Skip to content

Stomach in My Knee?

30/06/2010

So today was the dreaded appointment to the Sports Medicine Doctor.  Completely had nightmares of him saying things like I would never be able to run again or they were going to have to open me up to fix something major I had done after being told I just had a strain for most of this time.  Kind of like how they originally told me I had a muscle strain in my back and ended up loosing two of my discs a year or so later.  It probably didn’t that I googled what could happen to my calf muscle and got graphic pictures of calf surgeries…not smart Cynthia…not smart at all.



It also didn’t help that I had to climb a big hill to get to the hospital where the doctor’s office was because Hunni had an appointment today also.  His hour drive beat out my 10 minute walk, even uphill.  So I counted that as my exercise today since my leg was throbbing by the time I got to the waiting room a half hour early.  But it gave me time to finish my book.



One hour, two x-rays, and a bunch of poking and prodding it turns out I have a level 2 tear of my gastro muscle….the official name is something like gastrocnemis (thanks Aunt Carol for correcting me).  It looks like this…

My buff leg...I wish!

I guess the original pain that started in my calf has migrated up my leg and is severely inflamed.  Nine days of prednisone (usually 10 but I get a day off for IBS) and some fancy new stuff.  The doc wrapped it with an ace bandage for compression and suggested I get some compression sleeves for during exercise.  I want some cool ones that look like this…

Oh to be running again.

He said I might even want to wear it in the pool if I’m swimming a lot of laps and putting extra stress on it trying to get some exercise (that I miss so much).  Until then I’m wearing these cool babies…

Black MediPedis

Hunni and I are making a trip to the running store to get some cool compression socks (I’m thinking hot pink or lime green) and some sleeves since Dick’s Sporting Goods had no idea what I was talking about.  I guess it is worth the injury to get cool running gear right?  Maybe not but it will be fun to browse the running store to get the essentials and maybe some fun stuff too.



Until then I’m resting like Leo.

He has the right idea.

Every new injury teaches me something new about my body…who knew that the calf was actually 3 muscles and one was named after my stomach 🙂

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 30/06/2010 9:17 AM

    I use the Zensah sleeves and love them…

    • 30/06/2010 9:30 AM

      Thanks for the recommendation…I’m checking them out on Thursday.

  2. 30/06/2010 10:05 AM

    I’m so glad that it wasn’t anything that requires surgery. I say definitely go for some cool compression sleeves!

    • 30/06/2010 10:31 AM

      So am I. I really want pink ones. I don’t want to order online and have to wait thought. So I’m hoping the running store has fun ones.

Trackbacks

  1. Patience is a Virtue | It All Changes
  2. Guest Post: Getting Back Into the Fitness Groove « Carrots 'N' Cake
  3. 2010 Goals in Review « It All Changes
  4. Bundled Up of Nerves « It All Changes
  5. New Shoes Rules « It All Changes
  6. Where Have All the Pants Gone? « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

