Skip to content

Water Water Everywhere + Goals

24/05/2010

In addition to the weight I gain in the last few months I also slacked on my water intake.  I just got kind of lazy about it…or maybe I just forgot.  I had been sucking down tons of tea all Christmas long and then got bored of it.  Mind you I still have a shelf full of tea plus about 4 boxes on my desk but I didn’t want to drink it.  I go through phases where I down the stuff like water and then shun it for months.  But the problem is I didn’t pick up my water intake when I dropped my tea intake.  Big mistake.  No water equals bad Cynthia….bad tummy Cynthia…bad headache Cynthia…bad energy Cynthia.



I was looking a lot like this when I was dehydrated.







Don’t they look so cute and pitiful at the same time 🙂
And the really bad thing is I didn’t make the connection until about a month ago.  I just felt parched/dry/vapid.  So I paid attention to my water intake and I was drinking less than 1/3 of what I was told to drink.  Big Ooops!  Now my water bottles are always full….Yes I said bottles.

Ready to imbibe.

I have two Sigg Bottles I bought back when the whole BPA scare thing happened and I had to get rid of my beloved college Nalgene.  The Nalgene I had used through all 4 years at college trying to be cool like the Outdoor Rec students but failng miserably.  The Nalege my friends and I chucked across a parking lot to get the prerequisite scratches to show that we had skills and actually used them for what they were designed for even if we never took them into the woods or repelling down a cliff.The Nalege I let two students throw out the window of my classroom as a science experiment even though I was a Spanish teacher (they didn’t believe me it wouldn’t break so I bribed them to study for a test 🙂 ).  My beloved college Nalgene that probably poisoned me in some way I’ll never know that I had to throw in the trash as I wept bitterly.



But I love my Siggs.  I had fun picking the patterns and thuroughly enjoy the the tops so that I can hook them on the carbiner that I also bought in an attempt to be cool in college.  And they keep the water nice and cold with their cool metal exterior.  So inaddition to keeping them both full on my desk both for before and after lunch I also take them everywhere else.

In my bag when I'm out.

Out to eat.

And everywhere in between.  The water bottles never leave my side and I’m constantly refilling them.  And I’m loving how I feel.  Of course it took a few days to get used to it again since I was peeing every 5 minutes it seemed but now I’m back to drinking at least 10 of these a day.  Hunni does a great job of refilling the Britta pitcher since our water is pretty nasty.  And I’m enjoying feeling pretty decent most of the time.



How much water do you drink a day?



Now onto Last Week’s Goals:



  • Precook some meals. Meals cooked…most of my Tupperware used up and a full freezer.  I may need to rethink how I store some of this stuff.  Perhaps ziplock.  But I used one this weekend when I was super busy and it was super yummy.  Oh and I have a huge pot of quinoa that I’ve used for breakfast this week (it was soooo good) and for some dinners too.  Next up steel cut oats and some dried beans 🙂
  • Plan some fun side trips for us. We have a bunch of fun little trip planned now starting with Six Flags this coming Friday.  And we scored a great book on fun stuff to do in NY State at LLBean for $5.95.  I had a $10 gift certificate so I had to buy Hunni a huge sugar cookie to use the rest up 🙂
  • Read! I finished American Wife in 1 week and it made me interested in reading the Laura Bush autobiography now (it is loosely based on her life) and I’ll finish up The Poisonwood Bible on CD tomorrow on my trip to my meeting.  I started My Antonia and I’m enthralled.  Let’s just say I spend a good bit of each day reading when I get a chance.  This will definitely compete with my reignited quilting fetish too 🙂
  • Not pull my hair out. I survived and I loved it.  But now I’m ready for some sleep.  If only I didn’t have an all day meeting tomorrow that requires a 1.5 hour drive.  No rest for the weary I guess.
  • Redecorate. I bought a table cloth and planned a few other things.  But I need some spare time to get it done.  And by now you should know how much of that I have 🙂



This week’s Goals:



  • Pre-make some coffee. My coffee habit has gotten bad!  I have coffee at home but I have been buying it at Starbucks and the awesome little coffee shop in town for a while now.  This “prescription” is expensive. So I now have coffee pitcher for the fridge and coffee brew tomorrow after I buy my last coffee on the way to my meeting.  And the coffee I have is from the fancy coffee shop so it could be good. 🙂
  • Get some new recipes. Hunni put me on a cook book buying fast.  After buying 4 in 2 weeks he put a kibosh on me even looking in that section because I always convinced him to let me get one with a bribe that he could get some Star Wars something or other.  Fine I won’t buy any more but I did reserve a bunch at the library and have to pick them up and browse though before I decide which I “need”.
  • Enjoy our first day off! Our first day off we are going to Six Flags!  Hunni wants to go so bad and I’m indulging him.  I can’t go on the roller coasters that I love due to the back surgery but I’ll find some way to enjoy myself 😀
  • Spend some time with friends. I’m trying to relax a bit after a crazy month so I’m meeting two friends for dinner this week.  Sitting back and enjoying a meal without a care for the night will be super fun.  I can’t wait especially since it is the first time I’m actually hanging out with one 🙂
  • Plan menus. I’m back to menu planning and I’m looking forward to using up some of the fun stuff in my fridge so I don’t have to toss any of it.  I want to eat it all…just not all at the same time 🙂
  • Enjoy my hobbies. Okay I reignited my passion for reading and quilting to I want to enjoy some of both this week. The quilting needs to get done since I have so many to do that are already overdue and I have books to read that I don’t want to be overdue…the latter requires fines the former just requires patient friends 🙂



And the week is already starting with me both happy and sad with the ending of LOST.  I will miss this show so much but I am so thankful to Brandi for getting me addicted to it this past fall 🙂  BTW go vote for her on the Stoneyfield Barnstorming tour 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    24/05/2010 11:05 AM

    I’ve been slacking on the water lately, too! And my jeans are still tight after that Spain trip. I’m back on it – more activity, more water, more veggies, less junk!

    So glad you guys love LOST 🙂

    And thanks for the votes!

  2. 24/05/2010 5:20 PM

    I drink a lot of water, but I only drink with a meal or when I’m thirsty. I have a tendency to retain water that doesn’t get better with more of it, so I try to moderate it. It doesn’t really help you lose weight, but it can keep you from overeating and it dilutes the sodium in your body which makes you lose water weight if you reduce your sodium intake simultaneously. 🙂

    Jenn

  3. 24/05/2010 9:59 PM

    I do okay with my water intake in the summer when it’s hot but have a hard time in the cold winter months. I am glad that you are back on track with your water.

  4. 25/05/2010 4:58 PM

    I think you need to start sharing some of these whacko (quinoa) recipes with your throngs of followers… Keep up the good work!

    • 25/05/2010 9:25 PM

      I just need to remember to take pictures of them. I’ll try to take pictures of my breakfast tomorrow.

  5. 25/05/2010 5:38 PM

    I never drink water unless it’s Black Cherry Propel (which seems to have disappeared from the marketplace) 😦 I know, I know I should drink plain water but I just can’t…it’s so gross! I second the sharing of the quinoa recipes and to Brandi: I am going to vote for you on the blogger tour! 🙂

    • 25/05/2010 9:18 PM

      You should try mixing it until you can get closer to regular water. I used to have to put a ton of lemon in mine.

Leave a Reply

