Skip to content

Waking the Dead

25/05/2010

I’ve posted lots of pictures of Hunni sleeping on this blog ala…

Hunni on long car rides...he gets car-sick.

and…

After a long day's work.

and this one too…

Snoozing with his best buddy.

and we can’t forget these two…







And for the most part Hunni is a good sport.  🙂  No his favorite past time is napping and denying that he is doing so.  He always says he is just resting his eyes or checking the back of them for holes.  But he thinks I’m dumb for taking so many pictures of him sleeping.  I just find them silly and good memories.



But you will notice there are very few pictures of me sleeping on this blog.  Even when I’m sick and sleeping a bunch or sleep the day away (uh yesterday as I had to catch up from all the sleep I lost watching LOST 😀 ).  Hunni doesn’t ever think fast enough to find the camera or find it as funny as me.  So there aren’t many pictures of me sleeping.  But trust me I sleep…A LOT!



I don’t necessarily enjoy napping unless I had a long day (ie LOST Sunday) but I do like to sleep at night.  I tend to go to be a bit earlier than Hunni, lately so I can read and then fall asleep with a book in my hands.  But one luxury of our job…if you can call it a luxury… is that only one of us needs to be in the office when it opens at 9.  For so long this was me because Hunni was out running errands and things.  But when the depression hit he would let me sleep until I felt like I could get out of bed.  For me when I’m depressed I sleep…for him he can’t.  So that worked out perfectly.  The only problem is now that I’m not depressed anymore…HOOOOORRAY!… he is in the habit of letting me sleep and it annoys me.  Not his fault entirely but I want to be in the office so I can get work done and enjoy the beautiful weather of the evenings.



I felt like I was dead sleeping all the time and now I’m waking up… both literally and figuratively.  Although I complained about Hunni being gone for meetings both of these weekends it forced me to get up when the alarms went off.

Don't they look cute.

Sure they look all cute and sleepy there but when they want to go out and they know I’m the only one who can do it they are very vocal and annoying about wanting to go out and go out NOW!  So I learned to get up at 7 am or earlier.  And the problem good thing about waking up at 7am is that it’s hard to go back to sleep.  I will admit that I would take a 15 minute cat dog nap after the walk but then I would be up and ready to start my day.



And do you know you get so much more done when you get up at that time of day.  Really!  I actually made it to my Weight Watchers meeting on Saturday and got things finished for the baby shower before I went.  On Sunday everything was ready for church much earlier than normal that I had time to watch VH1 music videos before I went to pick everyone up (I’m a heathen I know 🙂 ).  And this morning I had time to make an omelette the way HEAB showed and not just scrambled eggs with cheese, stir fry my mushrooms, clean my refrigerator out and brew an entire pot of coffee before I got to the office a half an hour EARLY.  I’m shocked and amazed at myself.



Now don’t go all crazy (I’m talking to you Cynthia) and think that you will be awake enough to workout in the mornings.  Oh no you will fall off the tread mill and end up with a scar much like the last one you got.  And besides you sleep better when you workout at night/mid afternoon.  But the possibilities are endless if you get up at 7 or 7.30 instead of 8.45 or 9.  Wake up and be alive instead of sleeping half the morning day away.  It’s not as cool as it was in college.  And your apartment will thank you 🙂



What time do you get up in the morning?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenna permalink
    25/05/2010 12:36 PM

    7 AM IS sleeping in, isn’t it?

    My weekday wake up time is 4:30, and out of the house at 5:30. Weekends, if they’re nice, the dogs let us sleep in until 7, but it could be 6:15. They were SUPER nice on Sunday, we woke up at 8.

    • 25/05/2010 3:26 PM

      Not for me. It was when I was teaching but now I only get up that early when I have early morning meetings. But then again I stay up working until mid-night some nights when things need to get done so it’s a fair trade.

  2. 25/05/2010 3:33 PM

    You will think I’m crazy but I get up between 4:30 and 5:00 in the morning. That’s when I try and blog, do my bible reading, and get ready for the day. But the downside is I’m in bed by 9:00!

    • 25/05/2010 3:42 PM

      Some people are morning people. I’m not one of them though…oh and you have a lot of kids to homeschool too. I’m not in bed until around 11 or midnight most nights.

  3. ann rennie permalink
    27/05/2010 6:09 AM

    morning it all depends but somewhere around 5 most mornings and if I sleep untill 7 I have slept in.

    • 27/05/2010 8:57 AM

      Momma gets up around that time and thinks 7 is sleeping in too. Hunni gets up at 6. I’m not a morning person.

Leave a Reply

