Skip to content

Sit Still + Goals

31/05/2010
tags:

Okay I made a big deal out of Hunni and I taking days off.  And so we have.  But the problem is that Hunni and I don’t like to sit still….okay Hunni like to sleep sit still but I don’t.  Even when I a sitting still I have to be doing multiple things at once.  I just can’t sit still. There’s just too much to do even if it is fun stuff.



I was even the fidgety kid in school.  Yes I was the kid that bounced their desk on their knees until the teacher told the not to and then tapped my foot on the floor.  I almost got detention several times for my fidgeting.  Heck I still fidget now by doing tree pose and calf raises in line at the grocery store and many other things that makes Hunni and everybody else for that matter thinks I’m nuts.



But I don’t feel so bad about fidgeting because it’s good for me!  Yep you heard me right it is good for me.  A study shows that people who fidget burned more calories than those who don’t.  It may not be a huge difference but I’ll take what I can get. Besides I can’t stop sit still so I might as well get some benefit from it.



But fear not if you aren’t a natural fidgeter…you can fake it.  Here are a few ideas to get in a bit of extra movement that will get you that little bit more.



  • Get up from your desk every hour and take a small walk.  We aren’t talking a marathon.  Just walk for a minute or two around your office to say Hi to a few friends and stretch out.  Besides it will make you more productive.
  • Pace or do stair while you talk on the phone.  Even if people think you are crazy or just really intense on that conference call as you pace around you are getting some movement in.  Especially when it is one of those calls you have nothing to say in but have to be present…even if it is only physically 🙂
  • Walk up and down the track while waiting for the train or the sidewalk while waiting for the bus.  It will keep you from getting bored when it is inevitably late.  Just be careful not to step into the path of the oncoming train.
  • Park further from the store.  Save yourself the 10 minutes of gas and driving and just walk the distance.  I do this all the time because my big behemoth of a van is hard to park in tight spaces.
  • Don’t save all your faxes or deliveries for the end of the day.  Get up and do the as you go.  Also don’t email a college across the hall.  Get up and go deliver the message.  That is of course if you have the time.
  • During commercials get up and put away as many things as you can during the break.  Because you are on a tight time frame you are going to rush and  burn more calories.



So start moving.  Even if it is just going up and down the stairs each time you need to take something instead of putting it on the stairs and taking it later.  You’ll get a little workout doing that.  Especially if you have kids this tie of year as they are getting done with school and leave things all over the house.  I know because I used to be that kid 🙂



As for Last Week’s Goals:



  • Pre-make some coffee. I made a big pitcher and even tested out some great add ins.  I came up with the perfect cup of coffee and need to refill my iced coffee pitcher soon.  But it has brought down my purchases.  Now if only I could figure out how to make the frappucinos since that’s what I’ve been craving in our crazy heat wave.
  • Get some new recipes. I’ve looked through the books and added a few recipes to my online collection.  But I still have a good bit of work ahead of me to add the others.  But I did figure out which of these books I want to purchase.  Now just to convince Hunni to let me buy it.
  • Enjoy our first day off! Just look here to see if I enjoyed myself 😀
  • Spend some time with friends. Dinner was so much fun to meet with friends and just relax for the evening.  The food and friends were amazing but I won’t comment on the service.  Too bad Jen and her husband Patrick live in Texas.  Maybe Hunni and I should add that to our list of places we want to vacation.
  • Plan menus. So I didn’t plan out any official menus like I used to.  But I did have an idea of what I wanted to eat this week and Hunni and I didn’t eat out so that means we did get it done…but not really.  It’s just been too hot for most of my ideas.  But I consider it a big accomplishment that we didn’t eat out except for our day off.
  • Enjoy my hobbies. I got a ton of reading done both at Six Flags and just lounging around.  I didn’t get any actual quilting done but I sorted out all the materials for the current projects and I’ ready to get working on them.  Tonight is a great time to start quilting since Hunni watches his favorite show and I get bored.  I will get these projects done soon.  Especially since Hunni and I want to make a big trip to deliver three of them before Kettles hits this year.



This Week’s Goals:



  • Work on quilting backlog. I have a mini tote full of my current projects.  I have 4 on hand that I need to do.  One is a quick finish because I only need to finish one square and then put the sucker together.  I need to get on it ASAP because the wonderful recipient is moving to Puerto Rico this summer.  I guess that means I need to make it light-weight instead of the heavy one I was planning.  And the others are stacked in order to get the finished.
  • Get ahead on some work. Oh boy do I miss real summer vacations where there wasn’t any work to do except have fun.  This summer Hunni and I have a ton to do in addition to finding time to schedule our vacations.  So I’m going to get ahead on some of the work for later this summer since in two weeks we are going on vacation and I don’t want to have to do work then.  I want to enjoy myself.
  • Ride on the trail twice. I finally got my bike shorts and our bikes are in working order.  So I want to hit the trail.  And the weather is supposed to be much better this week so it will be so much fun to get out there and ride as Hunni freaks out about the geese 🙂
  • Get ready for weddings. The vacation we are taking soon is what we always call our wedding vacation.  In The Salvation Army lots of people get married right after finishing seminary…heck we were one of them.  So we always end up taking vacation during that week to see great friends get married.  Same is true this year.  So we need to wrap the presents and buy the cards and get ready to celebrate with our friends.  At least our hotel arrangements are made…yeah for Hotel Momma and Hotel Melissa 🙂
  • Plan our Anniversary. The fun thing about getting married around the same time as all our friends is we get to plan a fun anniversary thing for ourselves.  We have no clue what to do.  We aren’t big on gifts but we like to have fun just us.  I’m thinking we’ll get out of dodge and just go play in the woods.  And dinner is a given.  Whatever it is there is NO WORKING!



So I’ll be fidgeting all week how about you?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    31/05/2010 11:45 AM

    Six ice cube in a blender. crush, add ice coffee blend. I hope that will be close enough.

    • 31/05/2010 11:13 PM

      Sounds good Momma. But I’m afraid of breaking my blender. I’m going to try it later though.

    • 31/05/2010 11:13 PM

      Sounds good Momma. But I’m afraid of breaking my blender. I’m going to try it later though.

  2. 01/06/2010 6:12 AM

    Im wiggggling with you.
    I married into an UBER LEAN AND SKINNY family who rarely exercises.

    then I noticed…about 10 years ago…that they are constant movers in every single other way.

    • 01/06/2010 9:58 AM

      I have friends like that. She can’t sit still and paces and everything. Made me realized all those calf raises in the grocery lines might have something to do with my huge calves that Boot Camp Steve keeps mentioning 🙂

Leave a Reply

