Skip to content

The Signs of the Times

29/06/2010

No this is not a preachy end times post where I tell you the world is going to end.  Instead it is a post about how you know you’ve gotten off the path of healthiness and onto that dirt road that leads to nowhere.



  • You clothes are starting to feel tight and not in that I want to look sexy with a tight skirt kind of way.  We are talking I can’t breathe this is so tight.
  • You are tired…naps…sleeping in…power naps at your desk…dragging around like the slugs on the sidewalk.  This could be a symptom of some other problems so get yourself checked out by the doctor but it could just be your body does not like carrying around and extra sack of potatoes.
  • You nightly gym visit has turned into a night couch visit.  You are watching So You Think You Can Dance or Wipe Out and they are working out so what’s the difference, right?  WRONG!
  • You have more frankenfood in you cabinets.  Some of that stuff is mighty tasty but when it starts to be the first thing you grab for or the only thing you have there may be a problem.  What every happened to an apple a day keeps the doctor away…or peach or a few strawberries, or cherries or even some kholrabi…you get the picture.
  • You skin feels like the Gobi dessert or an oil slick.  I’m not 13 anymore so when I start feeling that crater pop out on my nose or chin I know something is up.  And for friends of mine when their face feels like an ash heap they know the same.
  • The menu at PF Changs looks so much better than your own.  Now I know it’s summer and it feels like you just turned on the furnace to cook in the oven but there are so many other dishes you can make before turning to the takeout or the restaurant.  And give those chefs a break…it’s like a million degrees as they stir fry your Buddha’s feast.
  • You cry, you eat…you get a promotion, you eat…you get angry at ANYONE, you eat.  Emotions and eating do not have to go hand in hand.  But when they go skipping down the lane so do you to buy a new pair of pants.  Give yourself a break and celebrate or relieve tension by doing something else.  Dance parties are wonderful things for celebrations and a good sappy book helps to get the tears flowing.



These are things I just had to realize recently as my uniform and pants got tighter and I got more miserable.  Now I can actually fit in my clothes and I feel a bit better.  It takes some work but I had to notice the problem first.



What are your signs you need to change it up to get Back On Track?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 29/06/2010 9:52 PM

    Good job reading those signs and making a detour! I do the same thing – notice if the scale has inched up, my pants are tighter in the thighs, etc. I just get right back at it!

    • 29/06/2010 11:26 PM

      The non-scale things are usually the first thing I notice. It gets me back on track quicker.

  2. 30/06/2010 5:36 AM

    I’m trying to gain weight, but I do feel icky at times…esp when you wake up and you burp out the food you last ate. Ew.

    • 30/06/2010 9:31 AM

      I eat smaller meal so I can lean when I’m full better.

      But you are doing great Sophia…keep it up.

Leave a Reply

