    Great goals! I’m inspired to set some of my own. How do you get the ideas for what you want to set? I really like them

    • 06/07/2010 7:54 PM

      I try to set goals for things that I really want to get done but if I don’t write them down I might skip or forget them. Some things are given that I will do but I like to push myself.

  4. 06/07/2010 10:55 PM

    I admire you for setting your goals so specifically. And resting as a goal is so smart!

    • 07/07/2010 10:45 AM

      Thanks Diane! Vague goals I’ve tried haven’t been working so I’m doing more specific to see if I can stick with them.

  5. 07/07/2010 6:46 AM

    This East Coast heat IS totally crazy- it makes me lazy, and even when I’m hungry nothing sounds good!? Salads and burgers sound like a great plan 😀 Love your goals! Oh and I totally feel you on the Gaga thing, i didn’t even really know one song pre-concert, now she is totally growing on me lol!

    • 07/07/2010 11:05 AM

      It must be weird to be a Cali girl and getting all this heat out here.

      She has totally grown on me and Hunni. It is funny to hear him talk about the videos and how silly they are 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. (Mis) Adventures in Canning | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

