Skip to content

Gebrochen

18/05/2010

That title probably seems nonsensical to most people.  But it happens to be one of Momma’s favorite words…in German.  We won’t mention the other 🙂  We lived in germany for several years and learned lots of little phrases.  This one simply means broken although as a kid I always thought she was saying “get broken.”



But Mary‘s post today had me thinking about changing things up when they don’t work.  Lots of things have been gebrochen in my Healthy living for a bit.  I’ve been eating emotions more although I’m recognizing it and stopping to more often lately.  I’m not able to work out as hard as I want to and am used to and I’m finding it hard to find a comparable workout.  And all the typical healthy foods I had gotten used to (low-fat stuff, grilled chicken, etc) are not working for my digestive issues any more.  So I’m officially gebrochen.



In the past this would have been a way for me to give up and just settle into my slowly quickly expanding waistband and just buy new clothes to fit it.  But I’m not willing to do that.  I’m not willing to give up because a few things have gotten thrown in my path that make my standard quo not work so much any more.  I’m really committed to do this and to be healthy in general.  Gaining weight hasn’t been healthy for my IBS or Bipolar disorder.  So I’m just changing things up a bit.



I started by going vegetarian because the meat wasn’t working for my system.  I’ve gotten back to the gym even if it is just walking hills and using the recumbent bike as well as hiking some local trails.  And I’m talking to my friends, family and counselor more than just shoving down emotions with food…That wasn’t helping much anyway.



It’s kind of like Hunni’s bike.  He has a flat tire or two.  And neither of us knows how to really change a bike tire.  But we are willing to work on figuring out how to fix it because it is too important to us to have bikes.  We like riding them.  We wouldn’t want to give up on them just because of the flat.  It just means we had to figure out what tube to buy and how to do it.



I’m not letting a gaining spell or a plateau get me down.  It allows me to look at things again and see what is working so that I can get back to being me and not being gebrochen.



What do you do when you feel “GEBROCHEN”?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 18/05/2010 8:29 AM

    I know exactly where you’re at 🙂 I’ve gained a few pounds since that Spain trip and it’s been hanging around! I’ve been too lax on having desserts lately, and that coupled with not being very active, is catching up to me. But it’s important to me to be active and to feel good and healthy, so I’m working on it.

    I just have to take it one day at a time.

    • 18/05/2010 9:58 AM

      Me too Brandi. I’m being better about measuring my danger foods and more conscious about choices. We can do it!

  2. 18/05/2010 5:23 PM

    Sometimes you can get off track and that’s when you need to change things up and try something new. Good luck!

  3. 18/05/2010 9:08 PM

    You wouldn’t be normal if you didn’t need to reevaluate what’s working for you and what’s not. I have all the confidence in the world that you will achieve all your goals!

Leave a Reply

