Skip to content

Convenience vs. Cost

21/05/2010

I admit I’m a cheap skate when it comes to things.  Remember my Bargain Hunting experience?  I just don’t see the need to pay for certain things if I can make them or to pay a high price for other things.

But there are some things I am willing to pay for convenience since I don’t have a lot of time.  I know the cost a bit more but if they get dinner on the table a bit faster (or at all).

  • Presliced veggies. I buy whole onions and chop them up a lot at once

    Chopped and ready for the freezer.

    but I buy presliced peppers for casseroles and basic cooking.

    Gotta love TJ's.

    It saves me time from having to seed and slice them.  And at TJ’s you can buy a roasted mix which really enhances the flavor without me standing over and open flame with a pepper on a stick…that could get dangerous.  And don’t get me started on mushrooms which are wily little suckers and like to roll away when you cut the some I buy them presliced.  Besides I don’t have the patience to slice them as thin as they come.  They save me a heck of a lot of time even though I know that I pay a pretty penny for them.

  • Trader Joe’s & Whole Foods & Supermarkets. As much as I love to shop at the farmers market and the freshest local food at a great price my farmers market only runs from the middle of April until about October and it is seasonal (duh!).  And it only happens on Saturday which isn’t always convenient to me with my work schedule.  I enjoy the farmers market for the relationships and the strawberries that taste like candy.  And I admit I like to eat seasonal most time but sometimes a pineapple in December just sounds good or I’ll need strawberries for a dessert.  So I go to Whole Foods and pay a pretty penny to indulge my food fancy.  Or if I just can’t get to the market I like the convenience of the grocery since they are open at my convenience.  Sure the organic produce here is usually more expensive (way more expensive) than at my local farmer’s market but I would rather have it at all than instead of trying to wait until the next farmer’s market…which could be for a couple of months.
  • Prepackaged foods. I don’t like to eat prepackaged stuff most of the time because I like to slave over the hot stove cook.  I really don’t like to reheat and eat so I try to precook some extra meals.  But this is a tricky topic because Hunni usually finds out and eats the leftovers.  So I keep at least one bagged meal in the freezer so that I can just throw it in the pan in a hurry.
  • Target! I would love to shop locally and in other communities I have.  And here I try to when at all possible.  But there isn’t much here.  And I despise Wal-Mart so I shop at Target it.  It’s all about convenience.  Sure I could drive to Albany, Troy or another place to find a small local store but that would be more gas than it was to just drive to Target.  And since I love Target I enjoy the convenience of it.

I realize I’m paying more sometimes but I think the cost is okay for the convenience of having the things I want or need.

What are you willing to pay for to have the convenience?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    21/05/2010 6:36 PM

    I’m willing to pay more for health not for convenience really (I make my own baby carrots by cutting up whole ones if the pre-cut carrots are not on sale anywhere)

    • Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
      21/05/2010 6:37 PM

      I do wish I knew how to make my own hummus… I guess premade is a convenience?

      • 21/05/2010 11:28 PM

        That is definitely a convenience. It is on my list of things to make at home but right now I buy it.

    • 21/05/2010 11:29 PM

      Sometimes the convenience factor really helps keep me healthy.

Leave a Reply

