Skip to content

Just a Good Day

12/06/2010
tags: , ,

I’m notorious for making great claims and not sticking with them.  Things like working out in the morning and doing yoga every day.  Yeah I didn’t really stick with those things and many others.  What can I say I have lofty goals for myself and I figure it’s better to try and fail than to not try at all.  But the good news is that I’m actually sticking to some very necessary ones I made a few weeks back.



Friday is FUN DAY!  Today as it has been with every Friday is our day off.  We started it out with sleeping in a bit after a late return from Boston meetings again.  Then Hunni went off to pick up the two missing members of our family.  We had to board them since we were gone all day yesterday.  Their little bladders would have exploded because Peanut has a water drinking problem when we are gone.  She sucks it down.  But they were happy to come home and resume their comfy positions.







They were all snuggled up after the pounded up the stairs.  We snuggled around in my PJ’s and Hunni’s sweatpants before planning out the day.  We wanted to grab lunch but didn’t want to drive all the way to the town with Panera (one of our go to faves) so we just hit up our cute little coffee shop.  We love going in there and pretending we are college students because most people don’t know us there…uh except today I ran into Alice from my Weight Watchers meeting 🙂



I had the most awesome Brazilian Vegan Black Bean soup and a Hummus pita with alfalfa sprouts and red onion.  Now don’t ask me what makes that wonderful deliciousness of black beans Brazilian but I’m smart enough to know what makes it vegan 🙂  If I was a good blogger I would carry my camera with everywhere and could have taken a picture for you to drool over but I’m not so you will just have to pretend there is a wonderful picture…

Here!

We picked up the mail and Hunni squealed with glee when he saw that Iron Man hand come from Netflix.  I kept using the excuse I hadn’t seen the first movie for why we couldn’t go see Iron Man 2.  So he forced kindly asked me to put it on our Cue so that he might succeed in getting me to go see the second installment.  I was really skeptical but it actually was pretty good.  It kept me from doing the work I had intended to do while Hunni watched it.  I guess I’ll have to give in and go see the movie with Hunni on vacation next week…oh yeah so we are going on vacation too 🙂



Then we had to run errands which included a wonderful haircut.

Sorry for the yellow light.

I love going to talk with my great stylist Jen because she is hilarious.  And she takes the time to blow it straight which I never do.  It’s like pretending to be a different person for a day evening.  And I got to wear my favorite shirt with my new jeans that were really loose today!

Yeah!

I loved it!  It was validation I’m moving in the right direction even if the scale and I are at a stand still.  I might have something to do with that because of my random dinner.  After a long evening getting the hair cut, Starbucks (a necessity), some wedding present stuff, Balloon Animal books (another necessity 🙂 ) and cool backing fabric to finish up the quilt for Julie (think psychedelic monkies…yes I just said psychedelic monkies) we had a quick dinner around 8.  Quick dinner meant leftover pita sandwich with my new favorite snack ever…







Uh yes that is the empty Hummus container but in my defense it was almost empty any way and uh I have a confession that the Food Should Taste Good chip bag was not almost empty but now it is…

I left a few 🙂

I don’t normally eat that many but it was dinner…and I left a few so I could have dessert.  I went to our local food co-op and spied something you don’t normally see…Unsweetened yumminess.

Dessert!

Not sugar-free (as in all sorts of tummy inducing pain chemicals added) or sweetened just for the sake of stupidity but just good dried fruit.  And they were plenty sweet so that just a few were a good dessert.  It was totally worth the outrageous price.



So super fun day that I got almost nothing done except the fun stuff I wanted to do and I loved every second.



What do you do on your day off?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/06/2010 8:33 PM

    So glad you enjoyed your day off. You deserved it! And your hair looks so beautiful. I love my hair stylist too – she is very entertaining.

    • 12/06/2010 9:21 PM

      Thanks Diane. I love chatting with her at every appointment. I wish I needed my hair cut more often to just go chat.

  2. 13/06/2010 8:15 AM

    I love the haircut!

    • 13/06/2010 12:33 PM

      Thanks. I usually wear it curly but I love the straight occasionally.

Leave a Reply

