Skip to content

Arguing with Myself

09/06/2010
tags: ,

Talking to yourself is a sign of insanity and answering yourself is true craziness…so what does it mean when you argue with yourself?  That’s what I’ve been doing all day.  I’m supposed to get in activity and especially weight training to build up my muscle tone and help rehab my injury.  And I love fitness so this shouldn’t be a problem.  Except for the problem that Boot Camp Steve kicked my butt at two PT session in a row with weight training.  And then Monday he thought I was doing so well with the rehab he pushed me hard…a bit too hard.  Soon that tweak was back in my hamstring and I had trouble walking again without pain in addition to the soreness from the weights.



So the debate has been raging on in my head all day.  I put workout on my to-do list this morning along with buying these….

No barbie bells for me.

These suckers are 8 pounds each and are what Boot Camp Steve had me doing a bunch of my strength training things with.  So I know I can use them even if I think my hiney is going to fall off and I have a hard time going down my stairs tomorrow.  Not like I have to drive to Boston or anything right? So with the step and my new weights I should be able to do the small list of exercises.  Or I could just go ride the bike with my new book at the gym right?



But here I sit…

Elevated!

My knee is on vacation a few days early.  It’s resting on my pillow with the ice on and off of it…

Freezy packs rock.

I argued with myself on and off.



It would do you good to get moving even if it is just a short walk or some weights.



But if you stay on the couch you get to spend time with these two cuties…







and you’ve been working so hard at the PT office.  Besides you can always go to the gym tomorrow before you leave for Boston.  And Jillian Michaels’ new show is on tonight.  Don’t want to miss that.



But you can watch Jillian at the gym.  And when you move you feel better.  Besides your knee is going to get numb sitting on that ice all night.  Just a bit won’t hurt you.  You’ve been through so much and overcome.  You can totally handle 20 minutes tonight.  And you don’t want to waste that gym membership.



But it is so comfy and you’d have to get changed.  And rest never hurt anyone.  You can’t even run so what is the use.  Just rest your leg like you’ve been told and get back to the gym tomorrow.  Besides Hunni isn’t pushing you out the door.

Snoring during reruns.

So the debate is still going on but it looks like the couch is winning.  My knee was sore even walking around Target with my Frappucino.  So ice and I are new best friends and my brain will just have to deal.  I want to get in a workout but I want to live to get one in so I better park my butt here for the night.  Such is life.



Do you ever argue with yourself?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. MOM permalink
    09/06/2010 11:28 AM

    It get that natural from me. Not only do I talk, agrue with myself, I live an imaginary life on a continous loop inside my head. Watch out for the A.NT.s(automatic negative thoughts) that like to run around and around. And my mother is always saying ELIZABETH ANN and my inner child says Awe Mom, or Mother.

  2. Jenna permalink
    09/06/2010 11:54 AM

    Listening to your body really is your best bet…and if it’s telling you to not push it anymore, or you’ll REALLY pay, that should end the debate.

    • 09/06/2010 12:01 PM

      I’m slowly learning this concept. This is how I keep ending up in PT. 🙂 I’m too competitive even with myself.

      • Jenna permalink
        09/06/2010 5:05 PM

        That’s how I ended up on the operating table just over two years ago. 🙂

        It’s fine to be push yourself, and be competitive…but not at the expense of your body. Just remember, you’re trying to be healthy for LIFE, not for the next 10 years…and if you want to be healthy for the next 50 years, you need to listen to your body and what it’s telling you and sometimes take it easy.

  3. 09/06/2010 11:25 PM

    I hope you just rested that knee and enjoyed snuggling with the cuties! Take care of yourself and listen to yourself!

  4. 10/06/2010 5:27 AM

    I’m glad the couch won…it really seems like you need the rest!
    Haha, I argue with myself all the time….emotions vs. rationality. Usually, emotions win.

Trackbacks

  1. Oh Genie of the Lamp « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

