Skip to content

I Have a (new) Problem

20/05/2010

I’m full of problems and most of them are pretty harmless.  But this one I’m hoping doesn’t get out of control.  A long time ago (10 months 😀 ) when I started reading blogs I saw lots of people eating dates.  I personally thought they looked like cockroaches and I’m not a fan of bugs.  I eat some pretty weird stuff but even I have my limits…even if I do eat chocolate covered grasshoppers.  What?!  They are covered in chocolate. 🙂



Anyway lately I saw Kath start posting more frequently about cockroaches dates and I thought I was intrigued and a little freaked out.  But her description of the sweetness made me really interested in trying them because of my sugar problems.  So I purchased three from Whole Foods about 2 months ago to try.  They were sticky and weird and I gingerly bit into the first one…And then I quickly inhaled the other 2.  Soon I was buying a bag of them any time I went up to Whole Foods and even bought some with pits that actually made me work to get their goodness.



Then Sunday I was in BJ’s picking up some of the staples and saw this…

The mother load!

No more $4.99 per pound for organic pitted dates.  This entire bag was only $6.99!  I snapped it up quickly and made myself a promise that I would eat it slowly.  I resisted opening the bag until yesterday morning and now look at what is left…

Eeek!

In my defense the wasn’t completely full…kind of like how the cereal boxes and pretzel bags are never full.  But it wasn’t that empty either :-/



My other problem is Almond Butter.  Where would I be without the blog world introducing me to this new habit.  I was never a into Peanut Butter as much as I’m into Almond butter.  It just wasn’t worth it to me and I only ate it in a hurry or in things like cookies 🙂  But with my new almond butter habit I’m in trouble.  This stuff is $4.99 a jar and they are often out of my favorite (raw crunchy) when I make it up to Trader Joes.  When I made a stop in on Friday while I was in the area and ended up having to buy this because they were out of my favorite.

It was creamy 😦

I don’t like the creamy because they are usually pretty runny even after sitting in the fridge.  But that didn’t stop me from eating it 🙂  A LOT!

Where did it go?

May I remind you I bought this on Friday…ooops.  I may have an Almond Butter habit.  Kind of like Lulu and Murphy‘s PB habits.  I’m addicted.  It can’t be that bad right.  Almonds are good for me and full of protein….that’s my excuse and I’m sticking too it.  But I do need to cut back a bit for my pocket and for my health.  Keep the spoon away from the jar Cynthia.  But that doesn’t stop me from putting a fork in it right?

Yeah baby!

Yep that is dates impaled on my fork for better dipping into the almond butter goodness.  Best combo ever.  I really don’t think the rest of that almond butter is going to last.  I mean there isn’t much left and this is the best dessert because it is just sweet enough.  So I guess I could have worse problems.  But I just need to reign this in a bit so I’m not inhaling them like air.



So there is my new food habit confession.  What new foods are you enjoying?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 20/05/2010 2:21 PM

    I’ve never had either of those. And now I’m afraid to try them for fear I may become addicted. :p

    My latest addiction is pineapple. I can eat a whole one in less than 24hrs. So darn delicious!

    I’m also in love with Swiss Laughing Cow cheese spread on Canadian bacon. Yummm!

    • 21/05/2010 9:46 AM

      Pineapple is so hard. Hunni and I cut it up and eat the whole thing from the bowl together. Or I can do it by myself 🙂

  2. 20/05/2010 2:31 PM

    Just step away from the butter and the dates! LOL!

    I have certain foods that are good for me that I tend to eat too much of – like whole grain bread and other foods I just can’t have around, like Oreo cookies. (In fact that’s what my post tomorrow is on!)

    So I just don’t buy them, or buy them in small quantities and pass them around.

    I am really enjoying broccoli right now – weird I know!

    • 21/05/2010 9:45 AM

      I have put a limit on how much I can have but it is hard to resist so I chugg water 🙂

      Broccoli is not weird at all. Once I realized I liked it it is usually the veggie we have with dinner 🙂

  3. 20/05/2010 9:05 PM

    Holy crap! they DO look like cockakamaroaches!! ((stomach spinning))

    • 21/05/2010 9:44 AM

      Yep! It took me a bit to get over that. Now I close my eyes and bite into their squishy goodness 🙂

  4. 21/05/2010 2:07 AM

    Oh man, I had almost the exact same experience with dates! I hated the look of them at first, but ended up buying a small bag and got totally addicted to dates + nut butters. I haven’t bought them in a while now, because it got ridiculous. Now I’m craving them again, though! 😉

    New food I’m enjoying is Trader Joe’s almond butter with toasted flax seeds…SO DELICIOUS!

    • 21/05/2010 9:43 AM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one. I’m intrigued by that nut butter but I don’t normally like toasted nut butters. I may have to try it this weekend since Hunni will finish it if I don’t like it 🙂

  5. 22/05/2010 7:33 AM

    Air-popped popcorn! LOL I can down a GINORMOUS bowl during a 30 minute show! 🙂

    • 22/05/2010 11:01 AM

      I need to get an air popper. My mom had one when I was a kid and I loved it.

  6. ann rennie permalink
    24/05/2010 6:39 AM

    wow I am impressed with this site I don’t know how to do such a thing. I know there are foods I can’t have in my house because I will eat them all gone in a flash. Moderation is the key and some things are impossable for me to eat in moderation.

Trackbacks

  1. Adventures in Healthy Baking | It All Changes
  2. The Sweet Life « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

