Skip to content

Get ME to the Greek

25/06/2010

Oh my I’ve never had good Greek food before…until recently.  Hunni and I are limited in our choices of local food here that doesn’t involve subs or meat.  So as a vegetarian who really wants more than vegetables for dinner all the time I’ve been struggling with finding new food choices.  This is this little place called Michael’s near our home that we’ve never tried.  It looked like the kind of place that only regulars went to and was pretty small.



But one day we got adventurous.  After I have a friend name Kyra who is Greek through and through and had been posting on Face Book about Dolmades that I knew I loved.  So what could it hurt if I gave Greek food a try.  And God bless Hunni who has been becoming more and more adventurous with food.  He actually welcomed the idea and ordered a Greek salad of sorts.



The restaurant used to actually be an old A&W root beer stand run by a wonderful Greek family.  Now it is full of old Greek pictures and fun from the family.  Unfortunately my camera ate them all.  But it was fun stuff of little things like the grandfather’s old sweater he wore everyday as his “uniform” and pictures on the restroom doors of a man and woman dressed in Greek clothing.  It was funny because Hunni couldn’t tell which was which at first until he looked closer at the pictures.  I wish my camera hadn’t eaten those pictures because they were really pretty and funny at the same time.



But the menu is amazing.  Full of old school Greek food made by real greek people who know what good Tzatziki, dolmades, hummus and other stuff is.  The tastes of dill, lemon and beans made me feel like I was sitting on the Aegean Sea in one of those beautiful white washed buildings.  And the family still runs it so they can recommend the best food and the special treat of the day that his homemade like egg pie wrapped in phyllo and all sorts of other deliciousness.



I can see why there was a group of alumni visiting the local college for their reunion and they always visit that restaurant.  They told the owners they would see them again next year.  So much fun.



And the best part about Greek food (besides the fact that there are so many vegetarian options) is that the desserts are usually made with Hunni honey.  I can eat them.  This is both good and bad knowledge.  I can eat them all I want (okay maybe not because the sweetness would get to me) but I could eat them all I want.  Instead Hunni and I get one to share.  Like this lovely baklava.

Lovely layers of awesomeness.

Just a bite is sweet enough for a treat and I can enjoy it.  And the meals are so satisfying.  Now when Hunni asks me what I want to eat out I say “Get me to the Greek.”



What is your favorite ethnic food?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 25/06/2010 10:08 AM

    INDIAN! Mmm..House of India in Pittsfield is to die for.

    • 25/06/2010 11:38 AM

      I love Indian…I’m trying to convince Hunni to try it. We really want to try the Lebanese place too in Pittsfield.

  2. Jenna permalink
    25/06/2010 10:17 AM

    I dated a Greek for a year, and man, could his dad cook. Amazingly enough, I miss his dad’s cooking more than anything in that relationship. I never knew there were so many ways to prepare lamb!!!

    • 25/06/2010 11:37 AM

      I love that sometimes we miss things not actual people. I have relationships like that too 🙂

      • Jenna permalink
        25/06/2010 1:17 PM

        His dad went to Greece while we were together…brought home real Greek baklava that the boyfriend’s grandmother had made…OMG, it weighed almost 10 pounds for not that much, it was so loaded with honey. Talk about heaven!!!

  3. 25/06/2010 3:30 PM

    I LOVE greek food. Love it.

    I also love Mexican. It’s probably my fav, like fresh good mexican food. Yum.

    • 25/06/2010 10:16 PM

      I love good fresh mexican too. And cuban is great! I have an awesome cuban friend who makes me fresh cuban food.

  4. 25/06/2010 6:16 PM

    I’ve never had it! I think I would like it thought because I love dishes with lots of flavor. I do like Greek yogurt but that probably doesn’t count!!

    • 25/06/2010 6:17 PM

      It is really good. I love the combos of flavors. Greek yogurt is great to me too 🙂

  5. 26/06/2010 12:02 AM

    I LOVE Greek food! Esp their gyros. Fat and juicy with a cool yogurt sauce! Favorite ethnic food…gotta be Singaporean! 😀

    • 26/06/2010 10:59 AM

      Of course! I’ve never had food specific to singapore. But reading your blog makes me want to try it.

  6. 28/06/2010 11:25 AM

    Oh definitely Greek food, but it’s hard to find good stuff. I got spoiled living in Greece.

    I also love French food! Especially the cheeses. And the bread, and the pastries….hmmm wonder why I have a weight problem?

Trackbacks

  1. Anything You Can Dream « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

