Skip to content

Non-Traditional

30/05/2010

Okay that’s a lie in many, many ways.  I had Hunni ask my dad for my hand in marriage and the whole she-bang.  So I guess saying I’m non-traditional wouldn’t make sense unless you understand me and my love of food.  I love to use food in strange and different ways.  And I usually drag Hunni along for the ride.



Today was my regular Weight Watchers meeting (hello Saturday members just tuning in 🙂 ) and I lost weight!  But I don’t normally eat breakfast before I weigh in…it’s just a tradition of mine.  But I do bring my breakfast with me to scarf down as soon as I jump off the scale.  Lately my fun breakfast has been this…

But what is it?

This one I actually made at home this morning after I got back because I was in a hurry this morning…don’t worry I grabbed a Cliff Zbar on my way out the door to munch on until I made it home.



But back to the breakfast.  I’ve been making my new favorite coffee that I have officially crossed off my list.  And then a mixed up bowl.  The non-traditional part of this breakfast (besides the fact that the coffee is made with almond milk and soy creamers instead of the regular stuff) is the base…

Cottage cheese.

Some people eat it with pineapple, some with chives, some with salt and pepper.  I like to make mine more like PB&J.  Except I really don’t like peanut butter and most jellies have too much sugar or creep me out with their neon colors…grape jelly anyone?  So instead I add my own non-traditional versions of the condiments.

Raw Almond Butter and Blackberries

I love my Trader Joe’s Raw Crunchy Almond Butter (it makes everything better) and these blackberries were on major sale this week.  Remember them from my lunch at the amusement park?  And of course I just had to taste test one to make sure they had the right jelly flavor I wanted.

Taste test.

The crunchy stuff on top in the picture is gingersnap granola which just might be the best granola I’ve ever had…it’s from the bulk bins and adds a nice spice to my breakfast.  Kind of like adding cinnamon to everything…which I already do 🙂



Another non-traditional food I ate today was ravioli.  Hunni and I bought these last week at BJ’s since they are mostly veggies and not too much cheese.  He sepcifically requested them for dinner tonight.

Organic too!

And just like everything in BJ’s it comes in a two pack.  So we have another one sitting in the fridge for some other configuration I think of later.  But back to today’s creation.  I was not up for the traditional ravioli and red or white sauce.  And the cheese and basil on the cover of the package didn’t strike my fancy either.  So I threw them in the pan to saute in a bit of spray olive oil.

Sizzling away.

While they were browning up I made up a sauce with the last of my rice vinegar…I love this stuff…good thing I have a second bottle in that lovely cabinet.

Good to the last drop.

I mixed it with some soy sauce and Dijon mustard in a ramikin to make a sauce for the ravioli.  Kind of like a salad dressing I’ve made before.

Strange flavors, yummy result.

Pour on top of the now browned ravioli and let it simmer and thicken and coat all the ravioli in its asian flavored goodness.

Dished up and dark.

This wouldn’t be enough food for me but I loved flavors I bulked it up with some veggies.  I steamed some broccoli and added some baby portabellas to the leftover sauce with some veggie broth.  After the broccoli finished steaming I added it to the pan to coat in the wonderful sauce.  Then I just threw it on top of my ravioli with some garlic salt.

All thrown together!

A big bowl of randomness that was so lovely and non-traditional in its goodness.  And it was so good too.  Kept me full through all of Shrek 3 in 3D.  Yep Hunni and I went to see it for a date tonight and we were the only people in the theatre with no kids.  Definitely a non-traditional date movie but it’s more than just a kids’ movie…and we really wanted to see it.  The best of the series…espcecially when Shrek does the ogre roar and the spit “gets on you.”  Too cool 🙂



How do you use traditional ingredients in non-traditional ways?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 30/05/2010 7:13 AM

    Your foods look amazing. I love ravoli but don’t have it very often. I need to buy some at Sam’s!

    Congratulations on losing weight – awesome!!

    • 30/05/2010 2:19 PM

      THanks Diane!

      We don’t have them very often but I can usually be convinced when Hunni goes shopping with me 🙂

  2. 31/05/2010 7:47 AM

    I do use a lot of ingredients in non-traditional ways! Like gochujang, the traditional KOrean red pepper paste. I love blending them into fusion recipes. 🙂

    LOVING the sauteed ravioli! Sounds yummy!

    • 31/05/2010 9:05 AM

      I love reading your blog for all the fun Korean ingredients. Makes me miss my Korean friends.

Leave a Reply

