Skip to content

Oh Genie of the Lamp

11/06/2010

When you hear about celebrities that drop baby weight or any weight almost instantly I’ll admit my first thought used to be “Of course… I could do that too if I had a personal trainer, chef, and it was my job to look good.”  Cynical yes but kind of true.  It would be easier for me to lose and maintain weight if I had someone cooking meals for me and someone to make me sweat my butt off in the gym.  And if I got paid millions of dollars to look sexy in this…

I make this look sexy.

I’m sure I could take the weight off in an instant.  Nothing but pulling 6 hours sessions in the gym ala Biggest Loser and eating steamed veggies and lentils…sure the weight would just fall off me in fear.



Lots of people say that a personal trainer and personal chef would be in their top 2 for Weight Loss Genie wishes.  Since I know that would not be the best for me I thought I’d come up with my own three wishes for my Weight Loss Genie.



  1. Quicker cooking healthy grains.  I get annoyed waiting for the rice cooker so I don’t always make them like I should.  I stick to tons of veggies and beans but I know I need them.  And I hate instant rice for taste alone.  So perhaps I just need a time travel machine to get me from the second I hit cook on the rice cooker to the beep at the end.
  2. Patience with my fitness.  I’ll admit it over and over that I’m competitive even with myself when it comes to my fitness. I often feel like I’m making up for the first 24 years of my life that I felt like a bump on a log.  But I need to be patient and glad that I’m doing more than some people do in a day and not push myself so hard I end up on an operating table again (Thanks to my weights guru Jenna for that reminder).
  3. Seeing what’s really in the mirror.  I’ve admitted in the past that I have body issues even after losing the weight.  Not that I want to be smaller than my goal weight but that what I see in the mirror isn’t exactly what I was expecting at my happy weight.  I just wish I could see what everyone else sees everyday and not just the good days.  I should be proud of the accomplishments (even while I’m currently re-losing a bit of a gain) instead of beating myself up for all the damage I did in my past.



I really wanted to wish for more wishes as my 3rd wish just in case I came up with something cooler.  But I’ve seen Aladdin one to many times in my childhood and I know that Robin Williams said that is a big no-no.  So instead of the perfect set up to lose and maintain I figure stuff to make my real life easier would be best.



What are your 3 weight loss wishes?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/06/2010 10:45 AM

    I think this is a good point about being competitive with fitness. Just remember that every little bit helps

    • 11/06/2010 11:35 AM

      Every little bit does help and I need to remember this more often.

  2. 11/06/2010 11:48 AM

    This is a great post. It’s not always about having enough cash to hire people to do things for you and with you. Your wishes are great – I’m with you on the healthy grains. They take forever to cook!

    • 11/06/2010 1:30 PM

      Thanks Diane. I’ve learned that precooking and freezing helps but then the thawing still takes time or remembering to at least take them out of the freezer 😀

Leave a Reply

