Skip to content

Surviving an Amusement Park

29/05/2010

You are probably looking at the title of this post and thinking…”WHAT?!?!?!?  Who wouldn’t love an amusement park?”  I used to be right there with you.  The joy of year-end school field trips or family vacations to Disney…best stuff ever right?  I loved amusement parks in all their glory!  Well really I loved the Rollercoasters.  Superman, Godzilla, Buzz Lightyear.  Wooden, high-tech, dangling feet.  Loved them all.  No matter how long the wait in line…I loved the thrill of the ride…even if it was only 30 seconds.  As a cool young teacher I assured 7th grade boys they were being strong for me when really he wanted to bolt out of line with every group that screamed as they took off.

Roller coasters were my chance to experience the thrill of high-speed that my dad loved from the autobahn while we lived in Germany.

About 4 years ago roller coasters and I had a nasty break up.  I was so sad when I realized it wouldn’t work out between us any more.  I cried and cried and then avoided any amusement park for fear of seeing a roller coaster.  The signs at the entrance reminded me of the pain of our break up.

Can you read the fine print?

I’m sure you’ve all seen them at all the rides at the parks.  They basically say I can have no fun.  Yep there is a special little symbol that says Cynthia can not have fun today.  Can you see it?  Let me magnify it for you.

No back injuries.

That one little symbol says that those of us with back surgery or problems of any kind can’t ride the rides.  No fun at all. Even the lazy river has one of these signs.  Sure they are there just to cover the parks butt should I hurt myself again on their wonderful rides but that doesn’t’ make me any less sad.  I know they are right though because even a mild ride from my childhood hurt when it bounced around.  😦

Hunni had been begging to go to the park so today I packed a survival kit for our Great Escape trip.  He rode the rides while I sat and waited for him.  I’m such a dutiful wife.

My kit included…

Light Reading

Jenna‘s Summer Reading book that I am thoroughly enjoying and need to finish before the discussion.  Feels like the pressure from High School English when I spent all summer reading what I wanted and then had to rush through the required stuff.

Heavy Reading

I’m enthralled with this book and after my awesome PT session yesterday with Boot Camp Steve I really wanted to read more about making my entire body strong.

Penny for your thoughts.

And my blog journal for when the ideas struck.  I keep this with me all the time because thoughts jump in and out of my brain very quickly.

I parked myself near the exit of the rides and read a little, wrote a little, and did a lot of people watching.  I saw these cool kids on their High School field trip and had to giggle and take a picture.

Yes that is a giant Jamaican banana 🙂

I thoroughly enjoyed myself.  And we saw these guys all day trying to take that banana on rides 🙂  Hunni enjoyed himself too.

Post ride bliss.

He even got to ride on the go karts since the bumper cars were not the stuff of the old days…there was no bumping allowed…what?!

Round and round he goes.

I amused myself by taking pictures of myself and playing with perspective on my camera.

The funniest part of this whole thing is Hunni wasn’t going on roller coasters…he’s terrified of them.  He held on for dear life when I convinced him to go on the simple stuff like the tilting merry-go-round.  He doesn’t like his feet to leave the ground and actually made me sit on the outside so he wouldn’t in his words “Go flying off the ride.”  As if I’d fly out first.  I heard him utter several prayers of “Dear God I don’t want to die.”  He even refused to go on the swings because the chain could snap.  He had an excuse for why most of these rides would fail the second he stepped on them, making me laughing hysterically.

Then I threw caution to the wind and ignored the blasted sign.  If I couldn’t go on a big roller coaster, I was going to go flying through the air…even if it cost me $40.  Yep, I did the free-falling Sky Coaster.  Since Hunni despises heights I was on my own and loved every second.

That is pure bliss.

After the harness they hoisted me 175 feet in the air.  When I was “ready” I had to pull my rip cord for the 50 ft free fall.  The free fall bit didn’t hit me until I was about 15 seconds in and screamed like a banshee.  I scared the crap out of some dude watching me who had this cool tattoo of a spine…uh down his spine. 🙂  Hunni dutifully played paparazzi for the entire experience.

I was too excited to be scared.  The college kids behind me in line offered to let me ride with them if I was scared.  I politely declined and said I didn’t want to shatter their eardrums.  Actually I wanted it all for myself.  I wanted to feel like Superman!

Flying back and forth like a bird was worth every penny and made my day.  Waiting my turn I someone yell to her friend “You owe me $10.” because she had gone through with it.  Hunni said I couldn’t pay him a million dollars to do it…ever.  Anyone know a way to raise $1,000,000 to see if he’ll actually turn it down?

The guy running it said it’s impossible to puke while flying so why not give it a try.  Even the Jamaican banana guys wanted to take the banana until they were going to charge them for a separate person. Oh to be a high school boy with such big dreams.

For the record, it didn’t hurt…AT ALL…except my throat from the screaming.  Just please don’t tell Boot Camp Steve or my surgeon or Momma I did it.  Ooops Momma reads the blog…Hi Mom! Besides I was a good girl all day with my sunscreen, no roller coasters and packing a vegetarian lunch so I wouldn’t get sick from the amusement park food. You know fried dough, greasy pizza, dipping dots and gallons of soda…my stomach is turning just thinking about it. Instead we had this goodness.

It was a nice compromise if I do say so myself.  I had such a good day with Hunni that we bought return passes to try the water park and maybe I’ll raise my $1,000,000 by then to get him up in the Sky Coaster…what do you think?

What do you like about amusement parks?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. 29/05/2010 7:08 AM

    I actually….am a party pooper when it comes to amusement parks. Nothing in the park amuses me…they terrify me to death! I can’t ride a single roller-coaster or fast-moving object without puking my guts out!

    I’m glad you got to enjoy that sky coaster though! I would totally DIE if I rode on one of those.

    • 29/05/2010 10:36 AM

      Hunni doesn’t puke but he gets a lot of praying done 🙂 I love them.

  2. 29/05/2010 7:57 AM

    You’re a rockstar! 🙂

  3. Fat Girl Eats permalink
    29/05/2010 8:20 AM

    Oh, wow! I can’t believe you did that! They say it’s impossible to throw up, but I bet you can still urinate on yourself. That would be me, I’m sure.

    I totally fail at amusement parks.

    • 29/05/2010 10:35 AM

      It was a blast. I’m sure one of the teachers ahead of me thought she was going to pee herself. But she survived and loved it.

      Hunni said I can do it again when we go back 🙂

  4. 29/05/2010 10:00 AM

    OMG, that flying thing looks so scary, but so much fun! It must have been quite the rush. 🙂

    My favorite part of amusement parks is the food, LOL. 🙂

    Jenn

    • 29/05/2010 10:33 AM

      It wasn’t scary until I realized I actually had to pull the rip cord to let myself go. Then holy heck I screamed.

      I used to love the food too but it does not love me. I would have definitely been sick on the thing if I ate it.

  5. 29/05/2010 10:51 AM

    Wow! Kudos to you for doing the free fall. That must have been an awesome experience 😀 i would have been soooooooooo scared lol

  6. actorsdiet permalink
    29/05/2010 3:24 PM

    i LOVE amusement parks. but i admit i’m not as adventurous as i used to be.

    • 29/05/2010 3:40 PM

      I think I’m so timid in my normal life that I seek thrills at the amusement park.

  7. Meg Sheehan permalink
    06/06/2010 8:50 AM

    I’m glad you had a blast Cynthia despite not being able to ride the roller coasters. I haven’t been to a park in years since DH is scared of even the mildest of rides. :-(.

    What do you think of the weight lifting book? I have it and I haven’t read it yet.

    • 06/06/2010 10:09 PM

      I’m glad I had fun. I missed out on my normal but will totally pay to do that again when we go back.

Trackbacks

  1. Sit Still + Goals « It All Changes
  2. I’m Not a Machine « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

