Skip to content

It’s NOT that Complicated

15/06/2010

Today is wedding day…no not my wedding.  That happened about 2 years ago (as of this coming Monday) but we are celebrating with two great friends for the first of two weddings this week.  I’m already tired from all the driving but so excited to have fun with friends for an evening.



But the problem came down to gifts.  This couple didn’t make a registry…in today’s day and age I’ve become so accustomed to shopping off a registry for a bride and groom.  How dare they make me think of a gift to purchase.  And this gift was made even harder because they are moving very shortly, the wedding is not in the town they live in and they live in Salvation Army Quarter (housing) so they don’t need the traditional towels, sheets, and pots and pans.  So it was time to put my thinking cap on and come up with a gift.



Now normally with a couple that are this close of friends I would make a quilt…but we all know I’m way behind on my projects and just barely got the last two done.  So that was out for the time being…perhaps as an anniversary gift after I get the other 3 done 🙂  Next thought something food related.  When don’t I think of food.  Seriously I’m sitting here typing this post for tomorrow drinking a smoothie and planning to hit up a cool stir fry restaurant with Hunni for dinner in about an hour 🙂  But this couple doesn’t cook.  I don’t think he knows how to cook since all I’ve ever seen him eat are boxed pizzas, chicken wings and McDonalds…typical bachelor right.  And all I’ve seen her eat in the few times I’ve met her is the same thing since the poor guy doesn’t have food in his house when she comes to visit.  Poor girl.



So food would be the answer.  But I didn’t want to make a basket of all sorts of food for them to cook with recipes like I have for other friends bridal showers because they would have no way to get it home (they are leaving directly for their Honeymoon from the wedding reception).  Re-thinking this idea I bought a cool newlywed cook book that all the recipes have no more than about 5 ingredients and take 30 minutes to cook and a gift card to the grocery store.  And having been a newly wed recently myself I got them a gift card to a restaurant they like to eat out at so they could go have a date night and just enjoy time away from the kitchen.  I hope they like it (and the goofy card Hunni got for them that just cracked him up).



I’m actually thinking about going back to get this cookbook for myself…they have a vegetarian version.  For me dinner needs to quick and uncomplicated or I’m picking up the phone and ordering out.  I don’t want to have to turn all Top Chef when making my dinner after a busy day in the office and right before I have to head back out the door for some other meeting.  I would like to be more like Rachel Ray (although not as annoying) and get dinner on the table in 30 minutes or less.



Don’t get me wrong…occasionally a huge fancy meal is made requiring multiple steps, ingredients, pots and pans and hours of prep.  I’ve made recipes that made Hunni so hungry waiting he actually had an old school PB&J while they finished up.  And the finished product tasted great…but for Hunni the initial deliciousness factor goes down exponentially with the amount of pots, pans and utensils I use because the rule in our house is I cook…he cleans.



So my food while it may sound delicious when I tell someone I’m eating Balsamic Barley Risotto with Asparagus or Morel and Spinach Polenta, it really isn’t.  Those are both one dish meals that are on the table in 30 minutes are less.  Seriously I’d be willing to eat the entire contents of my fridge if it took much longer.  Good food can be quick and simple and taste delicious.  It really doesn’t have to be that complicated.



Do you normally cook?  Do you cook complicate food?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 15/06/2010 2:32 PM

    I cook a lot. I never used to, but now I love it.

    I’m a strict recipe follower for the most part. I have been trying to make things on my own and so far it’s been going well.

    As for complicated things, I tend to stay away from recipes with too many ingredients or things I’ve never heard of. I’m cheap like that. 🙂

    Also, what’s the name of this cook book? Sounds like one I’d enjoy.

    • 16/06/2010 8:40 AM

      WHen I first learned to cook I used to be a strcit recipe follower and then I learned to veer off when I didn’t have ingredients. Now it’s just a guide.

      The book was something like $3 quick dinners or something. I completely forgot. But it had a bit $3 at the top.

  2. 15/06/2010 10:33 PM

    What a great idea for a wedding gift! I think that they will love that and cherish it for a long time! Good idea!

  3. 16/06/2010 5:57 AM

    That was a brilliant gift and one I’m going to remember! I do cook – every single night last year except one or two. With our family size going out to eat is rare. When hubby and I do dates it’s usually for a lunch meal because that’s when the littlest one naps so babysitting is easier.

  4. 21/06/2010 12:20 PM

    I’m getting back on the cooking wagon. The stuff my family cooks/eats is just really not that healthy. Plus, if I want to jump start my own weight loss, I need to take stock in the shopping/cooking process. Since I’ve started getting my CSA shares, I have a lot of veggies to play with. I actually bought some quinoa this weekend and I think I’m going to add it to a chinese cabbage stir fry… I’m a little scared, but I think I’m ready to take the quinoa plunge!

    • 21/06/2010 2:17 PM

      Good for you Melissa! CSA’s look so fun because you never know what is coming and you don’t want to waste it after investing in such good produce.

      Quinoa is addicting and I need to make a batch now that we are back from vacation. You can totally do it!

Leave a Reply

