Skip to content

Disappointment

15/05/2010

This week I was expecting some really good news that didn’t come.  I’ll survive but I must say I was a bit disappointed.  And to soothe my disappointment the first thing Hunni did was go buy us both a pint of ice cream.  Yes I said a pint.  I have a problem with ice cream and ate the entire pint so Hunni bought his own.  I was good and bought a pint of coconut milk ice cream but the combo of sugar and dairy would have made me mad at myself for hurting my stomach in addition to being disappointed.  It wasn’t my finest moment on this healthy journey but by the time I got the news it was 10Pm and the gym was closed so I couldn’t go “run” it off.



But I will say I’m handling the disappointment much better today.  I actually went to Whole Foods and didn’t walk out with another pint…I told you I have a problem.  I did pick up a vegan oat muffin hoping that it would be a healthy choice and be happy for my tummy because it was made with evaporated cane juice…uh that was a big fat NO! as I sit here with massive stomach pains.  Grrr it’s back to my own baking.  But I was not disappointed with my decision to try it out and avoid the ice cream aisle and eating my feelings again.



In life there can be lots of disappointments big and small.  And in Healthy Living it’s the same.  You expect the scale to go down and you get disappointed when it stays the same or goes up.  You set out for 5 miles and you only make it to 3.  You have a goal time in your head for a race and you fall short.  You had a plan for dinner out…having already looked at the menu online…then you get swayed by your friend/spouse to order something layered in cheese and cream with a huge dessert on the side.  And the list can go on and on.



Now I’m not going to pretend that you won’t be disappointed when these things happen…we all get disappointed.  And I’m not going to give you the perfect speech of turning that disappointment into immediate motivation to get to the gym or get right back to your “perfect” eating habits.  I’m okay with a bit of wallowing in the self-pity of disappointment…maybe wading in it not wallowing (see my pint of Coconut Ice cream).  But you need to pull it together at some point…and that point should be earlier than later to avoid more disappointment.



Give yourself the permission to be disappointed and then get back at it.  It’s when the disappointment keeps growing and you let it eat at you and you keep eating until you don’t get back at it.  And you’re lost.  That’s the moment that you have lost control of your emotions and they are now controlling you.



I will get over my disappointment of my news and really I almost am.  But I didn’t let it control me and I’ll be long walk on the trail near the farmer’s market before I hit up the lovely veggies (and hopefully sign up for a CSA 🙂 )



How do you handle disappointment?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 15/05/2010 9:24 AM

    For me it varies; sometimes I get some exercise, sometimes I call a friend, and sometimes I eat sugary foods. I can easily eat a pint of ice cream when I’m upset, but I try not to do that anymore because I always feel ill afterwards. The best is to go for a walk or run to burn off steam.

    • 15/05/2010 11:22 AM

      I try to do that when possible but sometimes ice cream is necessary 🙂

  2. 15/05/2010 9:44 AM

    ((Cynthia))

    I personally think you’ve done such a great job where you are that they realized your town NEEDED you for another year.

    And, I’m selfish too, because I’m a little glad you’ll still be near me 🙂 But I’m sorry too that you didn’t get the news you wanted.

    We’re definitely doing canning lessons this summer!

    • 15/05/2010 11:22 AM

      That is definitely a blessing of staying. I’m looking forward to spending more time with you and the other ladies that surround us.

      Thanks for the vote of confidence.

  3. 15/05/2010 11:15 AM

    I’m not very good with disappointment in the short-term. I tend to whine and be really dramatic and fret for a while, and then I just move on. The good thing about being stressed out about stuff is that I usually have 5 back-up plans in case things fall through. And sometimes there is ice cream involved also 🙂

    For healthy living disappointments.. there is usually more whining, but I just try to remind myself that the options are making healthy choices and maybe seeing positive results, or making unhealthy choices and definitely seeing negative results. So, even if things don’t go like I want them to, I know if I want to be healthy then there is no other option.

    • 15/05/2010 11:21 AM

      There is always ice cream involved 🙂

      I usually do have back up plans but I was so sure on this so now I’m regrouping.

  4. 15/05/2010 2:11 PM

    I’m sorry you were disappointed this week. I know how you feel. I have the same problem with Oreos that you do with ice cream. Just really shouldn’t have them around very often – especially when I’m feeling emotional.

    Stay strong!

    • 15/05/2010 2:47 PM

      Thanks Diane! That’s exactly why I don’t keep the ice cream in the house. It is only purchased in case of emergencies.

  5. 15/05/2010 9:46 PM

    this is EXACTLY how I am feeling this morning. In fact I woke up in tears, literally in tears. who does that? I opened up my google reader and thought..I need something that speaks to me. this did.

    I am mulling over and beginning to understand that beauty of choice. Ok, I am disappointed..now how do I handle that? do I sit around all day being pissed off and thinking that I need to process it with everyone? do I get on my knees and pray? do I shove food in my face?

    it’s a choice about how I respond. the beauty is that we get to respond. Thank you for writing this, cause damn it..I am disappointed.

    • 15/05/2010 10:10 PM

      Prayer is huge for me. I have to pray through the disappointments as well as the good times. It is soothing even if I don’t immediately understand the answers.

Leave a Reply

